We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, great show”

Restaurante Las Tinajas
Ranked #32 of 1,017 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Want to learn about Panamanian culture by way of cuisine and dance? A stop at Tinajas not only offers authentic and classic Panamanian dishes in an old colonial house setting, but also costumed folkloric and dance performances. Catch these shows at 9 p.m. on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average food, great show”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had been to a few other panamanian restaurants before heading to Las Tinajas, and the food wasn't as great. The one thing that sets Las Tinajas apart is the dance show, and it's worth a visit for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corbosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    155
    68
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great show and entertainment”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently took my family to the Tinajas restaurant. We did our reservations a month in advanced, as I wanted to have a good table and close the stage. The food was very good, and the show was excellent. My kids had so much fun, that a week after they were dress pretending to the be the dancers, and the band players. I trully recommend this place, for a great Panamanian evening, and order the Guacho de Mariscos! We sat next to the stage, and it was a great place to enjoy the evening show.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great night of entertainment!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

For anyone that's been to Hawaii, this was much like a luau, Panamanian style! As I was traveling solo, was pleasantly surprised that my table was right off the side of stage, which gave me an awesome, comfortable view!

Enjoyed the Ropa Vieja and was really impressed by the dancers, beautiful costumes, and amazing musicians! All in all, a wonderfully entertaining night, and definitely a must visit for first-time visitors to Panama City.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mapes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome comida and sow”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great Ropa Vieja while enjoying the folklore sounds and dance of Panama. Great Ambiance and the staff was fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome traditional dance”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

i had a great time going there to dinner and let me tell you the traditional dance show worths every penny, you will get a good taste of the panama culture. The food was ok is not the best but fairly good. The show was awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Tinajas also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Las Tinajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing