We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panama Marriott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$162
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
$190
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$212
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$60
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
607
425
124
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
425
124
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungegreat hotelbeirut restaurantcorvinahealth clubmain restaurantthe financial districtbusiness tripfront desk staffoutdoor poolroom was largecevichebreakfast buffetfitness centertaxi servicecentral locationbusiness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
629 - 634 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed on the 10th floor in executive tower. Rooms were newly remodeled with great views. Bathroom was amazing. The executive lounge has a great selection of drinks and free snacks. The breakfast buffet was delicious. We felt very safe walking around the neighborhood. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and bilingual.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3julieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Tower and that your experience in our Lounge was wonderful.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you again at the Panama Marriott Hotel!

Maria Quintero
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

great hotel with very friendly people. i have nothing bad to say about the hotel. all the staff was great....people in the restaurant, front desk lobby, even the housekeeping staff were very friendly. my friend an i both got a facial in the spa and i have nothing but positive things to say about the staff in the spa as well

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Rest assured that we will share your great comments with our staff in the different departments.
Hope you have the opportunity to come back to Panama!

Thanks again,

Maria Quintero
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights post cruise. I found the staff to be most accomodating and anxious to assist you in any way. It was a pleasant surprise to get an early check-in. The location was excellent...we could walk to restaurants and shopping very easily. The hotel has a sports bar which we found very friendly and the food was very good. We were in the hotel on Easter weekend and although it appeared quite busy the hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast and then brunch on Easter.

Room Tip: probably a higher floor so you don't have the view of the parking lot
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us!

Our staff strives to satisfy our guest needs such as early check in and we really appreciate your comments.
I am glad that you enjoyed your experience in the Champions Sports Bar.
We will share your observations with our staff.

Thanks again and looking forward to your return visit.

Maria Quintero
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay at Marriott Hotels frequently and are accustomed to good-to-excellent quality and service, but this was one of the lesser facilities. Hotel itself is very nice, including the common areas, executive lounge, and rooms; clean rooms, comfortable beds, good sized bathroom, large shower with good water pressure, all the typical amenities, great location.

They lost rating points, badly, on a couple issues;

The restaurants are just plain bad (which includes both the Champions chain and the Marriott's own restaurant where we had breakfast every morning) Really bad. Lousy service, and even worse quality of food. Just really sub-par...

Internet access was disconnected all day & night on Good Friday, both wireless and land-line. This is a very religious country, and Good Friday was a much bigger deal here than we expected; everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) was closed, the streets were empty of people and traffic, taxi service was hardly running, alcohol sales were banned in totality, collectively this city REALLY shut down. Rarely have we seen a shutdown of this magnitude anywhere. Hotel internet was completely inaccessible from early morning (tried my first log in shortly after 6am) throughout the day (tried ever couple hours) until past midnight (when I tried my last log in). By 4am the next morning it was back on. The front desk claimed it was a technical malfunction, but I find that very very hard to believe.

Finally, and as noted in several other reviews, there is clearly collusion on taxis and transportation. The day we left was a very early morning departure, the night before we requested them to call us a taxi and have it waiting. The next morning, no taxi waiting. Instead, their own in-house arranged service was available. The taxi from the airport direct to the hotel was $27, using the Marriott's chosen service back to the airport was $37. Yeah, it's only $10 but it's the principle of the matter. Shame on Marriott for allowing their customer requests to be ignored and their complicity in allowing this to go on, unabated.

Other than these issues, it's a fine, if unspectacular, hotel. Lower your expectations a bit, and you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuwaitiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Before going to Panama I was torn between the Hotel Bristol and the Marriott, ultimately opting for the latter due mainly to reward points. Now that I'm back in America, I can say that it would have been hard for the Bristol to have topped the Marriott.

There are many reasons I recommend the hotel so highly. For starters, the staff was courteous and helpful to a fault. We traveled over Easter Weekend and the concierge worked very hard to find us open restaurants on Good Friday. The housekeeping staff were impeccable with their timing and the front desk answered all of our questions with a smile.

In addition to the excellent service, the hotel also deserves high marks for its physical condition. The lobby is beautiful, the room very well designed and modern, the bed comfortable, and the Executive Lounge was spotless. Moreover, its location is really ideal. Panama City isn't really a walking city for most people, but there is a lot within walking distance if you're up for it. Furthermore, it's smack in the middle of downtown, so you're a short taxi ride to pretty much everywhere.

Other than the fact that the internet went out for a day while we were there, I really have no complaints at all about the hotel. Except, as mentioned by some previous reviewers, DO NOT take a hotel taxi. The Marriott is by no means the only hotel to do this, from what I can tell, but their taxis will charge you up to three times what a standard taxi would. Simply walk to the right of the hotel upon exiting and wait for a yellow cab to appear. You'll save a bunch of cash.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!
We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and it is great to hear such wonderful comments about our staff. We will definitely share your comments with our Concierge, Front Desk and Housekeeping personnel.
We encourage our hotel guests to take taxis from the hotel due to safety reasons although prices are higher. The taxi company that the hotel uses has insurance and their drivers are known by the hotel staff.
Thanks again for your feedback and hoping to see you soon in Panama!

Maria Quintero
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews