We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service in Waldorf Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
panama city, Panama
1 review
“Good Service in Waldorf Astoria”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very hospitality waiter, early check-in for diamond member. Beautiful swimming pool. Will choose this hotel in the next time. I think Panama is good place for travelling. Every one is helpful for our business. Even the driver can provide many useful advises to us. Around this hotel is easily to get to the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Ping Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Ping Z,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts. It is wonderful to read your stay was memorable and you were able to experience our personalized service.
We hope you were able to enjoy all of our amenities during your stay. We would love to welcome you back soon and create more wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    296
    102
    46
    40
See reviews for
215
394
73
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George's, Grenada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Staying at the Waldorf was very pleasant and comfortable particularly when travelling to Panama for the first time. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Michelle E,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to Panama City and the Waldorf Astoria Panama. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great experience. We look forward to being able to host you again during your next trip and continue to offer you great service and unforgettable memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel was absolutely outstanding in quality and luxury. Hotel staff was very helpful during the stay. The car service was very helpful taking us around local destination as well as the house keeping being very nice to us. I had an excellent experience in this hotel and will definitely come back to Panama anytime and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Luis P,
Thanks for becoming a loyal Waldorf Astoria Panama guest. Our True Waldorf Service guarantees each and every one of our guests a memorable stay. It is great to know we are part of your great Panama Trip memories. We anxiously await having you again, we will definitely be waiting for you here in Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife, daughter and I recently spent 2 nights at the Waldorf. Upon arrival, we were advised that they did not have any rooms with 2 beds available, which is what we had booked. I was then asked if I would mind if they upgraded us to a penthouse suite to which they would add a single bed for our daughter. That room was fabulous. Two levels with large living area. And they placed our daughter's bed next to a floor to ceiling window with a spectacular view. A truly excellent resolution to the problem. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Darryl2014,
Thank you for allowing us to provide the service you deserve in the heart of Panama City. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our services and amenities, but more importantly that your needs were fulfilled during your stay. It would be great to welcome you again during your next trip to Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff is excellent here, especially Tony. The rooms are very nice and the pool is awesome. Why the four stars instead of five... it really has to do with as one person staying at the hotel said "a lot of business going on out the front door", by this what is meant that yellow cabs will go anywhere in town for $5 or under, but they are not available at the hotel, walk to the corner and flag one. Our experience was, we took a hotel "approved" cab to a local restaurant, the trip there took about 18 minutes and was a $15 fair, on the way back we grabbed a yellow cab, the fair was $3 and it took under 4 minutes to get back to the hotel...

You are also treated less than kind by the hotel greeters at the front door if you show up in a yellow cab. As a guess coming back, we were rushed by the greeter (there were no other cabs waiting or people, so no excuse for the rush), he opened the door and said get out; we were trying to get information from the driver, so I closed the door and said one momento... he reopened the door and asked us to get out again, immediately.... Really??? this never happens if you use one of their "approved" cabs.

We also tried to use the concierge service, we discovered it was almost impossible to have them cooperate with you if didn't use their approved service providers... We tried to get a trip to San Blas and it was like $335 a person for a day trip in a vehicle... wow! The local places we went to the next day offered the same services from $60-$75 per person. That is a large difference. Our recommendation would be to not use their services, or use them carefully.

Overall a great hotel, we stayed there a full week and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 13th floor, we recommend if possible, stay above the 7th floor, the meetings are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickey-n-julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear rickey-n-julie,
Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to give you the truly best service available, and so your thoughts will be taken heavily into consideration. We hope to see you here again soon and make it an even better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very nice hotel with a gorgeous pool area. Music from pool was very loud and could be heard in our room, but they stopped it at a descent hour. The view from our room was amazing as was the room itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyV30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear TommyV30,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to Panama City. We are glad to have made your stay an enjoyable one and to have catered to all your needs. We hope we have the chance to welcome you again and to create more wonderful memories in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

In this hotels defense, I was so so excited to stay here that my expectations were incredibly high. The staff did not make the experience a good one for me, though the property itself and the location is wonderful. I received a 5:30am wake-up call that I didn't ask for and never got back to sleep. This was particularly upsetting because the Alta bar outside (I was on the 14th floor) was loud on the Friday night and I had trouble getting to sleep with the noise. I arrived early and was not able to check in so I went to the spa for a treatment. They did not honor the Hilton Honors discount because I hadn't checked in yet. Frustrating but what exacerbated my frustration was that the front desk gave me a 15% coupon off the spa when I checked in after my treatment. They were not willing to apply the discount to my service that day. :( finally, apparently I did not close my door tightly enough when I went to the room to change after my pool visit. Rather than closing the door or tapping to let me know, the housekeeping peered into the room to see my underwear-less self in shock at her visit :/ the room was breathtaking inside and the lighting is gorgeous and the pool is lovely with a partial ocean view... Just didn't meet my dream of being treated like a princess.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hidntreshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Hidntreshr,
Thank you for your feedback and for providing a thorough description of the issues you faced during your stay. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you faced during your stay. These issues will be addressed with the appropriate staff as soon as possible. Each and every comment is well received and we promise you to better ourselves every day.
It is great to hear you found the hotel surroundings and different amenities to your liking.
We would love to have you once again as a guest so you can personally experience our improvements. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing