We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flight Crew Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panama Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Ibiza, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Flight Crew Hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel offers everything I hope for while traveling. The room is the size of a suite, clean and quiet. High Speed Internet a number of english speaking television chanels and a world class fitness center. The coffee shop and sports bar will make you feel at home and the staff all speak beautiful english and are quick to help. There are a number of dining spots within walking distance however if you only eat out at one the Casa Del Marisco is the spot only 2 blocks. The hotel is in the banking district so if you are looking to get out it will be a $5 cab ride.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cplne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    396
    116
    26
    13
See reviews for
178
274
81
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott for business for 2/3 months. It was almost a second home. I must say the Panama Marriott is more than just a regular business hotel. The staff is very friendly. The concierge staff takes genuine interest in finding restaurants for you. I had a great culinary experience at exotic locations with delicious food.

The location is in the business district and i was able to walk to work though if it is too hot you are better off taking a car from the hotel. Also, the zebra crossings are dangerous, so watch out. OK, i am digressing from the hotel itself.

There is almost everything there. The restaurants are full of interesting local people as its a place for the affluent Panamanians to hang out. There is a great casino in the hotel where I had a very good time with friends. Across the road there was a middle eastern restaurant with excellent food.

If you are big on health the gym is very well equipped with the personal trainers always keen to help. The bed was the standard Marriott bed i.e. excellent as always.

There is an executive lounge which much larger than the one box room style we get very often. It had good warm food in the evening.
Overall, very good value for money and great pad to explore the region.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel over 6 times in the last 18 months. It is a good business hotel - fast and stable internet (for 50 bucks extra a week), reliable service by the staff, great gym, very convenient taxi service. However, the carpet in most rooms smells moldy, and I have stayed in many different ones.
Be aware that the hotel is adjacent to a casino and it is surrounded by many night-clubs, so it does attract a crowd that is into entertainment. It never did bother me, though. Security seems to be very good in the premises.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fca202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

In planning a 5 day visit, we chose this as our location to explore Panama City. The rooms were very nice, clean and well-maintained.
The casino was connected which was quite convenient.
Was within walking distance of many restaurants and local shopping.
Restaurants on site were OK but not great.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room as they are a bit larger and give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtnBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here for a week, just got back and I was impressed with the level of comfort that this hotel provided. The hotel was very clean and appointed and the staff was friendly and attentive. The location is decent, located in the middle of the financial disctrict. My only problem, is that it is not on a main road, so it is not easy to find. Also, they do not rent cars on Sunday. It is about a $30 cab fare from the airport and $5 to the closest mall. There is a few dining options within walking distance and the area appears safe... lots of police. The hotel is attached to a casino, but it is not run by the Marriott and even though I do not gamble, it was quickly apparent that the hotel and the casino do not see eye to eye. If you are elite Marriott, the conceirge lounge is very nice and the breakfast and cocktail hours wer well laid out. They even had breakfast on the weekends, big plus for a Marriott. The room was completley up to date and the linens and bath was fresh and plush. If I find myself in Panama again, this hotel was the perfect oasis from the bustling city, clean, new and friendly was just what I needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a western facing room, the floor really does not matter for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good service, friendly staff, excellent food. I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing, where they are all brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEX N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed at the Panama City Marriott for business. I found the hotel to be very nice. The rooms are huge and would be considered a suite at other comparable hotels. There was a very comfortable king sized bed and a seperate sitting area with a couch and chair. There was also a desk area. The bathroom is also quite large but there was some mildew in the shower, which was surprising as the rest of the room was well maintained. I appreciated that the hair dryer provided was not the type that is attached to the wall that allows limited motion. Closet space was more than adequate with enough hangers. I never felt crowded while staying here. There was actually enough open floor space for a cartwheel or two.

I will say that the check in process was a little longer than I would have preferred after an international flight, though checking out was much faster and more efficient. The lobby is very beautifully decorated. Some evenings there was even a piano player entertaining the people in the lounge area (photo posted). I was disappointed that the pool was closed but was informed that this was due to the construction of an adjoining building and the risk of falling debris in the pool area (there is no lack of construction in Panama City at the moment).

I attended business meetings at the hotel. The meeting room was small (Salon Coco Del Mar) but sufficient in size for our group. The room was kept at an extremely cold temperature and the entire meeting room area was cold, but I now know that the Panamanians LOVE their air conditioning. The meeting meals were decent proportions and no one was left hungry for more. Meeting staff were all very helpful and there was always someone in the vicinity to assist when needed.

The neighborhood was quite an interesting mix. The bars directly across the street from the lobby have quite a choice of prostitutes during the night time hours. A few coworkers and I had drinks at the Texas Bar & Grill just around the corner (good prices and outside seating) and were the only people there other than the table with the pimp and his three girls. Despite their professions they were very nice to us. I also had dinner at the Lebanese restaurant just across the corner. The food was good but the wait staff wasn't very knowledgeable and the food was over priced. There is also a small shopping mall (not high quality merchandise) and a super market within walking distance.

I would definitely stay at the Marriott again. I was quite comfortable and felt well taken care of while there.

Room Tip: If you stay on the upper floors you will have great unobstructed views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shervivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,635 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Property: Panama Marriott Hotel
Address: Calle 52 y Ricardo Arias | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing