We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy location in Panama City!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Miramar Panama
Ranked #40 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“noisy location in Panama City!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Intercontinental hotel is quite central in Panama city but not necessarily the best location. It is situated between 2 very noisy main highways! With constant traffic, honking of horns and sirens you could hardly call the location peaceful!! There is a light controlled crossing to get across the highway to walk into the main city … but the lights take forever and even then …just be careful and really wait until the traffic has stopped!
The hotel has an excellent pool area, a good gym, the restaurant is quite expensive, formal and dated. Where as the bar is very modern, yet dark and inviting.
The rooms are clean and spacious but maybe a little tired in sorts.
The staff in general were friendly and reasonably helpful.
Overall a good hotel but wouldn't be my first choice in Panama city, there are many better options.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Bev082,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you mentioned our friendly hotel staff and clean rooms. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the noise challenges and condition of the hotel facilities. Rest assured these concerns will certainly be looked into for necessary improvements

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    245
    105
    53
    32
See reviews for
99
185
51
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama, R. of P.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are group of friends, 4 couples , that for the last three new year's eves have chosen the Bay View Restaurant for our New Year's eve dinner.
(Noche Vieja in Spanish)

¿Why, we love the place?
Elegant, pleasant atmosphere, with a very complete varied buffet, (our de ouvres, ceviches, salads, consomé or sancocho a local soup, four main dishes, you can have one or more; fruits, and a generous desert table, at an attractive Price; no alcoholic beverages included, those are paid apart, also the service taxes and tip

The attention is excelent and what makes the top of the icecream, the the cherry of the icecream or the star( whichever is called) of the night is the pianist Mario Olivotto that makes the night so enjoyable with their interpretations while the dinner lasts.

The time of the event is from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm.

After that, the group to be together at midnight to say "Happy New Year", we have moved each two past years to a different place; as Panama City is close to the sea, and now has a beautiful l "Cinta Costera, a Causeway, we have been there.

This year a change happened, after the dinner at the Bay View, we were invited to see the "fuegos artificiales" at an open terrace of the house of the family of one of our friends, where we received the new year.

Each couple took our champagne, grapes, turrones, and finished the night with a delicious tamal de olla, another typical dish of the country, offered by the hostess of the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema101524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights. Some of the great features of the hotel included very modern and clean rooms. We were on Floor 21. The Maid Service was excellent and special note of appreciation goes out to Robert on the Club floor for his outstanding service and friendly demeanor. Arleen the concierge was also very helpful.

What was shockingly bad was the Sunday Brunch service. We were unable to get anyone to bring us water or a napkin. Other tables near us were being served but it was as if we were invisible. I made eye contact with a server and she deliberately looked away. Wow this is not Intercontinental service, this was horrible!!

We ate across the street at Le Meridian and had impeccable service and food.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LetsGo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Miramar Panama,

Thank you for sharing your kind words to others on Trip Advisor. I made sure to forward this review to all departments and especially to Robert, Arleen and Housekeeping. I am sure these commentaries will make their day to keep on offering high standards of customer service to all of our guests.

On the other hand, also some of the points you mentioned about the restaurant service was also forwarded to the managers in charge, the corrective actions will be taken immediately and thank you again, because thanks to you we are able to allocate faster areas of improvement in our hotel.

Your business is valuable to us that’s why don’t hesitate to let us know your next visit to our beautiful country. I will make sure to have everything set for you, as you know now that InterContinental Miramar will be you second home if your future travel brings you back to Panama City.

Hope you enjoy a great week back home,

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I visit Panama on business several times a year and I always stay at this hotel. Great ocean view, very clean rooms, bathroom is immaculate, large swimming pool where you can do laps, really nice restaurant, very attentive staff. I love this hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for a higher floor with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackvine P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Miramar Panama,

I really appreciate you have taken the time to write on Trip Advisor your recent experience with us. As frequent guest it is always important to hear your experiences that way we know what we are doing well and what can help us improve.

I will pass this on to our entire staff, to make sure your kind words are heard. You have a second home with us every time you travel to Panama, and It will always be an honor to have you back living the Intercontinental Experience.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Jackvine Prescott
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spent 6 nights here whilst attending a conference in the city. There were a number of "preferred" hotels that the organisers recommended including the Hard Rock and the Radisson but I am convinced this was the best choice. The room was an excellent size, clean, comfortable with good amenities (although a walk-in shower would have been preferable to one in the bath). Wi-Fi in the room has to be paid for but I either used the free Wi-Fi in the lobby/bar or at the conference centre itself. Breakfast was good (with lots of fresh fruit) although the dining room did get very full at certain times. Situated between the financial district and the old town the location is spot-on and taxis are cheap if you don't want to walk. But above all else the view from my 14th floor room, both at night and during the day, was just superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from InterContinental Miramar Panama,

First of all, thank you for letting other travelers know your recent experience at our hotel. It’s an honor to read that even thought you had a list of preferred hotels in Panama City, you still decided to try and live de InterContinental experience. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for giving us the honor of having you with us.

Either for business or pleasure, InterContinental Miramar will be at your disposal if your future travel brings you back to the city. Hope we can see you soon, that way you get to keep on enjoying our services, location, amenities, spacious rooms and the breakfast in our Bay View Restaurant.

Thank you again for sharing online, don’t hesitate to let us know you next visit so that I can have everything arranged for you.

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

top location, loved the sea view from my room and my morning runs on the cinta costiera...
big room and bathroom, nice staff, will definitely visit again. probably a bit noisy so try to get a high floor room (16+)

Room Tip: a bit noisy so try to get a high floor room (16+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alguccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Panama City,

Thank you for sharing your kind words on Trip Advisor. It is always our goal to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are happy to read that we were succeeded in delivering this to you.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our accommodations and had the opportunity to enjoy the stunning views they offer. We hope you had a good time in the pool and walking aroun the ´´Cinta Costera´´.

Thank you again for sharing you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Panama City.

Best Regards,

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Staff was very helpful, the restaurant & room service was great. The breakfast & Lunch buffet is to die for, along with the view, ambiance and live piano music is the icing on the cake. Also has a great pool & Gym with all sorts of cardio classes through out the day along with the spa for sauna and massages. Used the travel agents located in the hotel to book a tour of the Panama canal and the rain forest along with a ride on the zip lines, which turned out to be a lot of fun! In short a full 5 star hotel with all the services you can ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackvine P, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you not only enjoyed your experience at the restaurant, but in your room, pool area and tours to Gamboa. We always strive for excellence and we are thrilled that we were successful to delivering this to you during your stay.

Please feel free to contact me personally prior to your next visit as I would be delighted to assist your personally and ensure your next stay is just as memorable.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Jackvine Prescott
Guest Relations Manager
jprescott@miramarpanama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 114 in Panama City
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 114 in Panama City
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.8 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Property: InterContinental Miramar Panama
Address: Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Panama Bay and the financial district, this luxury Panama City hotel is ideal for business or leisure. Boasting spacious ocean view suites and a scenic walkway that takes you direct to the marina, the hotel is the perfect spot for watching vessels as they enter the famed Panama Canal. Relax at our poolside restaurant or indulge in a spa treatment. You're ideally located for designer shopping and local markets or exploring the colonial old town of Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing