We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed hear for several nights in April and May, in town for business. The room was fine. Everything worked and it was a little larger than I'm used to.

I found the staff friendly and attentive. Room service was speedy and accurate. Housekeeping was so kind, leaving me a laundry basket in my room to collect my clothes since i was staying such a long time as well as other small touches I have not experienced before.

There is an American style sports bar on site. I never ate at the restaurant. There are several bars and restaurants within a short walk.

The only downside was 1 of 3 elevators would not stop on my floor. If i got on that elevator I took it to the floor below and walked up a flight.

The entire guest facing that I encountered spoke English which is not the case at all hotels in the city as far as I could tell. This a good choice if your in town for business. I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We really loved that you stayed with us for a couple of weeks and you had a great experience.

We shared your comments with the housekeeper that was assigned to your room and she remembered you immediately!!!
Thank you for your kind comments on our Room Service operation and our front of the house service.
We apologize for the inconveniences with the elevator. We are currently working to solve that issue.

Looking forward to your return visit!

Safe travels,
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    395
    116
    26
    13
See reviews for
178
274
81
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only spent 2 nights here but the Hotel was in a great location, we could walk to the shops for clothes shopping and also bottle shop and general store for drinks and provisions.

Lots of restaurants close by.

We had breakfast in the Hotel and also had dinner twice in the sports bar restaurant, lots of choices, very American Style with large portions.

Front desk staff very helpful, internet very fast and free in the public areas.

Would stay here again if visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel! Yes, as of March 31st ,2013 we provide complimentary WiFi in our public areas and our customers love it!

Thank you for your feedback on our Champions Sports Bar.
We will share your comments with our Front Desk staff.

Hope you have a chance to come back to Panama.
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed The Marriott Panama City. We were there briefly overnight as we were departing on a cruise the next day. The hotel was clean and in a safe area. We had a nice size room with an ok view. The bar was hopping as there were some fights on and we enjoyed the coffee shop the following morning. Overall we found the hotel nice and was very useful for our purpose. The next morning we ere off to Gatun Locks and the cruise pier at Colon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan9661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We hope you had fun on your cruise!
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

Thank you for your comments on our room and restaurant outlets, we will share your observations with our staff.

Best wishes,
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Located in the heart of the city, Marriot Panama Hotel is very nice with large rooms, great sleeping beds, wide bathrooms and good service, they have a casino in the hotel, breakfast buffet is quiet good, though not very delicious. Recommended for business and couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It was great reading your comments about our Hotel! Our customers do love the size of our guest rooms and large bathrooms. Thank you very much for the feedback on our service and breakfast buffet.

Safe travels!
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. It was the 2nd time in two yrs. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. The hotel meals are a bit pricey, especially when compared to hotels in other parts of the country. Our biggest complaint is their wifi...they actually charge per day or per 3 days etc. AND it only works on one piece of computer equipment at a time...that's right, when I was on my iPad my wife had to wait for me to disconnect before she could get on the Internet. We were in Panama for 32 days, visited all parts of the country, and this was the only hotel that didn't provide free wifi! We like the hotel and staff very much but the wifi issue ticks us off. Still a nice place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for telling us about your recent experience at our property.

I am glad that our staff made your stay memorable. The Marriott beds are very comfortable and our guests really enjoy them. The hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet in the lobby and in all restaurants. In addition we recently made some changes to our system and now customers can enjoy logging up to 4 devices per day.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again to our beautiful property.
Sincerely,
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a nice Marriott in an OK section of the city. The staff was extremely attentive to anything we needed. We were offered an upgrade to the executive floor with lounge access for $50/night which turned out to be a bargain. The three of us had excellent breakfasts there and that also included free wifi (normally $13/night). In the afternoon/evening they had beverages and appetizers. The pool area is small and surrounded by buildings but it's fine. I actually fell asleep out there for an hour each day, despite the city noise. The best part was the private tour conducted by Mr. Nelson Forbes, one of the people used by the hotel. One morning, Nelson took us to the Miraflores Locks and provided a guided tour in English. The next day he took us to Panama Vieja and Casco Viejo. He was very knowledgeable about the history and gave us good insight that we would have otherwise missed. His English was excellent and he has a clean, airconditioned minivan. The last day, we rented a car to drive outside the city. I was worried about getting lost so Nelson offered to have us follow him to the bridge, at no charge! Champions restaurant was standard pub food but very good. There are a few restaurants which you can walk to nearby but the area is not attractive at all. Overall, the hotel is nice and I would definitely ask for Nelson at the Concierge desk for your tourguide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Yes! Nelson is one of the most popular drivers working for the taxi company. He does a great job and goes beyond to satisfy guest needs.

I am very glad you also experienced our Executive Lounge with our great offerings.
Thanks again and looking forward for your return visit to Panama.
Maria Quintero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A strange mixture of good and not so good...showing signs of needing to be refreshed both in terms of fabric and staff training. I was on a 4 day business trip - stayed in the hotel and attended a conference in the hotel. Conference facilities were good, but it was a full day before the hotel could provide a projector that gave us the right colours! Rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds and good showers. Breakfast was good but on a particularly busy morning the staff were overfaced and service fell to an unacceptably low level. Otherwise, great location and really not very expensive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peterfrogfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!

I am glad that you enjoyed our guest room and conference facilities. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the projector and your breakfast experience.
After receiving your review, we gave feedback to our Banquet and Restaurant Managers in order to improve the timeliness and consistency that our customers deserve.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Maria Quintero
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing