We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time and good staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were just there 3 days ago. I was very sick as soon as I arrived and I asked the hotel for help. They are very helpful and quick. The doctor they called was very professional. the doctor came to my room and did the check. I am very happy with our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peggystott1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Peggystott1125,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the city. We hope you are doing much better. We are specially glad that our staff helped you get through such an unexpected occurrence. Our staff undergoes regular training in order to continue to improve their service, and so it is wonderful to read they catered to all your needs. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Panama City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

The facility itself is nice, and the service was outstanding. The staff is friendly and attentive. However, I had a significant noise issue. Even though I stayed on the 14th floor, I could hear thumping from the music coming from a bar until 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning every night, and not just on the weekend. The bar is one block from the hotel at street level and called the Alta Bar. It's not part of the hotel. If you stay at this hotel, I recommend you request a room on the side of the ocean. This may help you avoid this issue. However, I'm not willing to take this chance again and will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear James J.,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay, but even more importantly, your feedback, as we know it helps us get better at serving our costumers.

It is true we are located in a part of the city, and we are sorry to read you were affected by the noise coming from one of the clubs nearby. We will address this issue with the appropriate parties and hope we can get it resolved as soon as possible. We truly hope to see you again during your next visit to Panama City and provide you with the restful sleep you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What had the beginnings of a potentially bad beginning (original room not ready at 4 pm and I was exhausted from a long day of touring) was quickly remedied and turned into a most pleasant stay by the person that checked me in (LIL). In addition to securing me a room that had a stunning view, she was very professional and welcoming in words and actions sharing her experiences living in the DC area and introducing me to the bartender's special mixing skills . It's the work of individuals like Lil that can offset some of the natural bureaucracies of a big hotel. For this reason I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Higher up with a view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear JimA1,
Great stays are often defined by small details. It is our goal to pay attention to these small details and provide our guests with the best in hotel service. It is great to read you experienced what the True Waldorf Service is all about, and our friend Lil made sure of it. We look forward to providing you with more wonderful memories during your next visit to the city. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is amazing with beautiful views if you are on the higher floors!!! The sushi bar and lounge "Ginger" is beautifully arranged. The food was okay overall. The rooms are amazing with excellent service from all employees on the property!! The pool area is beautiful except for occasional odors from the surrounding areas. I would recommend this property overall for great rooms with amazing comfortable beds with views above the 20th floor!!! This is truly a GEM not to far from the canal!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank 932kurtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
We are delighted to have welcomed you during your visit to Panama and provided the comfort you deserve. We are specially excited that you had a chance to try our wonderful amenities and found our living and dining spaces to your liking. We are your home away from home, and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Nice new rooms but did not get a 5* service we expected, from delays in the check-in process to trying to overcharge for short trips, to dirty sheets and cups in the room. The breakfast is over at 11 and there is no place to eat in the hotel or around. The staff sent us all over the hotel but nothing was working. In the end they overcharged my credit card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Cotursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Cotursa,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit to Panama and providing us with your feedback, as we feel it will help our staff get better. We are sorry for the delays in the check-in process and all other inconveniences during your stay. We will address these with our staff and review what went wrong. We truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and help you create wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel but this is not a great hotel for business or those traveling with your family and using Hilton Points.

We had started the day coming off the cruise ship, then the joy of customs and were picked up by our tour guide (great tour and guide by the way) and on Tour from 10a.m. - 6p.m.
Upon checking in at 6p.m. my room still was not available. So we had to wait in the lobby for 30 minutes with a 3yr. old that was very hyper at the time. Never Fun. I was also notified that this hotel did not have an executive lounge nor were we given coupons for free breakfast. As a diamond member those are the perks I have always looked forward to. These perks are especially helpful when traveling with your family.

Pool was Beautiful but.....the platform to clean the windows was sitting there right next to the pool for our entire stay. Kind of an eye sore and not something you would expect to see poolside at a Waldorf Astoria.

Again, this is a beautiful hotel, rooms were very big and the staff was great! They spoke very good English and were very helpful when asking for directions or suggestions for sites to visit. I just wasn't happy with the lack of Executive lounge or other amenities offered to Diamond members.
I will not stay at this hotel again on our next visit or business trip because of those very reasons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Clint M.,
Thank your for allowing us to welcome you and your family during your recent trip to the city. More importantly, we appreciate your feedback, which will be thoroughly reviewed by our managing staff. We value your business and hope to welcome you again and help create better memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at the upscale WA Panama immediately throws into perspective the issues facing this fast growing city. The street is falling apart with deep potholes, broken or non existent pavements and rubbish and litter piling up.

Then step into the lobby and you enter a different world of style and luxury.

Check-in was smooth although there was no managers greeting guests which one expects with WA. When I asked to meet the GM during my stay nothing happened.

Oliver our bellman was superb. He naturally understood a warm, professional welcome.

Room is well appointment and the bed is probably one of the most comfortable I slept in. The bath amenities are Feragamo and the bathrobes super comfy.

There is a Nespresso machine which is a very nice touch and complementary Fiji water.

Room design is good with elegant desk, chair and lamp perfect for working.

The hotel is let down by its lack of managers. Staff is left to its own devices so service is inconsistent .

The pool area lacks style. Needs potted tropical palms and some one to keep the area clean and tidy. It was scruffy and characterless and the bar often closed with lights off so unwelcoming.

Breakfast was good and again a male server offered notably good and friendly service but the rest of the team seemed disengaged. Again no manager providing guidance to staff or greetings to guests.

The hotel is new. Things are still evolving. My advice is please WA managers, get out from your back offices, meet your guests, and support your staff. It is not enough to rely on beautiful fittings and fixtures and fancy room linens. It's about how you make guests feel that counts.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Andrew F.,
It was great to welcome you during your recent visit to Panama and provided you with some wonderful memories. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us get better at serving your needs, which is our main goal.

Our property is the middle of a growing city, and we feel we are a comforting gem amidst all this. We are glad to have provided you with the much deserved comfort and great amenities we have for all our guests. We are undergoing some changes and we hope to host you again and let you experience for yourself. Come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $118 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and steps away from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel features 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms can accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing