We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times in Panama City....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun times in Panama City....”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Panama Marriott May 20-23, and again May 26-27. The location was great and we were able to walk or take a taxi wherever we wanted to go. There are lots of great restaurants and places to drink within walking distance. We even went to the Snack Bar across the street for drinks one night, which was an interesting experience to say the least.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They spoke both English and Spanish, and were more than willing to provide recommendations.

The room was comfortable and clean.

I honestly have nothing negative to say about this hotel, and will definitely visit again if my travels lead me to Panama City.

Room Tip: Higher floors so that you don't hear the music from the Snack Bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerUAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear frequentflyerUAL

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Panama Marriott Hotel.
Thank you for your excellent comments on our staff, we continuously train them to provide brilliant service.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    396
    116
    26
    13
See reviews for
178
274
81
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a one night stay via a layover on a vacation to Costa Rica. Panama Marriott made the start of our trip very memorable and worthwhile! Staff was extremely helpful and friendly upon any request. Lobby is spacious and filled with many flowers and an inviting atmosphere. Hotel is located in the downtown section of Panama, many local bars/restaurants and nightlife in the area. Check with the front desk staff for recommendations on restaurants and where to walk/avoid at night. Rooms were well appointed and very clean. Had a Panama Canal daytrip with Ancon Expeditions the next day and hotel staff made sure our pickup etc. was under control and we found the correct tour, even with the language barrier at times with the tour company. Exterior of hotel is very ornate and makes for great surrounding pictures of the downtown Panama scene. Would definitely travel back to this Marriott upon my return to Panama! Make sure to check out the Panama Canal (15+mins away) while on your stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor to see the amazing view of downtown Panama!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Matt V,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Panama Marriott Hotel.
We will pass along your kind words to our hotel staff.
Our guests do love our concierge staff with all their helpful tips for navigating the city.
Thanks again and we await your return to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I would probably have given the highest rating if the main restaurant had been open. We also had a power failure while we were there. Not sure if this was limited to the hotel or not.
The rooms were very nice.
The pool was private, but the whirlpool needs an overhaul. The jets just bubble straight up the sides and the pressure doesn't even make it all the way around to all of the jets (only about 1/2 get pressure).
The other restaurant opens this month, I think, after remodeling is complete. This will improve things with meals.
I also was unsure that I really had any control over my room temperature, but for the most part, it was fine.
I am a Marriott Platnum member, and I just didn't feel that it lived up to the Marriott standard.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eyefly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Eyefly12,

Thank you for your loyalty as a Marriott Platinum Member, we appreciate the time that you took to rate our hotel.

We hope you can come back and visit us after mid-July, when our main restaurant & lobby bar open up.
Our engineering staff is working on the whirlpool.

Please call me directly for your reservation needs in the future.

Have a nice weekend,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMG_0020.JPG
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

conference rooms/service/meals excellent! Jose Luis and staff (Iriel H and Samuel B. ) were very attentive to details and our requests as often as their were. Had previous activities here, never disappointed. Rooms well maintained and clean. Housekeeping also excellent. Was initially a little disappointed that dining facilities under construction and meals were served in Champs bar area but disappointment faded seeing how they made it work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vfoote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Vfoote2,

We really appreciate your super comments on our banquet staff and facilities.
I will be sure to share your kind words with Jose Luis, Kiel and Samuel.
Our restaurant and lobby bar will re-open in July, we hope that you can come back and visit us soon.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend, this was my 2nd visit and I was still impressed with the level of comfort that this hotel provided. This time I was more pleased, because several other people were in town with us and only one of the properties (Trump) came close. This hotel was very clean, well managed, with many amenities and the staff was friendly and attentive. First, the AC works, my room was ice cold and it was hot hot hot outside, like Panama hot. Second, staff is well trained and professional, they understand that this is a business hotel, (send faxes, make copies, taking proper messages), because Panamanian are all friendly, but can be laid back, this property was relaxed, but was professional on every level. When here you feel the latin flavor, but you still feel close to home, like your in Miami. Third location, the Marriott is located in the middle of the financial disctrict, but it is on a side street, so get good directions or take a cab, as it is not easy to find. Also, note that they do not rent cars on Sunday, so plan for that in advance. It is about a $30 cab fare from the airport and $5 to the closest mall, so cabs are still cheap, but use the hotel to call your cab. There are many great dining options within walking distance and even though the area appears safe with lots of police, keep a watchful eye. The hotel is attached to a small casino, but it is not run by the Marriott, so be aware. If you are elite member of Marriott, the conceirge lounge is very nice and the breakfast and cocktail hours were stocked well, (lots of bottled water), but the coffee machine was broken. A real plus, is that THERE IS A STARBUCKS IN THE LOBBY. The lounge offered breakfast on the weekend, which is uncommon for a Marriott in the US. The room was completley up to date and the linens and bath were clean and crisp. Room service was good and so was the restaurant and hotel bar. If you don't need a view of the ocean, this is a great hotel the staff's english was amazing, everyone. Even the lobby giftshop was reasonable and had better quality items than anywhere else. Obviously the front desk was great, but the valet and doormen were standout as well, on a NY or New Orleans level. In-fact, they were so good I actually thought I was at a Ritz Carlton a few times. When I am Panama again, this hotel was and is the perfect oasis from the bustling city, clean, new and friendly was just what I needed and unlike last time, where I thought they were a 4 (if located in the US), this hotel is a five anywhere! 5+!*

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Jerry the Traveler,
Thank you for choosing again the Panama Marriot Hotel.

Our staff is always willing to help and make your stay as pleasant possible. We will make sure to let them know the fantastic comments you made.

Our coffee machine at the Concierge Lounge is working now. It is too bad that you could not take advantage of it, but I am sure you loved the breakfast choices and evening appetizers.

Our Deli, Sabores serves popular coffees and teas. Unluckily, we do not have a Starbucks on site.

Thanks again for your positive comments and for giving us a 5 stars rating.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Let's face it, this is a Marriott and you know what you're going to get. The cleanliness, and quality of a Marriott, just as if you were in the U.S. This is more of a 'business' oriented hotel, as it's in the heart of the downtown and not near the beaches, or touristy stuff..

Rooms - Rather large and spacious. Very clean, and modern. Show some wear and tear, but didn't feel 'dirty' or run down in anyway. (Keep in mind this a tropical climate, so how do you really keep something tip top shape with the salt water, etc.)

Restaurant - Main restaurant where the buffet is served is under construction right now, expected to open in July. In the past, the buffet has always been good, and I'm expecting the same tomorrow morning.

Location - Again, this is in the heart of downtown and not really a 'touristy' area. "El Beirut" restaurant nearby is awesome, but don't be scared when you pull up to this hotel. My first time here, I was worried about where we were staying, but then realized it was fine once we walked through the doors!!

I don't ever take advantage of the pool, spa, etc. so cannot speak to them.

Overall if you're looking for a place that is clean, nice and hits the spot without worrying about quality, stay here!

(I've never had a problem with wireless ever, and they do have Ethernet cables in the room in the instance it goes out)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradM228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear BradM228,

We are very happy to receive this wonderful review from the Panama Marriott Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel and our services. We will share your comments with the hotel staff.

Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I just recently May 23rd stayed at the Marriott for 4 days. This was the first in series of three Panama hotels (the Waldorf and the JW(Rio Hato). Upon arrival we were greeted by the bellman and the a wonderful front desk staff. Here are a few things you should know about Panama in general. The best part of visiting is the people. Once you realize that everything else falls into place.

Hotel Room - The hotel rooms are modern just like any other Marriott in the states except the thermostat actually works in Panama and was comfortable the whole time. The beds were also comfortable. There is a bit of a musty smell in the hallway. I think it's due to the humidity in Panama.

Staff - Very friendly and helpful. Outside of the front desk most people don't speak English but they still smile and work with you and look past any broken Spanish you speak.

Executive Lounge - This is one of the reasons I did not count this as a five. The coffee/expresso machine did not work the entire time. There was coffee in a carafe however it was never hot. Breakfast was decent with a few Panamanian dishes which was nice. The lounge offers a limited amount of sodas but an unlimited supply of water. The food is not replenished as often as it should for breakfast.

Pool - The pool leaves more to be desired. The area is a little deserted and the pool has no breeze so in the Panama heat this is not the place to be. The water was like taking a bath and provides no relief from the Panama heat.

Casino - There is a casino attached to the hotel which is nice and small with a few table games and slots. My Dad actually won money which was good. It provided something to do.

Restaurants in the Area - You are better off going to Casco Viejo and trying the Fish Market (the food truck in the ruins next to ZAZA restaurant). Beirut is disgusting except for the salads. We ordered lamb and beef shwarma and they were grossly overcooked. I didn't eat at the Marriott but would even try their restaurants over Beirut.

The hotel was fine and for the $111 price tag it was a steal especially if you have Marriott gold. Do not let the hotel book you a cab. Their taxis are at least three times higher than the guy on the street. Cabs are plentiful and you can go anywhere in the city for 3 -5 dollars. Note the cabs will try to overcharge you. One thing you can do is ask the front desk how much a regular cab would cost so you know how much to pay for a cab.

Don't depend on renting a car at the Hertz in the hotel. There is rarely a person and you really have to go to the airport to rent a car. But car rental is enough for another day.

Overall I would stay at this Marriott again. I enjoyed is more than the Waldorf Astoria. There is more to do in the area. I will write a review for the Waldorf and the JW separately.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Ask for something near the second elevator if you have executive lounge acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear mholi,

We are very thankful with you for taking the time to write a detailed note from your experience at the hotel.

Your positive comments of our friendly and helpful staff will be shared during our department meetings.

We are working with our Executive Chef to provide more consistency during breakfast and a large variety of soft drinks available at the Executive Lounge.

Our goal is to address your concerns on the pool and the Hertz services, so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next stay.

Thank you for being a Marriott Gold Member and we look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,635 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing