We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service... fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantalo Kitchen

Tantalo Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service... fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in Casco Viejo and I was really ill. I stopped into this place for directions and Raphael was soo helpful pointing us in the way to find medicine. He offered me free water and a chance to relax for a moment. I was so impressed with his genuine kindness. We decided to come back for dinner and what a good choice. This place is beautifully decorated and a real treat. The food was the best we ate in Panama and all the staff were lovely. This place is a gem. Try the mac n cheese con camarones. It's freaking AWESOME

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    495
    141
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went here for my 30th Bday and we loved it!! great Food, great people, 10 out of 10. From the art to the staff you cant go wrong.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience & amicable staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Tantalo since it opened, and have always had a good time. But, I recently held a work dinner there- very last minute for 15 people. Rafael & Ricky were super accommodating with the reservation, and did a great job on selecting the right dishes for a pretty diverse group (composed of vegetarians, vegans, non-fish eaters, and regular joes from the US/Panama/Mexico). Our drinks were never empty and we all left having really enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful?
1 Thank LCJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“DRINKS ON THE ROOF AND TAPAS DOWNSTAIRS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

On our first night in Panama City four of us wandered around Casco Viejo,worked up an appetite and dropped in to Tantalo. We first went up to the roof (there is an elevator) and enjoyed cocktails and a very beautiful sunset. Our service was very friendly. Then we went downstairs to the restaurant and were immediately seated. We ordered six tapas dishes for the four of us to share -turned out to be just right. Everything was very tasty - octopus very tender. The civiche was delicious. Our waiter Raphael was very knowledgeable - he lived in Miami for 30 years so we didn't need to practice our Spanish. We had a fun evening and liked all of our food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kerwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An unexpected, delicious culinary experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I were going to Casco Viejo to roam the streets. Our taxi driver dropped us out in front of Tantalo and recommended their food. Having no expectations, we were pleasantly surprised. We started with a trio of ceviches, all in a mayo-based sauce with various herbs, peppers, and even curry spices. Although I love traditional ceviche, this was delicious.
For lunch we shared the cuban pulled pork sandwiches - another unique twist on the traditional. The pork was marinated and moist, yet without the typical slathering of bbq sauce. Rather, this pulled pork was set on top something similar to a massa cake, with a drizzle of chipotle aioli on top. Delicious! The deep fried corn/massa cake gave it the sweet southern taste the rounded out all the flavors perfectly.
We returned in the evening to enjoy the rooftop bar, watch fireworks, and drink mojitos. Great restaurant, excellent English speaking staff, affordable, and great atmosphere!.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalo Kitchen also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Tantalo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing