We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Restaurant in the Old Town”
Review of Tantalo Kitchen

Tantalo Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 1,005 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern Restaurant in the Old Town”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

They have an eclectic menu with something for everyone. Portion sizes are not huge, but the food was excellent. The service was the best we had during our 4 days in Panama. It can be a little tricky to get to if you are not staying near the old town. Don't let that stop you. They are supposed to have a great rooftop bar. We didn't make it up there, but wish we had.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plane_trip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    528
    150
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Casco Viejo”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

So I came by this restaurant walking through the beauties of Casco Viejo and decided we could give it a go. We waited around 5 minutes for us to be sitted. After that the service was very good overall with the waiter making great recommendations. The enviroment is great and the bathrooms are clean. The food was AMAZING! The mac and cheese was delicious. Prices were decent. Overall a great restaurant with great food, service, and enviroment.

Helpful?
Thank Salomon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great roof top bar”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing dinner and drinks at the roof top bar, and were not disappointed. The food and drinks were good, and the views were gorgeous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shellsea05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the City”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The ambiance and food in this restaurant is fabulous. We chose most of the dishes and not one disappointed. You must try the ceviche!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nilou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“trendy and delicious”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had no idea where we were going fell out of a taxi and into here as we were hungry. Turned out to be great decision. Great cocktails, delicious and generous tapas portions. Friendly waiter and great barman. Cool and trendy atmosphere, great chef. Modern inside despite being in the old town. Only ate downstairs but heard they have a great roof terrace as well. Hoping to go back before we leave. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalo Kitchen also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Tantalo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing