We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Dicey Neighborhood, Subpar Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre
Ranked #50 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom master suite. The actual suite was very nice, although the bathrooms were dated. Additionally, there are no amenities - not even paper towels.

There is a very large grocery store 2 blocks away and thus purchasing goods is simple.

The wifi worked great.

The neighborhood was pretty crappy in my opinion, although I did not spend much time elsewhere in Panama City. It seemed as if I needed a 15+ minute drive to the San Francisco neighborhood for meals and the Marina for the canal tour. I am not sure if other hotels are better located.

The breakfast was very basic - definitely not 5 star. Staples like eggs, waffles, yogurt. Nothing even close to gourmet.

A few gripes - the checkin process was a bit frustrating because the desk charged me $25 per day for each day for my children. This was not in my Marriott reservation. It's impossible to deal with issues outside of the country and communication is always an issue.

The LARGEST GRIPE is with the hotels transportation. Do not use their internal VIP transportation services. I had made a reservation for services from the hotel to the Marina for my Panama Canal trip. In the morning, no show. After 30 minutes and endless stress (I could have missed the boat and $700 of tickets), a driver from the Intercontinental hotel showed up. I was pissed. Then in the evening, I asked the rate for a ride from the hotel to Maito Restaurant (very average incidentally). I was quoted 22 dollars - 10 for 2 persons and 3 dollars for each additional. Upon arrival, I was asked to sign a statement, however, the driver never entered the 22 rate. I was picked up from Maito and returned and was told the rate was 30. I said no 22. This turned into a front desk drama and it was eventually resolved because the hotel does have a rate sheet. Bottom line - they are dishonest. After the third mishap, I turned to trip advisor where I found Omar from PBA for tour and other services. Please see my review for his contact information.

I

I strongly suggest using Omar for all Panama related tour and driving services. His contact info is here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BornaTravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 296 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

My hotel stay was very pleasant! The staff is great and very friendly. Our room was very modern and very clean. Anything missing from the room would be brought up immediately by the staff members. Def. get your money's worth. If you're going to catch a cab, have the front desk order one for you. The hotel cabs are very pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garcesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed for 1 month in Panama City with my wife. This is a very good option for one that do not want to stay in a regular hotel. It is more like a flat. I has its own kitchen with a cooktop, refrigerator, microwave and all kitchen appliances you may need for to cook decently. The apartment is very spacious with a office and a room with a sofa. Important to say that the bed room, and the office space and the sofa room are not exactly separated by a wall, but all have their own space in the apartment. Only the kitchen is separated. There are bigger apartments if you want to stay with children, with separated rooms. My one was a smaller but still bigger than regular hotel rooms.
The service was good as well. In a couple of days they stated to know you by name and they are very polite. The breakfast is very good, often charged separately. There is a hotel laundry service but you an use the washing machine and drying machine they keep in every floor at a far rate. There is a reasonable swimming pool and a small gym.
The hotel is very well located, close to Balboa Avenue and 50th Street, in Bella Vista neighborhood. It is by walking distance to the Cinta Costera, where you can walk and have exercises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

You will love the apartment, so remember, it's an apartment and not a hotel room. I loved the space in the apartment, the free wifi for 5 devices, and the kitchen was great. The room is modern, the bathroom a bit dated (but ok), and of course, the L'Occaitaine shampoo and soap is nice.
The breakfast is decent, the omlette station is good, service is good, and ok priced.
The gym is the downside, two treadmills and a weight set. The bottom line, there isn't a gym. Do not expect to workout here.
The lobby is fine, for an apartment. Do not expect an hotel, it's a great place to stay for a long stay.

Room Tip: The room is great, the grocery store is 2 blocks away. But, remember, it's an apartment first a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marknbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A little known treasure that should be on your list. The room, actually a studio apartment was GREAT! In a time of tiny rooms to have room is a wonderful thing. A full kitchen is great for keeping soda,beer and snacks at the ready. A full service supermarket is only two blocks away. Each floor has a washer and dryer so packing light is even easier. The front desk team of; Hector, Maniel, Alexander, and Roy, were always ready to help with any request. The lack of anything above a basic gym is what cost the location the full five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with my family on a business trip. We had one of the 2 bedroom penthouse apartment suites on the top floor. This property is fairly new and it's a beautiful building. Our room was very nicely appointed (marble, granite, 3 flat screens) and had a great view of the Panama City skyline. There are several nice restaurants nearby: a brazilian steakhouse, a Panamanian restaurant with a show (average food - good show), and a great Guatemalan steakhouse (Hacienda Real). There is also a grocery store about 4 blocks away that has lots of American products (Riba Smith). The breakfast buffet at the hotel is good, but the rest of the food is very average (we ordered a couple of hamburgers and club sandwiches one night - they were terrible). Panamanians are not known for great customer service. The employees here are trying - but sometimes they just seemed either short-staffed or overwhelmed. The pool is very nice; it would be nice if the hot tub were actually hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We read a lot of reviews prior to our trip so I was a little hesitant about our stay. The hotel was part of a package deal so we had no choice and therefore went in with pretty low expectations. Overall, the hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms were spacious and clean.. The food was average and a little pricey

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#28 of 116 in Panama City
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#17 of 116 in Panama City
1,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#5 of 116 in Panama City
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre

Address: Calle Colombia Y Ave., 3RA A Sur | Calle Colombia & Calle Republica del Paraguay, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $85 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre offers spacious luxury apartments in the heart of Panama City’s financial district. Quality and elegance combine to create the ideal setting, whether staying for just one night or a whole month. Both business and leisure travelers will feel at home at this Marriott hotel in Panama, offering loft and one or two-bedroom apartments with separate living, sleeping, dining, and work areas. Enjoy the convenience of complete kitchen, complimentary high-speed Internet, an executive desk, and soundproof thermo-acoustic windows. Relax with a cocktail at the outdoor pool, overlooking the ocean, or spend an evening with fine wine and fusion fare at Adegas restaurant. This Panama hotel is conveniently located in Bella Vista district near dining, shopping, and attractions, including the Casco Viejo (Old City) and The Panama Canal. The hotel also offers four meeting rooms and an outdoor venue that’s ideal for corporate functions, social events or meetings in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Executive Apartments Panama City, Finisterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing