We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I usually travel extensively to Panama for conventions and meetings. I have tried several "luxury" hotels but for once I felt at home visiting Waldorf Astoria. The hotel standards exceed any other property in Panama. But the deal whas the incredible Staff. I travel around the world at least 6 times a year and his staff made ​​my trip unforgettable. I want to thank Ruben front desk guy for so good recommendations at all times. Also congratulate their lobby ambassadors for being so kind.

Thanks for such an excellent stay. ill be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear juls C,
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff; we will inform Ruben immediately about your kind words. We are very glad we made you feel at home and that we exceeded your expectations.Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama and we hope you come by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

I booked this hotel to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. She was grinning from ear to ear. She has memories that will last a life time. The staff really went out of their way to make this stay memorable. The accommodations were impeccable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank 512claudettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear 512claudettem,
Thank you very much for your lovely words, they really mean a lot. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. The Waldorf Astoria Panama team wishes your mother a very Happy Birthday!! We hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Over a three-week visit to Panama, my wife and I stayed at the new Waldorf Astoria three times in three different rooms: five nights at the start of the visit, one night while traveling between other parts of the country, and two nights before returning home. All three rooms had the same high level of design, same earth tones, same floor-to-ceiling windows, same beds, same Salvatore Ferragamo toiletries and, oddly, the same art work.
The hotel, a Hilton property with 146 rooms and condos in an international, vaguely Deco design, is a block from the Pacific waterfront and in the Calle Uruguay restaurant and nightclub district. Compared to some of this city's other new hotels, the Waldorf doesn't have much impact at street level; you could walk by without noticing it. Enter it, though, and you’ll find a large, modern and elegant lobby. There's a small bar at one end, the registration desk at the other, with sitting areas and a sea of marble and granite flooring in between. A concierge desk is in an alcove, and a small business center is hidden down a corridor.
A spa and a pleasant outdoor pool share what may be the sixth floor (the elevators don’t show a floor number); the pool is large enough for swimming laps. Ginger, a stylish bar with well-made cocktails, is on the seventh floor, and the restaurant Brio – site of an $18 daily breakfast buffet – is on the eighth. Guest rooms begin on the ninth floor.
In a nutshell, it’s a beautiful hotel with an eager-to-please but poorly trained staff. Service is not what it should be at a Waldorf.
Our first room, 1408, had a partial ocean view – through a block of apartment towers. Work on the foundation of another building promises to fill that gap soon. The room itself was lovely – a great king-size bed, plush linens, a glass-topped desk, bathrobes, slippers and a stone-tiled two-sink bathroom with a large rainfall shower. We paid $174.90 a day for this room, including taxes. In-room wi-fi would have added another $12 a day.
Our relationship with the hotel, the only Waldorf Astoria in Latin America, got off to a bad start. Before arriving, my wife emailed the concierge asking for recommendations for nearby restaurants for our first evening there, which was New Year's Eve. The response referred only to the hotel's own expensive packages. Upon arrival, we were told that every restaurant in the Calle Uruguay neighborhood was booked full. Uninterested in the hotel's all-you-can-drink special, we struck out on our own and were immediately seated as walk-ins at La Posta, one of Panama City's most venerated restaurants and less than three blocks from the hotel.
A concierge let us down again on New Year's Day, assuring us that morning that the city fish market and its restaurant would be open without calling to check. It was closed – and we had walked over an hour to reach it in oppressive heat and humidity. A restaurateur later told us that almost all hotels and restaurants are understaffed during holiday periods because Panama labor laws mandate high holiday pay rates. The short staffing – phone calls to our “personal assistant” and to the concierge desk went unanswered – was particularly unfortunate because the hotel seemed to be full, the hallways and the pool deck filled with people from all over Latin America and Europe
The concierge wasn’t the only disappointment. A room-service breakfast was ordered at 9 one morning and promised within a half hour. The two poached eggs, bacon, hash browns, coffee, orange juice, yogurt, fruit and a basket of pastries arrived 15 minutes later; amazingly, the eggs, bacon and hash browns were all stone cold. The menu price was $18, but taxes and a small gratuity pushed it close to $22.
Housekeeping also had problems – some days there were face cloths, turn-down service, nighttime chocolates and new personal-size bottles of mineral water. Some days there weren’t. In the business center, the two computers did not always have Internet access and didn’t always communicate with the printer.
Our second stay landed us in Room 2606, one of the hotel's condo units. This was a pretty substantial upgrade, perhaps in reaction to complaints about service from my wife, a Hilton Honors program member. This room had a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, a dining table, a curved leather sofa and a view of freighters moored in Panama Bay. The apartment buildings that had hemmed in our 14th-floor view did not affect our 26th floor view. The bath in this unit had a window in the shower through which one could watch one of the two TVs or look out through the living area to the ocean view. It had only one sink, but the toiletries came in larger bottles. In our other two rooms, the bottled water was Evian; here it was Fiji. We paid $196.90 for this room.
Our third and final stay was in Room 1402 ($196.90 again) , and this time we had no complaint about the staff, which quickly found us an English-speaking physician when my wife fell ill. (An efficient examination and a couple of prescriptions put her on the road to being well enough to fly home.) This room was similar to but smaller than 1408; the bath had only one sink and there were no slippers. Also, the room was not on the ocean side. Instead, it looked out over the Calle Uruguay neighborhood – a view that we found more interesting than the Pacific Ocean. We could see the tree-shaded La Posta restaurant where we had celebrated New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylandtravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear marylandtravel007,
Thank you very much for notifying us on what needs improvement. In our next faculty meeting we will address the issues that you mentioned so that they can be fixed immediately. We are disappointed that your stays here wasn’t the most enjoyable. Hopefully if you come back, we can make it up to you. Thank you for the nice comments you left and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is excellent. It is a Waldorf Astoria! I like the level of service, everybody was very friendly from the very first moment we arrived. A little problem we experienced int he airport was with the shuttle. We have to await there for around one hour, at the en they sent a cab for us. That was not a good beginning. The Lobby is very modern and actually the whole hotel is brand new. We got a beautiful room. The facilities of the hotel are excellent, with a very nice Gym, a gorgeous Pool located -If I am right- in the 7th or 8th floor. Lockers include steam and Sauna. The breakfast was included in our rate and we certainly love it. The restaurant is beautiful and there were many healthy selections. The hotel is well located in relationship to easy access to everything. Close to supermarkets, shopping centers, restaurants and all the action. The beach is just to blocks away, but that is the only serious problem I see: Why to built this beautiful hotel there and not in front of the beach where all the other luxury hotels are? the view from the high floors is nice but not from the room we were. We faced directly an ugly building in front of us. This is one of the best hotels in Panama City, if the hotel would have been built facing directly the sea I am sure this would be considered with no doubts the best. Still is a wonderful hotel and I will not hesitate to go back. It is a great value, probably one of the most affordable Waldorf Astorias I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor, I am sure you want to have to view of the sea and not the ugly build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear traveladept1,
Thank you for all your positive comments. Great service, luxury amenities, and first class accommodations are three things we are most proud of, and we are excited you were able to enjoy these. We will follow up on the transportation situation so that it does not happen again in the future. Next time we will try to accommodate you with a room that faces the ocean. We hope you’ll have the chance to visit us again soon, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very chick, nice suites, excellent breakfast, I stayed just one night and it is more that enough to describe in short words the high quality of this hotel, I had a room with a nice view, amenities of high quality. Personalized breakfast (that's how I felt).lovely

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Raymond C,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to Panama City and the Waldorf Astoria Panama. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great experience.
We look forward to being able to host you again during your next trip and continue to offer you great service and unforgettable memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Great accommodations, service, friendly staff and good food. Good view of city. Room clean but no hot water. They had to have maintenance repair the shower. They fixed it promptly. Great taxi service and tour guide. Same price as hop on hop off bus. His name is Alex Ayarza. Speaks good English and very knowledgeable. His phone number is 6111-6465. Use his services. Very reasonable!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear raymond c,
Thank you for the nice review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding, the inconvenience we are glad to know that our maintenance staff was able to fix the problem efficiently. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We'd reserved a duplex 2 bedroom penthouse suite several months before our trip. A couple of days before we were to arrive I received a phone call explaining that there'd been a leak and if the suite was uninhabitable upon our arrival we would get 2-1 bedroom suites instead, free internet and breakfast. Fair enough. Things happen in the hotel business that are unavoidable.
When we arrived and checked in we were shown to the 2 bedroom suite with no explanation of anything. The first floor of the suite was nicely appointed with great views of Panama Bay. The master bedroom was also nice and spacious with a great view. Here's the kicker-the second bedroom had NO windows, no door on the bathroom, and from the bed there was a fabulous view of the toilet. Design flaw?
The shower in that room didn't work and we had to call to have it repaired.
The a/c in our master bath made a horrific noise that also had to be repaired.
There is no tourist information in English.
Most of the staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful, though, which is why I am not giving 2 stars.
During 1 day of our stay we arrived back at the room at 3:30 to find the room had not been cleaned. After calling, the housekeeper came in about 1/2 an hour later with a squirt bottle and dirty rag. When I asked her to change the sheets, she told me no, "manana". Huh?
There is a large jacuzzi on the terrace of the suite which wasn't working. And I couldn't help wondering why on a large terrace to a 2 bedroom suite there were 2 lounge chairs and nothing more.
There are certainly not" first class amenities and unrivaled opulence" as their web page states.
The pool is unattractive and there are barely enough towels to go around. There are no towels or water in the gym.
This hotel gives The Waldorf a very bad name!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear laura s,
We appreciate your feedback. The maintenance department will be informed about the inconveniences you had during your last visit, so that it does not occur again in the future. Normally there is tourist information in both English and Spanish; however there might have been a distributing mistake that day. We will mention to our staff what you wrote so that we can better our service. It is good to know you were able to experience good and friendly service during your time at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments and we hope the next time you stay will be a pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 115 in Panama City
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $120 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and steps away from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel features 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms can accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing