We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Panama canal is impressive”
Review of Panama Canal

Panama Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.99*
and up
Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #1 of 172 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1914 and considered one of the wonders of the world, this fifty-mile waterway transports ships by raising them from sea level to more than 85 feet via a series of gravity-powered locks.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Panama canal is impressive”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

You cannot go to panama and miss the canal. Many options to get a vieuw on this masterpiece of engineering. The visitor centre is great and worth the money, but if you just want to see the canal this is also possible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,241
    3,585
    854
    110
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A must in Panama City”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I took weekend tour on the Panama Canal from Amador Calzado to Gamboa. This is by far the best way to see the Panama Canal.
It costs 135 US Dollar but it´s worth the money spent

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Panama Canal is such an important place for the world. For sure make a stop here. I went to the Miraflores locks. There was a little museum (with a 3D movie about the history of the canal) that was super interesting. There were lots of things to see and read as well as some simulator things where you could pretend you were driving a ship into the canal. It was really neat. At the top floor there is an observation deck to watch all the ships coming in. It takes a good 45 minutes for a ship to get through, but it's still neat to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charissa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour Guide in Panama City”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I recently toured Panama City and the Canal zone with my brother who was visiting Panama as a possible city for retirement. The Canal and zone were well worth a visit and we enjoyed it very much. We also visited the Gamboa resort for the Monkey Island tour and that was a huge success. We hired an independent tour guide, Antonio (Tony) Rocha (arocha68@gmail.com) based upon reviews we read in Trip Advisor and he was WONDERFUL. He was extremely knowledgeable about the city, the Canal and history of the country. He was very flexible and always prompt. I had contacted several different guides and companies and he was the only one who responded immediately. He made the trip so much more enjoyable. If we had not had Tony we would have left Panama after the second day. He took us outside of the city to all the different areas with 1 1/2 to 2 hours of Panama City and gave us good advice on what to see and do. He even made some of our dinner reservations and went with us to the store and pharmacy so we would not have any language problems.
In all we enjoyed the country much more than we would have without him, Having been there I could not recommend the city for vacation purposes and found that the better area to be was well outside of Panama City such as Davide and some of the other communities closer to Costa Rica (approx 4-6 hours away). There is essentially no beach access that would appeal to Americans and lots of visible poverty. It is a growing city, but not a vacation spot. My rating is based on Tony and the Canal and Canal Zone specifically.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JANE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is something you need to experience if you are in Panama. It is pretty cool to see how it all works and learn the story behind it. This is something that everyone has heard about but few have seen in person.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Canal also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing