We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Have Been Great Except For Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Riddle me this Waldorf Astoria, what kind of housekeeping has time to stop and take the money I left on the night stand and NOT do anything to service the room? Didn't empty the trash, didn't make the bed, didn't restock the coffee. Nada. Nothing. Just took the money. Guess they don't care about getting any tip for my remaining three nights. Unbelievable. Up to now I really liked the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ChicagoanTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear ChicagoanTravelling,
We are so sorry about all the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We would like to communicate with you directly so that we can be better informed and thus better our service. I would really appreciate if you could provide me with your e-mail and/or contact number. My email, if you´d rather email me directly is: mariav.barrios@waldorfastoria.com

Best Regards.

María Victoria Barrios
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, and good value. New rooms very nicely decorated and designed, comfortable, good bath.
The service @ front desk is wonderful.
The bad part:
Small, uninspired breakfast; not 5* at all. No vegetables at all (maybe a panamanian thing). Nice service @ at breakfast though. We tried their restaurant one evening and it was awful. Although alone - the service was ssssslllllooooowwww. So slow that my daughter couldn't bear it anymore and went to sleep. Then wrong dishes that tasted bad. Dont go to the restaurant. DO go to the hotel.
Oh, and another bad thing - one day they closed the pool for an event; this was anoying as we planed to spend the afternoon in the pool, and had to change plans.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Lord_Jade,
Thank you for the nice remarks and for recommending us. However, we apologize for the inconveniences at the restaurant. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the meals. It is not common that we get negative feedback about our food. But thank you for your comments. We will definitely follow up on that. Due to the event we are saddened that you could not enjoy the day at the pool as planned. We would love for you to come back and try it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My group of friends and I booked our stay at the Waldorf Astoria through Orbitz.com. The room was paid in full prior to check in. After a long day of touring Panama City we returned to the hotel (10pm) and was hit with a big surprise! We were locked out of our room. We went down to the front desk to obtain a new key. We entered the room to see a letter at the door entrance. The letter was in spanish (we are english speaking americans) the only word i knew was RETENCION; which i gathered means RETENTION! After 10 minutes we recieved a call from the front desk stating the credit card i had given to the hotel was declined. The credit card that was given was only fro INCIDENTALS and should NOT have been charged. He then told me we arranged for transportation and we need to pay for that service. We did NOT arrange for transportation. We rented a car for our stay. The front desk supervisor demanded we pay immediately. I told him we will not discuss this at 10pm. Long story short... this was the worst hotel experience. How could a hotel lock their guest out the room for an erroneous non payment issue!? I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, when i returned back to the states my credit card company advised the waldorf astoria attempted to charge my credit card 5 different times between 2 days total $825! I called to make a complaint Wednesday 4/22/14 and it is 4/25/14 i'm still awaiting a call back from the general manager.

Room Tip: The pool is not the cleanest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LATOYA j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear LATOYA j,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to communicate directly with you via email and thus clarify the details of what happened and receive your suggestions. We hope we have a chance to welcome you again so that we can exceed your expectations and thus help you create better memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I just spent eight nights at the Waldorf Astoria, Panama City, Panama. As gold members we were upgraded to a wonderful suite which allowed us kitchen facilities for cooking when we were either too hot, or too tired to venture out after a day of sight-seeing. The service was always very good, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Luis for helping us to plan our days since we were not on any tours, and to give insights into hints to ease the challenges of sight-seeing in a new country. With a bit of a problem with pre-arranged airport transportion from a private company, Karla stepped in to make many calls for us and finally helped us to make alternate plans. Many restaurant staff and front desk staff were always there too to make sure we senior citizens were well taken care of. Thank you everybody even though I did not get many names. We will always remember you people in our hearts.

Room Tip: If you are a gold member, always make sure you check with them regarding an upgrade although we real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grist34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear grist34438,
Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts during your visit and allow our staff to help you create great memories while in Panama. We are most delighted that some of our staff members distingued themselves as that is our promise to our guests - great service, the Waldorf way. Your thoughts are fondly welcomed and we promise to make your next visit even better. We hope to be able to host you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

New hotel with nice big rooms. Well locted close to the best restaurants and bars. But with a BIG problem, the service is Terrible !!!! I ordered some ice for room service and I had to call 3 times, it took over an hour, the Concierge wouldn't go get a cab because he was on the phone, the sauna at the Spa didn't work, the people at the front desk didn't know what they where doing and couldn't help me at the business center, and when I told all my problems to the manager on duty she did nothing ! That was the worst part, the Manager did nothing !!! Never again there are 10 new hotel opening in Panama, so there are many options.

Room Tip: All rooms are new and big, very nice. But don't expect any good service from the staff !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear AlbertoMay,
Thank your for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your thoughts and experience will be addressed with our hotel staff, we look forward to continue to improve our service, amenities, and facilities to better serve valuable guests like yourself.
We are happy to read you enjoyed our accommodations and location.
Please don't hesitate to visit us during your next trip to the city, where our goal will be to create better memories. We appreciate you business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our stay at this hotel did not meet our expectations after reading excellent reviews. The rooms are extremely small with an awkward angular configuration and even though the hotel is supposed to be new, the rooms already show a lot of wear and tear. The decor was reminiscent of 90's Las Vegas Hotels. Customer service was below average. The receptionist and bellmen ignored us and did not give even basic directions to a restaurant nearby. The pool is very small with not much of a view from the pool area.
Be careful about asking bellmen to get a cab for you, we were going to be charged $40 for a taxi to the airport until I walked over to the corner and flagged one myself for less than half the price.
I would expect many more amenities and far superior service from a Waldorf Astoria brand. Extremely disappointing for the price, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lidia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear LSchettle,
Thank you for your thorough review and for providing us with valuable feedback. More importantly, we appreciate your feedback, which will be thoroughly reviewed by our managing staff. We look forward to continue to improve our service, amenities, and facilities to better serve valuable guests like yourself. Please don't hesitate to visit us during your next trip to the city, where our goal will be to create better memories. We appreciate you business.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a beautiful Ocean view suite. I believe it isn't on par with other 5 star establishments and would give it 4,5 as some aspects of the service are lacking.

The breakfast buffet is a bit spartan and doesn't offer the choice you will find in other 5 star hotels.

Turndown service is random/ sporadic and we only had it once.

The room service menu in a generic 4 star offers more choice and the wine list is not terribly inspiring either.

Lastly, avoid the tours offered by the hotel, e.g. Panama Canal partial transit as it is a very tedious affair including long waiting times and bus transfers... Instead get them to organise a private driver to Gamboa and board the boat there.

On a positive note the staff are a delight. Julissa and Valerio in the breakfast bistro, Luis the concierge, and the wonderful Zuleika in the pool bar were amazing. Give them pay rises now!

All in all: recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChickCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear ChickCam,
Thank your for your thoughts and comments and more importantly, for allowing us to host you during your stay in Panama. Our staff is 100% committed to our guests, and we thrive each and every day to provide True Waldorf Service to them. Your thoughts about the service will be communicated to our Restaurant and Housekeeping staff as we feel they will help them improve their service greatly. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again and continue to experience the True Waldorf Service here in vibrant Panama City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $119 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and steps away from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel features 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms can accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing