We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean, luxury hotel with wonderful staff. Highly recommend! The breakfast is amazing and the hotel room was the most comfortable one I have ever stayed in (and I travel a ton). I could have stayed in the room forever!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Senem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Senem K,
How wonderful to hear your stay at WA Panama was the best you've ever had. We sincerely hope to see you here again during your next visit and help you achieve more comfortable and restful times.

Regards,

María Victoria Barrios C.
PR & Marketing Manager
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of Panama City. If you 've traveled to Panama you know the staff at hotels are very slow, however, the staff at the Waldorf was very helpful and prompt. This hotel is excellent, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Jorge M,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. It is wonderful to know our first-class service has impacted your stay in the way it was intended. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and continue to offer you our first-rate service.

Regards,

María Victoria Barrios C.
PR & Marketing Manager
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My first time at a Waldorf and it was very nice. The front desk updated us to a suite, which was extremely roomy and clean. We went to the spa for a massage, which was wonderful. Hotel was very close to some nice restaurants as well as Balboa which is right on the water. I guess the only complaint I would have is there is no coffee in the room. My wife and I went all over the hotel at 6:30 looking for coffee. We did finally find it in the restaurant and paid $5 per cup for black coffee. Other than that it was an extremely comfortable and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Adam P,
We are delighted to hear you're a first-time guest of the Waldorf Astoria! More importantly, it is wonderful to know that your stay was to your liking and that we were able to make it memorable.

Your comments on the coffee are noted and will be addressed with our management staff; however it is important to mentioned that we provide Nespresso coffee makers and free coffee service in all our rooms on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you again in the near future and
help you create more wonderful memories.

María Victoria Barrios C.
PR & Marketing Manager
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the hotel was everything you'd expect if what you like are five star skyscrapers with lovely rooms and good service, but unless you're there on business, do yourself a favour and stay in the Casco Viejo; the Waldorf is located in a new part of Panama City which is utterly devoid of charm and definitely not 'user friendly' if you like to explore the city on foot: no side walks to speak of, electric cables dangling from poles at head height, pot holes, plastic and neon signs everywhere... Generally, nothing to see other than tall pretentious buildings and depressing little decrepit shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IzaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear IzaBCN,
Thank you for your recent stay. We're delighted to know you’ve found everything you look for at a five-star hotel. It is true that we are located in the heart of the financial district and steps away from a variety of restaurants and shops. We completely understand your point of view; however if you travel plans bring you back to Panama City , we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

María Victoria Barrios C.
PR & Marketing Manager
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 10 day trip in Panama. Had an amazing time staying in Casco Viejo, on Isla Bastiementos and Isla Palenque! Only disappointment and a big one at that was the Waldorf Astoria! Hotel accommodations nice, location ok ( however highly recommend staying in Casco Viejo), service was not only the worst I've ever experienced in a hotel chain of this caliber, but probably the worst I've ever experienced in the countless hotels I've stayed around the world. We were traveling with another couple and attempted to check in at 5:30pm however only one of our rooms was ready despite check in being at 3:00pm and the hotel clearly not full. Hardly saw anyone else there. No apology, just asked to check back in a bit. Ok, we took this in stride, went out exploring for a bit, returned at 7pm and were initially told they had to check if it was ready yet! Luckily it was, but by this time we were all a little annoyed. Headed over to bar for a drink and met with next disappointment. Bartender had no idea how to make the drink my wife ordered off the menu. After going to our room, I decided to call front desk or concierge to rely our frustration ( something I don't think I've ever done before). Problem was called front desk and concierge 4 times and no answer! Had to go to lobby to find manager who said sorry, but initially offered nothing for troubles. Finally offered $50 credit to Ginger restaurant in hotel. As we were traveling with others ( and restaurant is very expensive for Panama) said I would get back to them after checking with our group. Surprisingly 10 mins later when I called down to speak with manager again no answer!!!! Finally had to call restaurant from outside line. To top off our Waldorf experience at check out not only had they not credited our account for dinner, they did not have the correct room rate which should have been $50 dollars cheaper. Again after 20 or 30 mins and much discussion it was fixed, but by this time we all just wanted to leave and never go back !!! Truly awful service and attitude. And if the manager decides to reply to this post has he has others by "hoping to welcome us back", save your energy because that wont happen!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tahitiexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear tahitiexplorer,

Thanks for your review and comments.

We are closely analysing each and everyone of the things you mentioned so we make sure nobody else goes through this again.

We are committed to offer the best service and unfortunately you were not able to experience that.

Although you did not want to read this, we look forward to seeing you again so we can show you that your comments were not in vain.

Regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

his was my first time in a Waldorf as I have stayed in just about every other hotel
Upon checking in with the front desk girl Candy she was great and upgraded me to a suite the room was beyond fantastic. The staff were fantastic. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Steve T,

Thanks a lot for such a nice comment.

Our main goal is to always serve our clients and guest the best way.

This type of comment is the one that let us know that we are doing the right things.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is well situated near the centre of the city and is nearly faultless, it actually seems fairly new.  The rooms are very pleasant, reasonable size, comfortable beds the breakfast is fine and the service is very good. Having said all of this the hotel feels sterile with no real atmosphere. 

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Chesterdoggerel,

We are really pleased to hear that your stay with us was a enjoyable one.

We would love to have you staying with us again soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $137 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and steps away from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel features 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms can accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing