We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“None of the staff could help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“None of the staff could help”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had so many problems I don't know where to start. The people at 'star service' said they spoke English and not only didn't but hung up on us twice without help. They checked my mom into the wrong room after thrice saying her room would be ready in 15 minutes and then gave the other person a key and access to her room. Both of us had people try to get into our rooms in the middle of the night- not conducive to sleep. The pool was too cold to go in. They charged us for someone else's things. They never cleaned our room. In short the whole 2 nights were a mess.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear k d, we wanted to firstly pass along our sincere apologies for the various points you mentioned that occurred during your stay with us. We can only tell you how dismayed and surprised we were upon reading your comments about your stay. Since opening, we’ve pride ourselves on our consistency in delivering a high level of Rockin’ experience and service, which in turn has reflected in our guest satisfaction ratings. Your comments are being followed up directly with each of the departments’ managers to ensure that this gets rectified. We thank you and hope you’ll visit us so you may experience the changes we’re making. LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,017
    1,321
    471
    245
    200
See reviews for
1,216
1,752
228
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, food and amenities were above expectations. Housekeeping was the only area that was not exceptional. Mini bar, towels and bottled water were not replenished daily, Great views, and the in room technology was exceptional. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were on the 48th floor and had a great view of the city. the floor to ceiling windows may not sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckenziel3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Mckenziel3327, thank you very much for commenting on your recent experience at our magnificent Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. We are more than happy to know that we were able to rock your stay. We hope to see you soon so we can roll out the Red Carpet to you again! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, spacious rooms, with all of the amenities you could want. The view from our room was fabulous on the 43 floor. The breakfast buffet had everything you could possibly want as well. Smiling, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Tybeeite,

Thank you so much for sharing your rocking experience while staying with our Hard Rock Band at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We take pride in extending a positive guest experience and level of service.

I very much appreciate your comments regarding our gastronomy and our amazing staff.

Please, feel free to find a message attached to your inbox from us!

Best regards,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny Southern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for several days as part of a business trip - my husband was working and I tagged along on vacation.

The hotel is fairly new (one employee told us it has been open about a year and a half), but has been around long enough that it should be past most of its growing pains. Sadly, though, the growing pains (or something) are still painfully obvious.

The good parts:

Our room was big and had a great view (38th floor).

The pool was nice.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety, and the food was tasty.

The nachos at the pool bar were great, and the house cabernet was better than average (IMO) for a house wine.

The band in the inside bar on the second floor – I think it was called the Stage Bar.

The music memorabilia scattered throughout the hotel.

The not-so-good parts:

The elevators (as everyone else has mentioned) usually took more than 5 minutes, and a few times took 10 – 15 minutes to arrive. Just awful – there has to be better software to handle the elevator scheduling.

The tiny tiny closet in the big room – what were they thinking? Not enough room for even one person’s clothes. We had brought a bunch of our own hangers inside our dress clothes for my husband’s conference and events, so we set up the ironing board in the corner and hung our shirts and casual clothes all around the edges of that. But, the closet itself was just totally inadequate.

The service – I almost hate to say this, because everyone seemed to be trying to be really nice. But, the service was generally slow and iffy. We were traveling with a native Spanish speaker, so it wasn’t language issues. We’d order drinks at the pool bar; about half the time they would arrive after a long wait, about half the time they would never arrive. My husband and I sleep at different temperatures, so we usually ask for an extra blanket so I can be warmer. The first night the extra blanket arrived quickly, however the next day when we came back to our room after it had been made up, the blanket was gone. Once again, what was someone thinking – if we wanted an extra blanket the first night, we probably were going to want it for our whole stay. The second time, we waited and waited for the blanket, and finally gave up. It eventually arrived while we were out for drinks, and after that, we hid it each morning in a dresser drawer, so it wouldn’t disappear again. People seemed to want to give good service, but seemed as if they just couldn’t figure it out – some training might be in order!

The decidedly NOT rock music at the pool bar. Mostly there was loud dance music playing at the pool bar - IMO dance music is great in a club or disco, but not at a pool bar.

Overall, it was an okay experience, but I doubt I’d return unless there was a reason, such as in this case, when it was the hotel for a conference.

One tip: the white taxis that pick you up from in front of the hotel are VERY expensive. Walk through the shopping mall that abuts the hotel, and pick up a yellow taxi from the taxi stand on the other side of the mall – it will be about 1/3 to 1/4 the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear sufue, we’re thankful for the honest feedback you’ve given us on your recent stay with us. We were pained to read that you had a poor experience in our hotel which is not usual from us. Rest assured that your comments were taken to heart and we’ll be sure to improve our services. We hope that you’ll present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that you can experience the excellent service that we’re known for. LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Massive hotel, just built, so you will that just new felling and new materials (granite, flat screens, wood) on your rooms. That being said you should not have a problem with your rooms.

Breakfast is was good, with a variety of options. Careful when leaving to reserve food, they will remove your dirty plate and sit someone else on the spot. There was high traffic but i found this waiters to be rude.

Hotel is a lot of fun, very hip, with memorabilia, nice posters and furniture extc. So if going to Panama for pleasure this is definitively your place to be. I went for business and I consider myself young and dynamic so the ambiance did not affect me, but I can see how this may be tiresome for some people.

I stayed at the 39th floor and had a magnificent priceless view to the bay. Hotel needs to improve a lot in its service, but then again this is kind of typical Panama. Elevators are a disaster, they all go to the 60something floors and take for ever (5 - 8 min wait) to get to were you want to go. I actually miss a meeting time with colleagues and had to take a independent taxi..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmontys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear jcmontys, we apologize for any inconvenience encountered and that your vacation wasn’t as you expected. We want to let you know that we work very hard in the training and supervision of all of our Hard Rockers and we’ve taken this matter very seriously since we want our valued guests to feel comfortable and happy at all times. We hope to see you soon so we can show you the improvements that we’ve made. ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

YES it is AMAZING. From the bottom up to the top, where on 62nd floor you can find huge terrace with amazing city view - this place in one of my favourite. I have known the whole idea of Hard Rock brand before (and I'm not a big fan of Super Stars clothes hanging on the walls around), but come on, the duvet and pillows covers embroidered with tiny guitars? I love this kind of details. Interior design, bars, restaurants, drinks, food, atmosphere - all is well done, elegant, I would even say - sophisticated, and very modern. You will feel like a celebrity here.

If you need to go anywhere outside (the property is connected with huge shopping mall, so you can easily spend few days around the hotel) do not ask for a cab in the lobby - they will overcharged you with astronomical price. It's safe, easy and much cheaper to catch a yellow taxi on the street, all you need to do is just walk 50 meters off the hotel. Also using the elevators is a bit tricky, but you will work it out somehow :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Kaja C,

Our Hard Rock Band is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our Hard Rock Decor, 62nd floor and gastronomy! We strive to bring the best experiences to our amazing guests, who we believe are true Rock Stars!

We cannot wait until you comeback to Panama and stay with us again. We want to entertain you and pamper you!

Best regards,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everyone had a don't care attitude. Drinks ($20 per day included with rate) were inconsistent. Complaints were met with no desire to make it right. Has to insist for replacement. Would not recommend as I'm sure there are better trained staff at the many very nice hotels in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandtravelingtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMegapolisPA, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Retiredandtravelingtoo, thank you very much for your frank feedback and for letting us know about your experience with us. We always strive to create lasting relationships with our Rock Stars and are committed to providing the highest level of service each one of our Rock Stars deserves. We hope that you’ll be able to give us the opportunity to show you that we can truly Rock your world and turn that frown upside down! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Address: Avenida Balboa con Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Latin America's hottest destinations just got even hotter. In the heart of Panama you will find the spectacular Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis. This breath taking sixty-six story tower invites you to come and experience where rock star service meets urban chic design - all infused with the passion and irreverence of rock 'n' roll.Located just a few miles from the Panama Canal, this Hard Rock Hotel puts you center stage with breathtaking panoramic views of the city and the Panama Bay.Live like a true rock star in one of our 1453 stylish rooms and suites, then come experience our five exciting bars and four tantalizing restaurants, Ciao, Tauro, Soy, Bazaar. Relax in our Rock Spa(R) or soak in the sun at our infinity pool cabanas.Want more? The hotel is just steps away from MultiCentro Mall and Majestic Casino, offering amazing shopping, restaurants, bars, convention center, and movie theater.The show is about start...Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing