We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place, Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I chose this hotel because of its rating on Tripadvisor and the positive reviews were right on target. The hotel is 12 years old but seems much newer. It was spotless and modern. Everyone we met there from the front desk, the bartenders, the concierge, all were great. The location is right in the heart of the city and is walking distance to many restaurants and clubs etc. Its not the most comfortable area to walk around when you are used to the US, but its safe, we didn't have any trouble. The hotel cabs do cost more than the ones you can get right down the block, but I would recommend the extra money if you are going further than a 5 minute ride. Their cars are much nicer and you can request an English speaking driver who give you a tour as you go as well as answer all of your questions.
The pool and spa are also nice. The pool area is small and is right in the middle of a bunch of skyscrapers, but that's what you get if you want to stay in the city. If all you want to do is lay by the pool I would suggest a hotel out side of the city. But for a city hotel I thought that it was great. The gym had brand new treadmills, I think that they just got them the week we arrived.
We stayed on a floor that got us access to the executive lounge which I would also recommend. They had a great breakfast in the morning, snacks all day and apps and drinks in the evening. The service was also excellent.
I could go on and on, but to sum up, if you are going to visit Panama city and want to see the canal, the city, the nightlife and maybe take some day trips, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe300g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    389
    113
    25
    11
See reviews for
175
270
80
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We came from Playa Coronado and had one day and night left in Panama City. Choose to stay with Marriott, that was a good choice! Clean rooms, good English speaking and helpfull staff, quick check out, nice pool.
If you can afford it, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Everything about this hotel is designed to make one feel comfortable. The concierge was extremely helpful and the Club Floor's breakfast and cocktail hour was delicious. The cocktail hour for two of the three nights we stayed became our dinner as it was plentiful and difficult to resist. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice. The gym was not as nice as I would have expected (it is in the process of renovation) and IMO, the casino lacked in choices of machines and table games. Overall, a great hotel. Stay on the club floor which has so many amenities, including complimentary bottles of water and soft drinks 24 hours per day. We personally made the mistake of accepting a room which faced east and we were woken up too early every morning. Otherwise, we would have slept great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
266 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Panamá Marriott and the first thing we did was to upgrade the room/service to executive. Are more $40 USD but in general compensate in all the hotels chains. The room was good, the internet was included in the price and we hat acess to the executive lounge since the breakfast until the dinner. In fact we had the dinner at the executive lounge once we use to have a light meal and they had two hot dishes good and enough for us. All the other things were according is usul to axpect from an hotel at this cathegory. No claims and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Very simply, everything about this hotel is first class. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and accomodating & the food was outstanding. Unfortunately, the stay was too short but I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable six nights at the Panama City Marriott Hotel. The customer service was nothing short of outstanding. Everyone, from the doorman to the front desk staff to the security officers consistently greeted us with a hello or a good morning, good afternoon, etc. Most of the staff who are on the front line speak excellent English. Our room was spotless, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. I don't think I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed. The elevators were fast and the public restrooms in the lobby were immaculate. To save some money we hailed taxis off the street rather than use the hotel's taxi service which is rather more expensive (but more plush). We ordered one American breakfast via room service daily which easily provided sufficient food for two people. Room service was extremely prompt. However, on our last day it arrived slightly late and so they did not charge us for it. We received great service overall but particularly from the beautiful Lileth at the Front Desk who checked us in and generally made our stay a happy one and from Eric in Room Service who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Mr. Jose Hidalgo, an English-speaking local taxi operator/tourist guide took us sight-seeing to the local landmarks and we can highly recommended him. Email LupeHIdalgo@yahoo.com

Overall, a very good property where customer service is par excellence!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LughaidhN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2010

After spending some time in truly horrenous hotels in panama the Marriott was a godsend. The staff were super friendly, the rooms were very clean, and the bed was so comfortable I never wanted to get out. We almost decided to stay another day to take advantage of the spa and casino, but sadly we ended up having to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keagankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#9 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing