We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during our vacation to Panama. While researching the property, I was a bit worried based on some of the negative reviews the place was receiving, however my husband and I were both thoroughly pleased with the room, the staff, and the amenities.

Location: Great location in the heart of the banking district. There are several restaurants and nightclubs in the areas. The streets are dark, but seemed safe (just be smart and use common sense when walking around at night). We were on the 17th floor and didn't have any issues with sound filtering into the room. As strict vegetarians, we found the restaurants in the vicinity to be fairly underwhelming.

Check In: We arrived from the airport via taxi and were greeted warmly by the doormen. The ladies at the counter very promptly and expediently checked us in. We were also given complimentary bottled water while we waited. During this process, we were recognized as being Hilton Honors members, greeted by our personal concierge, and escorted to our room. In all fairness, we never used the personal concierge during our stay and cannot speak to that aspect in great detail. The doormen were by far the friendliest and most helpful staff,

Room: We found the room to be very spacious for the two of us (king deluxe, non smoking). It also was very clean and we happened to have a great view of the Pacific Ocean where we could see the ships waiting to enter the canal. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom shower was amazing. The Ferragamo toiletries were impressive but the quality of the shampoo/conditioner is similar to any other hotel toiletry (not the best). The Samsung LCD TVs are a nice touch and easy to connect to via HDMI.

WiFi: We had in-room wifi and were very pleased with the speed and connectivity. Other reviewers commented that the in-room wifi was disappointing; we didn't have any issues with it.

Pool: Not the greatest. But not a big deal for us. It's on the 7th or 8th floor and currently has a nice view of the ocean...this is likely to change as it appears that a new building will be constructed in front of it. It still proved to be a great area to relax & lounge and watch World Cup games.

Breakfast: We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning. Very friendly staff. Great selection of food and the buffet options were different every day. They had a nice selection of breads, muffins, pastries, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt, as well as eggs, pancakes/french toast, hash browns. They also had an omelette station. Pretty impressive spread of food to start your day. Breakfast was from 630 am to (I think) 1030 am.

Shuttle: We typically walked a couple blocks and then hailed a yellow taxi to wherever we needed to go; there were an abundance of taxis in the banking district. Our flight out of Panama was late at night, so we booked the hotel's taxi for $40 from the hotel to the airport; we had no issues with this at all. The fee was tacked on to our room charge. But again, because our flight was at 2 am, we felt that this was the best option for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prizzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear prizzle12,
It is great to read such detailed comments. We really value our guests’ comments and we work hard to give each of you the best personalized service we can provide - our own True Waldorf Service. We are glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and room features as well as the local vicinity in this vibrant part of Panama City.
We look forward to seeing you again and making your visit even more memorable. Please consider this your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    301
    105
    46
    41
See reviews for
217
405
74
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staying at a luxury hotel is usually a treat, especially at this one. From the moment you arrive, you are the most important person, the customer-focus is exceptional at all points of contact with the staff and management. The rooms are spacious, well decorated in a contemporary setting, with all the amenities a modern traveler is looking for. The pool, spa and fitness center are no less impressive. The restaurant is equally well managed with a diverse menu for breakfast and lunch (did not experience dinner). The astounding fact is exceptional value at a reasonable price. Our party of four was greatly impressed and we shall return.

Room Tip: Ocean front allows a great view of all ships queued up for entry into the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Carl0999,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Panama City and for allowing us to provide you with a home away from home. It is our goal to meet our guests needs, and we are so glad you were thoroughly satisfied with your accommodations and the great amenities we are so proud of. We invite you to visit us again on your next trip to the city so we can help you create more wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I arrived at this hotel late on a Friday night.... NOT to worry as it was of no consequence. I was treated like a king for 26 exciting and glorious days. A car was waiting for my departure and I made it to the airport in comfort and in excellent time. I had a slight challenge w/a sink over run in my room and instead of it becoming an embarrassment it fast became and wonderful enhancement. The staff moved me, patted me on the back and just smiled.

The hotel also raised the bar with their many eating establishments. The BRIO BRASERRIE, my favorite was all about good food and being catered too. I live the Hilton brand and can easily assure that no one will ever beat the overall experience of this hotel and its exciting staff.

Room Tip: If you are like me and enjoy a short walk to other restaurants, clubs and a deli.... it is all right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeMon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear TreeMon1,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. It is wonderful to know our first-class service has impacted your stay in the way it was intended. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and continue to offer you our first-rate service. We hope to see you again and cater to your needs at the highest standards of service that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I look to the Hilton Brand for excellent service and exceptional values. However, the staff at the W-A Panama and the property itself utterly exceeded my expectations.

The account manager assigned to assist in organizing the HD Supply Waterworks event hosting ten vendors and sixty high-level members of the local municipal waterworks, contractor and private developer marketplace understood my needs and objectives in seeing to it that almost every detail associated with this three-day event was executed to perfection.

More than simply following instructions, the aptitude for creative problem solving demonstrated across the board distinguishes this venue within a very competitive pool. From opening one of the restaurants on property that is otherwise closed for service at lunch in order to host an exquisite buffet for seventy guests, to enlisting the pastry chef's services in the creation of incredible gifts for our VIPs, not enough can be said about the experience.

The staff, the accommodations, the views, the service, the value will bring us back on both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Book an Ocean-view Suite if the opportunity permits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HF1clTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear HF1clTS,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with details about your stay and your three-day event. It is great to hear that you really liked our property and we are glad we have left a great impression on you.
Our primary goal is to offer great service levels and we are glad to hear that all your needs were taken care of. We would love to welcome you back soon and create more wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We always try to spend at least one night in a luxury hotel on any trip we take. The Waldorf is in a great location and the service is attentive. The bell service was outstanding! The courtesy car was a great perk.

Room Tip: We selected a room on the upper floor facing the bay. The City has pretty noisy traffic and street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Timothy H,
Thank you for your comments. It is good to know you were able to experience good and friendly service during your time at the hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Please don't hesitate to contact us about your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the Astoria for the past 6 days and I can't thank the staff enough for the great service! You want anything at breakfast Valario has it for you. We wanted a pizza while watching the World Cup so we asked the manager Sylvestre were we could go - he said they would make us one( btw its not on the menu) it was great! The hotel itself is not on main street but short walk to restaurants or short cab ride. Pool is a bit small and view is very disappointing because of hotel location ( tucked behind buildings with very small ocean viewing area looking into run down apartment) the staff certainly make up for that. Rooms are nice and big with all the standard amenities you would expect. Gym was very well equipped but too hot. Pool area has many lounging choices with large screen TVs. Private car service available at hotel is great for some trips but can be very pricy for others. Benefit is if you ever forgot something in yellow taxi you will most likely never see it again but hotel car will bring back to hotel also very clean cars. The service here is hard yo find in Panama they really work hard to provide whatever you need!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcass62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear mcass62,
It is our ongoing wish that all of our guests take the time like you to write a few lines about our accommodations and service. Each and every comment is well received and we promise you to better ourselves every day. It is good to know we were able to deliver you a memorable experience. Our main goal is to provide this level of service to each and every one of our guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future so once again you can experience our True Waldorf Service. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had the opportunity of staying at this hotel during a family vacation. Others chose to stay at a more bargain priced hotel, but when compared to the experience that I got - this hotel was definitely grate value for money. Everything was perfect, the porters were extremely helpful arranging transportation and giving suggestions. The concierge (Luis) was fantastic. We sat and discussed my plans and he made everything happen and even added in a few extras. On one occasion I had a visitor while I was having breakfast and the waiter volunteered to go and welcome my guest and escort them to my table - fantastic. Truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Audie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Audie D,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama while you were away from home. We take each of your comments with great joy and satisfaction. Our main focus is to provide a great level of service and to do so, we offer an intensive training to all our Team Members. Our main goal will always be to create memorable experiences each and every day.
Please remember there is a new place for you to stay when visiting Panama in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 113 in Panama City
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 113 in Panama City
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 113 in Panama City
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing