We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name lives up to its reputation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The name lives up to its reputation!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into the Bistro Brassiere to get out of a December downpour and had a most delightful glass of wine & appetizer. The service was elegant, starting out with a selection of sliced lime, orange or grapefruit for our water glass! The waiter who reminded us of Denzel Washington, was superb. It was a memorable sfternoon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Ronacher,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to a great culinary option in the heart of Panama City. It is one of the many wonderful things we offer at the Waldorf Astoria Panama, and we are delighted we had a chance to delight you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    305
    111
    48
    41
See reviews for
223
417
75
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Waldorf Astoria Panama,

After some sailing between the San Blas islands this was just the comfort we could use. What a great and nice place. Excellent service and great chambers, The swimmingpool had a great oceanview, fantastic food and the bed were perfect. I would really recommend this place to any one with a large budget and in search of comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastiaan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sebastiaan W,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent stay to the city. Waldorf Astoria Panama has your comfort and enjoyment in mind first. We are delighted to read you were able to enjoy our rooms and facilities. We are your home away from home and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The property is pretty and go for the Ocean View Suites (huge). We were on the 26th floor. But the weirdest thing, NO outlet in the bathroom. AND no outlet anywhere near the big mirror in the foyer. So, you simply had to blow dry your hair or use any electrical device meant for the bathroom BLIND somewhere else in the suite. Had to do my hair in a corner of the bedroom with no mirror. We had ordered a car through the concierge to bring us to the Waldorf from the airport (no problems) so when we needed to go to our next destination, Shelter Bay Marina near Colon, we asked if he could arrange it. The concierge was presented with the complete address and said he could arrange a car to take us there for $90. Perfect! Except the driver had never driven a non-automatic transmission and had no idea where he was going. To say the least, Colon, Panama has a reputation for crime and the driver had us in really bad backroads yelling "Hey Goomba!" to strangers to ask how to get to Shelter Bay. We've been all over the world and to say we felt unsafe is an understatement. I finally convinced the driver to follow the GPS directions on my iPhone and we managed to get there without being killed. Also the driver immediately told us when we got in the car that the fee was $130. Showed him the receipt and then he had to get on his mobile phone with the hotel and negotiate whether or not he was going to continue his hire. Back home, I emailed the concierge and told him what had happened. NO reply. NOTHING. Needless to say, I can't recommend a property that took our safety for granted because they haven't responded to even apologize after the fact.

Room Tip: Do an Ocean View. Do not rely on the concierge for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Penny D,
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Panama City and providing us with valuable feedback. We are sorry to read about your trip to Shelter Bay. Your comments are noted and will be addressed with the appropriate staff.
We hope to have provided you with the same great hotel service customary of all Waldorf hotels and that you enjoyed our wonderful amenities. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new Hotel about 9 months. The reception staff although pleasant speak good English they are not polished. If a simple complaint was made about no newspaper being delivered after it being offered the response given was maybe somebody stole it. An offer was made to having a driver sent to get one but then never followed it through.
However the pool area is very pleasant and the staff are attentive and during the heat of the day being on a high level there is a breeze and in the shaded parts large rotating fans are on which is great.
We were on the 13th floor and there was an event going on across the street the booming and loud music went on till 4 in the morning so perhaps need to be higher than the 14th. The bathrooms are nicely done out with nice towelling bathrobes and nice products.The view from the pool is between two tower blocks and there is a gap which you can see the ships on the horizon but be aware they are filling the gap with another tower building. I did like the Hotel but don't compare it to the iconic Waldorf Astoria brand and then you will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Suzanne R.,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you. It is great to read you had chance to enjoy our wonderful facilities and amenities. Our staff is 100% committed to catering all your needs and thus provide you with the very best in service. We are sorry to hear about the newspapers that were missing. We will look further into this matter and alert our staff. We truly hope to be able to host you again during your next visit to Panama City and help you create more wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel infrastructure is very good but the service was below standard. The check-in took a long time (approximately 20 minutes). We received a hotel room different from what we had reserved resulting in one of my kids having to sleep in a sofa. The room had a large kitchen, but had no pots, dishes, cutlery and very few glasses (e.g., only two wine glasses in a room supposedly good for 5 people).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jose O,
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We will discuss your notes with our staff. Your feedback is very important to us and the bettering of our services. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family during your next visit to Panama and help you create more wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel does not to meeting the expectation or service for the brand or star rating. Let's start by check- in, we got there before noon and our room wasn't ready ( we expected this because check in is not until 3) we did the whole check in process and the agent told us she would put a priority on our room. We got back at 3:45 and our room was still not ready! We were told this after we waited 10 min when the agent went to a back office. When we were finally given a room that had a dirty toilet, a brown stain in the wall (see picture) and the bathroom counter had sticky stuff on it. I called housekeeping because there is no way we were going to wait more for another room. Housekeeping showed up fast. The maintenance of this hotel is lacking.

Most of the staff spoke English which was nice and the turn down service was good. Overall we wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Marie2000,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to the Waldorf Astoria during your recent visit to the city of Panama. We are sorry to hear about your check-in issues. Your feedback is important to us and will be addressed with our staff immediately. We hope you allow us to welcome you again during your next trip to the city and help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our third trip to Panama but first time at the Waldorf. We wanted to check out Waldorf property knowing its standard in NYC. It is just a quiet place to stay on a side street. Deluxe with king bed room is very small cost $199/night with no bath tub has a very small odd shape triangle shower and a wash basin. However, the reception fellows were very courteous and helpful. When I complained my room was changed to a bigger room but, not telling us if there would be any additional charges which only to discover at the checkout cost additional US$50.00. I felt the Hotel is lifeless. There are two odd shape bars which were always empty and restaurant had no theme. We wanted to celebrate our New Year's eve there. New Year's eve party was no party we were very disappointed. I would not visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: Request for a bigger room. Hotel location does not allow any views. Therefore, request for a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Manny A,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Panama City. It is true we are located in a quiet street in the middle of one of the busiest areas of the city, which we feel helps our guests find the peace and comfort they deserve. We are sorry about your room issues and thank you for giving us your feedback. We are continuing to grow and have exciting new things going for our guests. We invite you to visit us during your next trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 114 in Panama City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing