We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Nearby Hotels
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$157
$134
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Coral Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$232
$211
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
859
355
137
58
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
355
137
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrio restaurantginger restaurantsalvatore ferragamocar serviceluxury hotelnespresso machinebeautiful hoteljunior suiteocean viewpool arearain showerturn down servicesushithe entire staffconcierge deskbreakfast buffethigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Must Do: Stay here it’s a traditional Waldorf experience and much more. Bare minimum you will enjoy luxury. The lobby was extremely clean and inviting. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty. One person even brought our delivery service pool side. Please order a pina-colada pool side-delicious. If you do not want to eat at the hotel there a plenty of local restaurants in walking distance. The exercise room is outstanding for all those fanatics, and if running is your poison the hotel is a block or two from the water front and that's a beautiful SAFE run. Caution: Room service was extremely over priced and food was not editable-salty and cold. Rooms are slightly on the small side. So if you are traveling with more than one person and staying in the room majority of the time you may become a little cramped and might become claustrophobic. The pool also faces a building with residents. They are close enough to enjoy the pool activities with you. But don't worry I did not see anyone with binoculars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
It was great reading your thorough comments and that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are committed to our guests and thrive to give them the service they deserve - True Waldorf Service. There are plenty of great findings within the hotel as you described as well as nearby. We clearly understand your comments about the room size as it relates to bigger groups and we have some great options for those seeking a bigger relaxing place away from home. Our pool and building is indeed close by to other buildings in this vibrant city. We are glad to hear irregardless of that, you enjoy your time. We invite you to create new memories and continue to enjoy the True Waldorf Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights on our way to a different part of Panama, and ended up coming back to stay on our way back a week later even though we had planned on staying somewhere else that last night. The hotel is very nice - brand new and very clean and luxurious. The bed was amazing, seriously the best bed I have ever slept in. We had two different rooms since we stayed two different times, one was significantly larger than the other but the smaller one was still spacious and had a better view. I would happily live in either of them forever.
We ate dinner at the restaurant (called Brio I believe) and the food was very good. The pool area and gym are very nice, I didn't even want to leave to go explore other areas of the city but made myself because coming all the way to Panama and not leaving this hotel would be ridiculous, although would have made me happy.
The service here is insane, I have never experienced service like this. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and made every possible attempt to provide us with great service. It was almost too much at times because we're not used to this type of treatment! but I think they were a bit overstaffed and underbooked at the time we were here (during Easter week). The waitress at the pool and the front desk people were extremely friendly, going above and beyond providing what I would call "good service". And they all remembered us when we came back through a week later, and even remembered where we had gone on our trip and asked us about it!
The location was cool, on a side street right near a lot of cool restaurants and bars and walkable to a lot in the city. You can get a taxi for much cheaper than their car service around the city (which we figured out quickly), but I def recommend using their car services for the airport pickup, especially if you don't know the city or your spanish isn't great. It isn't that much more than a taxi for airport pickup and they use nice air conditioned cars with good drivers and will wait for you at the airport (our flight was a few hours late at when we finally arrived the driver was waiting for us in front with cold waters- a nice touch.)
I'm not sure when we will be in Panama City again, but if we every are we will definitely stay here and recommend this hotel to anyone who goes here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erinholly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Erinholly9,
Thanks for becoming a loyal Waldorf Astoria Panama guest. Our True Waldorf Service guarantees each and every one of our guests a memorable stay. It is great to know we are part of your great Panama Trip memories. We anxiously await having you again, we will definitely be waiting for you here in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Barely open two weeks, the new Waldorf in Panama is beautiful. The room was quiet and finished out in great detail. The pool and gym area excellent. At the Brio restaurant was striking and the food very good. We were there on Easter weekend and the hotel- the ENTIRE city- was dead. So the service was great- keep it up when it becomes busier. Wish the early AM wake up call hadn't been 30 minutes earlier than requested but really that's the only quibble I had with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Dbenners,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama to spend your calm and relaxing holidays. We are excited to receive your comments regarding our recently opened. We hope to have you in our hotel again soon so you can experience more of our True Waldorf Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was told service was an issue in Panama, I recently stayed in the hotel and words can´t describe the level of service of this hotel, everyone is very friendly and they go the extra mile. The hotel is very well built, they put a lot of detail on design. You can´t ask for a better location, you have alot of restaurants in the área, but why go out if the option inside the hotel have amazing food.

The only bad thing I can say about this hotel, is that it raised my standard about my sleeping bed at home, I won´t be able to sleep at home anymore.

I truly recomend this hotel it was the best experience in a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseLuisAquiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear JoseLuisAquiles,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama while you were away from home. We take each of your comments with great joy and satisfaction. Our main focus is to provide a great level of service and to do so, we offer an intensive training to all our Team Members. Our main goal will always be to create memorable experiences each and every day.
Please remember there is a new place for you to stay when visiting Panama in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the hotel end of March for a Bankers meetings and the hotel had just opened. A total disappointment for a Waldorf Astoria. Here are a few notable comments:

1. Location. Weird. While central and close to Ave. Balboa and happening Uruguay street, the hotel is in on a side street surrounded by middle class residential buildings built in the 80s. Not the location you would expect for a Waldorf. No fancy shops, no fancy restaurants, just an abandoned kindergarden and a carwash.

2. Decor. The hotel is brand new and it looks OK... if you are used to Sheratons and Crowne Plazas. It has nice furniture, but not luxurious. While they have used some granites and marbles, they have cheap looking plastic walls in the lobby and restaurant.

3. Service. Staff is extremely cordial and well mannered... but as many new hotels, they are just lost. Restaurant service the first day took two hours to get our main meal (we were a table of 10). Check in took 20 minutes (but at least they had a smile).

4. Food. Salt, Salt, Salt. I ate there two times. Both times with large dinner parties. Food is so ridicuosly salty, both times more than half the people in our parties had to send the food back because it was so salty (it happened with different dishes, including my very dissapoiting cobb salad).

5. Rooms. Nice and spacious. Liked the bathrooms a lot... but the views are terrible. You are overlooking into other people´s apartments.

6. Pool area.The pool once again overlooks these terrible older apartments and the pool itself is a cream color (?). Looks aweful.

Overall, the hotel looks like an apartments building that the Waldorf Astoria name was forced upon. You if you are looking true good hotel experience in Panama, there are so many better options nowadays. Le Meridien or Trump are the best in town, and even the older Bristol or InterContinental offer a much nicer product than this Waldorf wannabe.

Room Tip: Only the residences have a good ocean view. Ask for them.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank absolut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Absolut29,
Thank you for your comments, we work hard to provide the best service in town. We look forward to welcome you again, so we can change the perception you have of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews