We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, nice location”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Panama Marriott is centrally located and a convenient location for getting around parts of the city (within reason given Panama City's horrendous traffic). The vast majority of taxi drivers know the hotel, although we found most Panamanians, at least those that drive taxis, drop the 't' in Marriott, so it sounds more like Marrio. It threw us off a few times, until we finally caught on. The hotel is in a safe area that is near the heart of the commercial center and is safe to walk around at all hours.

The room itself was very large, clean and well appointed. The bathroom in our room didn't have a tub but a humongous shower stall that even had a sitting area. The lounge was very nice, spacious and even had a few booths with personal tvs. Breakfast served in the lounge was just ok, but the evening options were much better. The lounge was open till midnight. The gym is very large, spread out over two levels and included a sauna, steam room, outdoor pool and whirlpool. The pool closed at 11pm but access to the gym was 24 hours.

The hotel staff was efficient and generally knew what they were doing. If you don't want to take the hotel transport service (up to triple the price of a regular taxi), ask the bellman to hail a taxi for you off the street. For those driving, the hotel provides free valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fia000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    393
    114
    26
    13
See reviews for
177
271
81
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Marriott Panama is a good hotel in a very good central location in Panama City, in walking distance to everything. Becareful when choosing a Marriott hotel in Panama as they are several to choose from in the Marriott chain .... and when catching a taxi back to your hotel in Panama make sure you give exact instructions as to which one!!

The hotel is always quite busy with business people and tourists but it copes with the crowds well. The rooms, i had an executive room on the 10th floor for all my 3 stays there, are very comfy and spacious with nice marble bathrooms, a fridge and coffee maker.

The executive lounge serves a good buffet breakfast both hot and cold selections but be warned it gets bust at the weekends with hotel leisure deals. Throughout the day coffee, soft drinks and cookies are available. In the evenings a good hot and cold buffet is served between 6 and 9pm, changing the selection nightly. Wine and beer is available but at a charge.

The hotel is attached to a Casino but the noise does not affect the hotel and their is a separate entrance. There is a very good gym and a nice pool, however the pool being in an inner courtyard doesn't get much sun if you want to sunbathe. But it does have a hot tub which is lovely to sit in and relax in the evenings.

The front desk staff, the room servicing staff, the gym/pool staff and the executive lounge staff were all really helpful and make this a very pleasant hotel to stay in.

Across the road from the hotel is a good Lebanese restaurant and their are a few other places to eat really close by, plus Rey supermarket less than 5 minutes walk away. You can walk to Via España (the main drag) 2 minutes away and the Cinta Costera (the coastal promenade) 5 minutes away.

All in all a good place to stay in Panama City.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel as rooms at the front can be noisy with street noise , e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Panama in 2012 for our summer vacation and stayed at the Panama Marriott. Our stay was comfortable, rooms were fairly large and well laid out. The bathrooms were decent and amenities were of quality standard. HK did have some issues which we had raised and the Management promised to rectify those. We stayed for 6 nights and the staff were very courteous with their behaviour and services. What was most disappointing was the restaurant in the evenings which had very little options to choose from. We ended up almost everyday having our dinner outside where we had much better quality food, a variety of menus to choose from and enjoyed different types of cuisine. Though we must say that the breakfast was a well spread and saved us from venturing out.

Overall a comfortable stay and we will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumenChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights back in September and have to say that it was one of my best hotel experiences ever. The staff was absolutely amazing and knew our names upon walking in soon after we checked in. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where they actually knew my name considering all of the guests that stay at any given time. They were also great in planning and organizing a Segway tour of the city that I had read about on the flight there. The cafe was nice and very American focused. Overall, a great stay and a GREAT HOTEL! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amerikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We moved to the Marriott from another downtown hotel that did not have a pool, and we were very pleased. Excellent service from every member of the staff, and all made a special effort to assist us in English since we are just learning Spanish. We spoke with the concierge often about activities and corresponding fees in the area. Rooms are spacious, ample closet space, king size bed and pillows were fantastic, and bathroom was well appointed. We had room service several times, it was always prompt and well prepared. One complaint is that Wi-Fi was sometimes difficult to connect to, and a hi-speed internet package would have cost $4.95 per day. In this day and age, free hi-speed internet should be a standard, no-cost feature. Adjacent casino is not worth the look, and pool/spa need a little bit of a facelift although they were always kept very neat and clean. If you get a cab at the hotel be careful of the fare they are charging, on several occasions they were higher than what the concierge said they would be, but when I challenged them they revised their prices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool would have been best, there are high-rise buildings on other sides and the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our recent trip to Panama and we really liked the Panama Marriott. Rooms were huge, well-appointed, spotlessly clean, very comfortable. We especially liked the health club and the pool. The club has sauna and steam rooms, and the outdoor pool has a nice hot tub.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We needed some extra towels and they showed up at our room door less than 5 minutes after we called!

The hotel's dining room is a sports bar called Champion's. Drinks were fine but the food was very mediocre. Try Beirut Restaurant across the street instead.

One little hint: The chauffeur-driven cars that are available at the lobby door are very expensive compared to the yellow taxis. We took yellow taxis and saved about 30-40% on transportation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I usually select Marriott properties when I travel out of the country (in the country too). I am comfortable with their standards. I was in the older section of this hotel. There is a new section and they definitely were not fully booked over Christmas Eve and Christmas day so I don't know why they put me in the old section. The staff is very helpful and polite. I requested extra towels and sheet ( I cover the sofa or loveseat) they brought the items up within a few minutes. I couldn't get the door to unlock at one point and they were at my room within 3/4 minutes.Location is great,
near restaurants and a supermarket.It's attached to a NONSMOKING :) casino that plays great Latin music.

Room Tip: Higher floor, city view, newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdstravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 113 in Panama City
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing