We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantalo Kitchen

Tantalo Kitchen
Ranked #12 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great Tapas food and friendly staff. The service is great and the atmosphere is awesome. Get there early or be prepared to wait. Reservations are recommended.

Best view in Casco Viejo.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    495
    141
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went for Panama for vacation and my friends insisted that Tantalo is one of the best places in Panama to go. The food was just average, but the view from the roof compensates it. After our meal, we went up for some drinks and we enjoyed it very much. The view from the roof is just amazing and breathtaking. Just be aware that in order to have a table the server asked us $250 for a bottle, we were all having different drinks, so it was not convenient for us to buy a bottle.... Almost, all the tables were empty since it was early, I was a little disappointed that we had to stand up while the tables were empty for almost an hour. Still recommend the place to have some drinks while having a wonderful view of the city!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Juice or cocktail?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Tantalo has a great atmosphere, trendy decor and cozy lights. View from rooftop bar is hard to beat. Unfortunately food is average to poor and the cocktails are sugary and without a trace of liquor it seems. Stick to beer and simple dishes and enjoy the rooftop!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MajaP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just came back from 2 days in Panama City. I flew in randomly, with no plans and no knowledge whatsoever of Panama City. I was lucky to stumble in on Tantalo Kitchen for lunch on my first day -- and came back again the second day. The pork sliders are out-of-this-world good. As in, I've been to 90+ countries and these were best pork sliders I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunny108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Shared several plates and enjoyed a few of their fabulous cocktails. After dinner we went up to the rooftop bar and took in the beautiful view of the night skyline. Service was great and all drinks and meals came out quickly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bill2ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalo Kitchen also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Tantalo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing