We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beer in Panama City”
Review of La Rana Dorada

La Rana Dorada
Ranked #11 of 1,015 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best beer in Panama City”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

As a home brewer, I like to think I know something about beer.
I highly recommend you give one of their locations a try. For the price conscious,go to their happy hour for fill pint servings at a two for one price. That's half gallon of beer for about $5.
I like the porter,5%, 30 IBU and the German style pils, fermented 30 days, 5%, 21 IBU best, but all 4 are worthwhile.
If you go to the location near Casco Antiguo take a cab as there is no parking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    196
    41
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beers and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved the beer but only two were available on our visit. The Pilsner and the Belgian, and both were very well done. The staff was lean on english but was very helpful. The pizza was better than I thought it would be. The best was that happy hour extended to 6pm. Two for one pints!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jtoakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub, great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A great mix of locals and expats. Fabulously decorated - a real pub feel. Food is decent, but a little pricey. Drinks are pricey, but the happy hour makes for good value drinking. I think they need more wait staff during busy times. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice pub”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Way over priced! $5.00+ for a beer. It's a good thing we went during happy hour. The food that others ordered looked good. Would go back for their "beer tour" at the Casco Viejo location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank klw4307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“vegetarian in Panama”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you know Central America, you know that there isn't a word for 'vegetarian'. So it is really unfair for me to review the food of a pub. So i'm not going to. I had the nachos--nothing to write home about. But the 2 brews that I had were. Quite good. Blond and Porter were to only 2 available this weekend. Had 3 others on the menu not not ready, i guess. Not much English here, as in the rest of Panama, but a fair number of English-speakers drinking here. Happy Hour until 6 pm with 2-1 until then. Pints and half-pints. Basketball on the TVs.
We went to the Via Argentina one. There are 2 others. Look at the web site: laranadorada.com

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpnegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rana Dorada also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to La Rana Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing