We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and soul-less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“overpriced and soul-less”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We don't go to the Marriott expecting a cultural experience, but we do expect, especially for the price ($300 for one night was billed to our credit card - about $75 more than we expected - we are working to resolve that) extraordinary comfort.
After a three-dy bus trip through Central America we wanted a little pampering. Instead we got a small white box with a tiny window. We had to pay extr for our internet connection and it wasn't even WiFi in the room. And the breakfast we paid extra for was terrible. Hard, cold little "crescent rolls" like you would expect to get at a Holiday Inn. The bathroom was outdated. I can ony say that the staff was nice, but I would expect that. Avoid this place.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ainahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    391
    114
    26
    13
See reviews for
176
271
81
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We had a wonderful experience in this chain hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the suites and the service and views were amazing! We especially loved the free Hors d'Oeuvres from 5-9, which were so filling that they became our dinner. The room was very big, and the bathroom beautiful.

For a large hotel the service was amazingly personable. Everyone knew us by name, from the concierge to the room service workers. You would have thought you were in a small boutique hotel, not a large Marriott.

The casino was very nice, like something you'd see in Vegas (only MUCH smaller!) Be aware that the Blackjack rules are Caribbean Blackjack rules (took us a while to figure out all the 10's were gone from the deck).

If you are interested in day tours, have the concierge book a tour of the canal and city with Jaime, who was amazing. Speaks great English and is so knowledgable of the country and Panama City. We were very impressed with him. The canal was a great tour, and we watched several big ships go through the lochs. Again, Jaime was able to answer all questions about the canal.

We loved both Panama City and this Marriott and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

stayed for a business trip, just a regular business hotel.
It was clean, staff where friendly, but nothing special to mention.
Panam hotels are expensive nowadays, and value for money was not accurate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozart1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This may not be the most modern of Marriotts in terms of rooms and decor, but it more than makes up for it in terms of the universal friendliness and helpfulness of staff at every level. Had a slightly inauspicious start when I checked in and was given the key to a room which already had someone in it (profuse apologies followed, and a day later a complimentary bottle of wine and cheese were delivered - nice touch). The room was slightly old-fashioned but very spacious and an extremely comfortable bed. Dining facilities including room service were all good, but not spectacular. Internet access through the hotel's computers was available through the business centre adjoining reception at a charge, other chains (eg the Sofitel) make this available for free and it's a shame the Marriott doesn't follow suit.

Other reviews refer to the concierge only having details of their own taxi service tours. This is true, but don't dismiss this out of hand as I had an extremely good tour of the old and new cities, and the Canal, with a driver who was bilingual and proved an extremely informative and interesting guide. I also booked through direct contact through their website a terrific small boat trip with Ancon Expeditions looking for wildlife in the rainforest on the rivers and lake of the canal. Well worth it.

The Marriott can also arrange - and charge to your bill - a return taxi to the airport.

All in all, a very comfortable and pleasant stay and I became very fond of the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spinnaker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Good business and tourist hotel. Nice room layout. Good location in town on a quiet street, we looked at the Intercontinental, but are glad we didn't stay there, the 6 lane highway outside the front door of the IC is a deathtrap.

Concierge desk is pretty bad at the Marriott Panama, they have problems communicating with one another, let alone with the guests. But this was the only complaint.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creecher-x01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

I stayed here for two nights on Marriott Rewards points. They gave me a nice corner room. It's been my experience that Marriott treats Rewards guests well, as opposed to some other chains that make you feel like a second class citizen.

Yes, this hotel has the Marriott corporate feel, but is an exceptionally well run property. The service was absolutely five star. Staff members were uniformly polite, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, if perhaps a bit low-tech (where's the flat screen tv?). The location is central, you can easily walk to Via Espana, the Veneto, etc. The restaurant has an outstanding buffet for breakfast and lunch; dinner is serviceable too, but nothing special.

The construction noise did start somewhere between 7 and 8 in the morning; it didn't bother me, I'm an early riser, but if you plan to sleep in that could be an issue.

I witnessed no inappropriate conduct in the lobby. It's certainly nothing like the Veneto, which can be quite the scene.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, especially if price is no object.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blonski76
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I went to Panama for a medical convention in this hotel, the room vas very good and comfortable, food is very good with a lot of typical food. People from the front desk was very nice. Nice place to stay and to go back

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 113 in Panama City
2,598 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
801 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing