We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property - Weak Service but has "Potential"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was a nice hotel with decent rooms and a very nice lounge for it's elite members. The service staff is a little on the weak side -- part of it is the local culture and I would imagine that part is just not enough training. Overall, a good experience and would stay again.

Room Tip: Had a good room and nothing to compare with so assume all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved our roomy and comfortable accommodations. Bed was yummy. Staff were welcoming and surprised us with upgrade to executive floor breakfast which is excellent. The hotel restaurant serves a good menu but prices are a bit high. We enjoyed Thursday night Panamanian dance show. Hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants. Swimming pool needs a major renovation!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This Marriott was fabulous. Spacious, clean rooms, lovely (if rather small pool). The concierge was very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations. It was extremely busy, but everyone was friendly and helpful!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hafhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while preparing for a cruise that took us through the canal. The restaurant is a carry-out arrangement, or, if you prefer a sit-down arrangement, there is a noisy sports bar in the rear of the large lobby. Other decent restaurants are easily within a block's walk, so safety should not be a concern. The room was large and comfortable, and, on the 18th floor, provided a partially blocked vista of the city. There is a very nice pool area in the rear of the property on the mezzanine level.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the hotel as there are many skyscrapers in the neighborhood. Also, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just returned from from 5 days at the Panama City Marriott. We liked a lot of things about it: great room--large and modern with love seat & comfy chair, big screen (74 stations), comfortable beds. Good if a little pricey restaurants. Breakfast buffet was standard, but fresh and tasty, Coffee in room and at breakfast a pot on the table. Service from staff was exceptional, everyone spoke English, and they smiled too. As tourists we dealt a lot with the concierge desk, and esp. with Lina, who was terrific in helping us with planning and just getting along in the city. The Marriott is primarily a business hotel, but then Panama city is more business and less tourist oriented than many places,though that seems to be changing. At any rate, except for no free internet (as in many tourist hotels) it is very well situated for tourism. And there are internet joints less than a block away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was a typical Marrriott hotel room. However, there was free Wifi, a small outdoor pool with no shade; therefore unusable. It was over 90 degrees & sunny.
I am a vegetarian so my options were limited for dinner. Breakfast was fine with cold & hot food.
There was a mall next door with a supermarket & some shops.
We stayed one night when we arrived to Panama City & one night before we left.
The check in was quick & efficient. The staff friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

OUTSTANDING hotel! Breakfast buffet, which was included, was MAGNIFICENT and well worth the overall cost! ATM, gift shop, plentiful taxis. Hemmed in by bars and casinos. Walking about was limited. Rooms were clean, spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
935 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $111 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy elegant accommodations at Panama Marriott Hotel. Situated in the heart of Panama City, our hotel offers superior accommodations and great amenities near upscale shops at SoHo Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing