We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice, service terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed 3 nights for business (I had a training in my company), hotel itself is very nice if you like rock music and have fun all the time, however the staff is not trained for facing this kind of super facility. Waiters at the restaurant are always lost, I asked for an expresso coffe and what I get was terrible, they charged you twice, they don not know how to handler the register and I had to pay a juice at buffet even when my company arranged the meals, rooms and phone calls for one price. The phone calls I was supposed to have never could done, I could not talk to my family for 3 days, staff is not able to handle this hotel, I wait more than 2 hours for a phone call.I don't recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing place.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a relaxing place don't go there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgegIsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear lola1229,

We are so sorry to hear that you encountered challenges during your visit. These types of issues are atypical of the Rock Star experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests.

The feedback is greatly appreciated and I will assure you the comments are shared with each appropriate department.

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,485)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 5,488 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and loved it. We were upgraded at check-in which was a good start. The room was great with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a good sitting area. There was a coffee maker, sink, small fridge and desk in the main room. Each bedroom and the main room had a good sized TV with a few English channels. The room was clean and maid service good.

The one thing missing from the room was a good booklet of information about the hotel's amenities and the city. The only printed matter in the room was a room service menu that I used only once which came fast and good quality.

There is a decent sized mall attached to the hotel and a casino that had both table and slot games.

The restaurants and bars were all good at the hotel except it was very clear some staff work hard while others either just stand there doing nothing at all or ignore you instead going to a customer who speaks Spanish (as seen in the bar on the 62nd floor).

The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed (but very secure) and in line with what you expect from a Hard Rock property. I would recommend this hotel and I find it to be one of the best reasons to return to Panama City.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which I suggest over a standard double.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caribwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Caribwest,

Thank you so much for sharing your rocking experience while staying with our Hard Rock Band at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time with us and we hope you plan on returning to Panama soon!!

Best Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel with my husband. I really loved the hotel, lots of things to do: bars, discos, restaurants, pool, but the service has some areas of opportunities.
We asked for some help for a disco one night and nobody could tell us if there was an event going on or if it was going to be the entrance free for guests. They just send us with other people to ask and nobody knew the answer.
I also liked the fact that is in front of "multicentro" where we enjoyed doing some shopping.

Room Tip: Our room was one with king bed and it was very comfortable, the view was really nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear MaryC_13

We are so thankful for your feedback during your recent trip to our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We appreciate your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will absolutely share your positive comments about our bars, discos and restaurants.

Best Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed only one night in August 2013. Lovely place, well set up, good quality service, great location. We took the hop-on-hop-off bus tour to the Canal. Good experience, one sees a lot of places along this route. I would not recommend the City tour as it is a waste of time imo.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the pool. Great city and ocean views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Avril and Andre,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent rock star experience!

The Hard Rock Band is happy to see you enjoyed our great Location and Service, we hope you plan on returning to Panama soon, and we look forward to welcome you back!

Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very nice and very clean. The rooms are spacious enough and they have all you could need. the balcony is good, but the city is too loud and nothing nice to see. Hotel's common areas are too cold, the air conditioning is always in the maxium, it is really very cold. Breakfast is OK, there are several options to choose in the buffet. SOY, asian restaurant is good but there the place is even more cold, so this don't let you enjoy the full experience. The service is average, It seems service is poor in all Panamá, of course not everybody in the service is bad, for example, Luis (the argentinean man), from the bellboys department is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcez510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Marcez510

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

It is great to hear that you liked our spacious rooms, breakfast and our Asian Restaurant!

We hope to see you soon again in our Stage!

Best Regards,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

In February 2013, I spent three nights at this hotel. The hotel is has a modern minimalist feel and is very clean.

The staff, especially the concierge and America, were great. They went out of their way to meet my needs. Although I didn't ask her to check, America went so far as to contact the Panama Canal to make sure there was a ship going through at the time that I wanted to go.

The room with two queen beds was very modern and nice. I liked the tiled floors, but the closet space leaves a lot to be desired, especially if there are two people in the room. Also, I loved the huge shower, but the bathroom needs more towel racks.

I loved the pool area. However, there is limited seating near the pool. The skyline view from the pool is great!

The buffet dinner had a lot of variety, but was pricey at $28.00. The food in the bar area was mediocre at best and I mean that. You'll do better in Old Panama City or the Amador Causeway for restaurants. They are still pricey, but the food is better. Old Panama is the process of major renovations so by now there should be many new restaurants. However, I have to say Panama does not have a lot of variety when it comes to restaurants. Although I have traveled to many countries and usually love the food, I have to say I was not impressed with the food in Panama. It seems that a lot of the restaurants have the same or similar menus. The same fish cooked five different ways. Boring!!!!

Finally, the white taxis that are outside the front door work for the hotel and are very expensive. Therefore, I recommend that you take a yellow taxi and negotiate the price with them as they are not as expensive. The yellow taxis also drive up to the front door, but if you don't see one, walk to the main street (about 1/2 a block).

Enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear cymluv,

Overall, it sounds like you had an authentic experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our clean, quiet guest rooms and central location.

We feel strongly that service is paramount to our success and are extremely happy to see that you took notice of that!

We hope to see you again in our stage!!

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The place is nice because you are able to party at night but the service its awful, the elevators are slow and crowded, breakfast over populated, the pool its the less relaxing thing you will ever find. The people that stay in the hotel are not the nicest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa_BlancaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Guest Service at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear _Rosa224,

We want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We are very sorry that our service did not meet your expectations during your stay, the feedback you are providing us will help us address the areas of oportunity that may need attention in an effort to prevent any future concerns.

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 115 in Panama City
2,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#17 of 115 in Panama City
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis

Address: Avenida Balboa con Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $144 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Latin America's hottest destinations just got even hotter. In the heart of Panama you will find the spectacular Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. This breath taking sixty-six story tower invites you to come and experience where rock star service meets urban chic design - all infused with the passion and irreverence of rock 'n' roll.Located just a few miles from the Panama Canal, this Hard Rock Hotel puts you center stage with breathtaking panoramic views of the city and the Panama Bay.Live like a true rock star in one of our 1453 stylish rooms and suites, then come experience our five exciting bars and four tantalizing restaurants, Ciao, Tauro, Soy, Bazaar. Relax in our Rock Spa(R) or soak in the sun at our infinity pool cabanas.Want more? The hotel is just steps away from MultiCentro Mall and Majestic Casino, offering amazing shopping, restaurants, bars, convention center, and movie theater.The show is about start...Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing