We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panama Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #15 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
YVR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

The Panama Marriott is a terrific hotel. The staff are incredibly attentive, helpful and very friendly. The main restaurant serves great food.

The rooms are clean and large, although the batroom could be a bit more modern. Good furnishings. Very quiet!!

Excellent gym, if you want that.

The location is outstanding. All sorts of good restaurants close by - designer shopping mall within easy walking distance. Central to the domestic airport, the canal, the colonial city and the old city.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    382
    107
    23
    11
See reviews for
171
266
79
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed at the Marriott in downtown Panama City for two nights in January 2008. Overall, a very nice hotel - great lobby, friendly staff, large rooms, and the most comfortable beds! The pool area and workout facilities are very nice as well. The staff were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott for 5 days over New Year's. The hotel lobby is very nice. We had no problems checking in the hotel or checking out. We also found the hotel employees to be very friendly and they spoke English.

Our room was on the 4th floor. If you are a light sleeper, you should request a room on a higher floor. There was a lot of music noise from downstairs. It did not bother us though. The rooms are very big - sitting area, large bed, large bathroom, etc.

The pool is small but it was also nice. It was crowded on New Year's Day and we could not get a chair. The hotel should purchase more chairs because there is room for them.

The concierge gave us suggestions for restaurants and gave us plenty of information for taxi tours and for organized tours. We decided not to book with the hotel. We arranged for a taxi tour on our own. We met a taxi driver and managed to arrange for a four-hour tour of the Canal and Old Panama City for $25. However, he spoke only Spanish and we spoke a little Spanish to communicate. There are so many policemen at the tourist spots that we felt very comfortable with our driver. The tour prices with the hotel are expensive but they have drivers that speak English very well and probably give you a better tour.

We never took taxis from the hotel. We always walked around the block to get a taxi. The prices dropped dramatically. We always negotiated the price of the taxi before entering. We paid anything from $1 to $10 (to go to the Causeway). We did not tip the driver if the price of the trip was more than $4. For the most part, the cabs are not expensive. The drive to the Causeway took approximately 20 minutes. A 20 minute ride for $10 is not bad at all. Getting to the Causeway cost about $6 but getting back to the hotel from the Causeway cost $10. Since the Causeway has many good restaurants and a beautiful view of the city, we did not hesitate to pay for the cabs.

We found the area around the hotel to be very safe. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Food in the hotel is very expensive. The cafe had reasonable prices for coffee.

When we went shopping at the Multiplaza mall, we walked into the Decameron hotel. We were certaintly glad that we chose to stay at the Marriott. The Marriott seems to be 10 times better.

Overall, we were very happy with the Marriott hotel and would stay at this hotel again. The hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. Panama is a beautiful country and if we are lucky enough to return, we will definitely stay at the Marriott.

  • Liked — Big Room, Nice bathroom, Turn-down Service in the evening
  • Disliked — Noise from downstairs at night
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed here for six nights.It is well located and is well kept .Staff is excellent,pleasant ,friendly and always eager to help.Food is excellent but pricey.There are numerous restaurents around .Shopping centers are in walking distance.
Mathew

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank kvm8702002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

This is a first class hotel located in a very convenient section of Panama City. Rooms are very clean with new and luxurious furnishings. Room also contains numerically operated safe. Staff is very attentive and courteous.

The hotel restaurant is adequate but very over-priced (e.g. like $17 for breakfast) -- no problem, just walk a few blocks (or less) from the hotel and you will have a selection of appropriate and interesting restaurants for any meal. This is apparently what most people do since I never did see many people in the hotel restaurant - hey guys lower your prices and attendance may improve!! In addition to the restaurant there is a cafe on the ground floor that is less unreasonably priced and good for coffee and snacks.

The hotel is located near several casinos as well, and there is nightlife (dancing, etc) available for the interested. In fact in Panama City there is just about everything available that you could want - this is one of my favorite destinations. There are also stores and even a supermarket within walking distance of the hotel (but you will have to know where it is, staff will tell you).

The hotel has an attractive swimming pool that is certainly worth a dip and pleasant to lounge around. There is also a gymnasium that is well equiped.

If you have a few hours free don't hesitate to use the concierge to book a tour of Panama City. Various tours are available from a quickie trip to the nearby canal up to a more extensive tour hitting several historic sites. My guide was very friendly and patient and was obviously very proud of his city and this lovely country. And the prices were not unreasonable in view of the tour quality and duration.

The hotel is a Marriott and retains a very American feel to it - it is really indistinguishable from those in the U.S. (except perhaps newer and nicer than most). For those interested in a real Panamanian cultural experience this hotel is not it. But for those interested in assured luxury and convenience, and familiar surroundings with the option of venturing into the city from a convenient and secure location, this will fit the bill nicely.

  • Liked — immaculate hotel, nice swimming pool
  • Disliked — There was no in-room check-out! I had to wait in line downstairs!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexpk321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
879 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 930 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott over the long Thanksgiving weekend and were completely satisfied with the hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. We had a large corner room with a great view of the impressive Panama skyline and as a Platinum Elite member, access to the Executive Lounge which is one of the best that I've seen. The "continental" breakfast consisted of scrambled and boiled eggs, pancakes, a variety of meats and pastries to choose from, as well as cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit. One evening they had both fish and chicken and enough compliments to make a complete meal. Plus, the staff is extremely helpful. Plus, the hotel is impeccibly maintained and the lobby is large and comfortable if you get tired of sitting in the room. I can't imagine that there's a better property in Panama City than the Marriott!

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

The Marriott Hotel is among the best I have seen in Panama City. True, there is no local flavor, but seriously, you would have to stay at a Bed and Breakfast or small town inn to get that. It is also true that this is more of a 'business' hotel. The pool area, for example, was completely empty on a sunny Wednesday afternoon. Also, the banking area in Panama, like any other financial district, is quite busy and congested during the day, so be prepared to hear some traffic noise during the day. If you are looking for complete silence and a place to be away from it all this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is close to restaurants - I wouldn't walk to any of them, though. There is also a shady place across from the hotel (frequented, I've heard, by ladies of the evening), but there was a great deal of security at the hotel, and I never felt unsafe.

Having said that, the health club is great, and we got probably the best massage of our life here. The food at the main restaurant (especially the Sunday Champagne brunch) and at the cafe Sabores is delicious. The coffee at Sabores is to die for. Overall, the staff at the hotel is top notch, in particular the security staff, bellmen, valet staff, restaurant and maid services. I usually stay at the Ritz Carlton in the US and can honestly say that service in Panama was comparable or superior to the Ritz. I do agree with prior comments about the concierge staff - do some internet research before traveling in order to become familiarized with restaurants, etc, and then use the concierge for reservations. I have no complaints about this hotel. The only reason why I wouldn't stay here again is if I were looking for a complete relaxation-be away from it all kind of hotel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noise from busy financial district
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lara166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#9 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing