We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Panama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights on our way to a different part of Panama, and ended up coming back to stay on our way back a week later even though we had planned on staying somewhere else that last night. The hotel is very nice - brand new and very clean and luxurious. The bed was amazing, seriously the best bed I have ever slept in. We had two different rooms since we stayed two different times, one was significantly larger than the other but the smaller one was still spacious and had a better view. I would happily live in either of them forever.
We ate dinner at the restaurant (called Brio I believe) and the food was very good. The pool area and gym are very nice, I didn't even want to leave to go explore other areas of the city but made myself because coming all the way to Panama and not leaving this hotel would be ridiculous, although would have made me happy.
The service here is insane, I have never experienced service like this. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and made every possible attempt to provide us with great service. It was almost too much at times because we're not used to this type of treatment! but I think they were a bit overstaffed and underbooked at the time we were here (during Easter week). The waitress at the pool and the front desk people were extremely friendly, going above and beyond providing what I would call "good service". And they all remembered us when we came back through a week later, and even remembered where we had gone on our trip and asked us about it!
The location was cool, on a side street right near a lot of cool restaurants and bars and walkable to a lot in the city. You can get a taxi for much cheaper than their car service around the city (which we figured out quickly), but I def recommend using their car services for the airport pickup, especially if you don't know the city or your spanish isn't great. It isn't that much more than a taxi for airport pickup and they use nice air conditioned cars with good drivers and will wait for you at the airport (our flight was a few hours late at when we finally arrived the driver was waiting for us in front with cold waters- a nice touch.)
I'm not sure when we will be in Panama City again, but if we every are we will definitely stay here and recommend this hotel to anyone who goes here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinholly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Erinholly9,
Thanks for becoming a loyal Waldorf Astoria Panama guest. Our True Waldorf Service guarantees each and every one of our guests a memorable stay. It is great to know we are part of your great Panama Trip memories. We anxiously await having you again, we will definitely be waiting for you here in Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    279
    93
    43
    36
See reviews for
202
367
63
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Barely open two weeks, the new Waldorf in Panama is beautiful. The room was quiet and finished out in great detail. The pool and gym area excellent. At the Brio restaurant was striking and the food very good. We were there on Easter weekend and the hotel- the ENTIRE city- was dead. So the service was great- keep it up when it becomes busier. Wish the early AM wake up call hadn't been 30 minutes earlier than requested but really that's the only quibble I had with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dbenners,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama to spend your calm and relaxing holidays. We are excited to receive your comments regarding our recently opened. We hope to have you in our hotel again soon so you can experience more of our True Waldorf Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villahermosa, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was told service was an issue in Panama, I recently stayed in the hotel and words can´t describe the level of service of this hotel, everyone is very friendly and they go the extra mile. The hotel is very well built, they put a lot of detail on design. You can´t ask for a better location, you have alot of restaurants in the área, but why go out if the option inside the hotel have amazing food.

The only bad thing I can say about this hotel, is that it raised my standard about my sleeping bed at home, I won´t be able to sleep at home anymore.

I truly recomend this hotel it was the best experience in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseLuisAquiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear JoseLuisAquiles,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama while you were away from home. We take each of your comments with great joy and satisfaction. Our main focus is to provide a great level of service and to do so, we offer an intensive training to all our Team Members. Our main goal will always be to create memorable experiences each and every day.
Please remember there is a new place for you to stay when visiting Panama in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the hotel end of March for a Bankers meetings and the hotel had just opened. A total disappointment for a Waldorf Astoria. Here are a few notable comments:

1. Location. Weird. While central and close to Ave. Balboa and happening Uruguay street, the hotel is in on a side street surrounded by middle class residential buildings built in the 80s. Not the location you would expect for a Waldorf. No fancy shops, no fancy restaurants, just an abandoned kindergarden and a carwash.

2. Decor. The hotel is brand new and it looks OK... if you are used to Sheratons and Crowne Plazas. It has nice furniture, but not luxurious. While they have used some granites and marbles, they have cheap looking plastic walls in the lobby and restaurant.

3. Service. Staff is extremely cordial and well mannered... but as many new hotels, they are just lost. Restaurant service the first day took two hours to get our main meal (we were a table of 10). Check in took 20 minutes (but at least they had a smile).

4. Food. Salt, Salt, Salt. I ate there two times. Both times with large dinner parties. Food is so ridicuosly salty, both times more than half the people in our parties had to send the food back because it was so salty (it happened with different dishes, including my very dissapoiting cobb salad).

5. Rooms. Nice and spacious. Liked the bathrooms a lot... but the views are terrible. You are overlooking into other people´s apartments.

6. Pool area.The pool once again overlooks these terrible older apartments and the pool itself is a cream color (?). Looks aweful.

Overall, the hotel looks like an apartments building that the Waldorf Astoria name was forced upon. You if you are looking true good hotel experience in Panama, there are so many better options nowadays. Le Meridien or Trump are the best in town, and even the older Bristol or InterContinental offer a much nicer product than this Waldorf wannabe.

Room Tip: Only the residences have a good ocean view. Ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank absolut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Absolut29,
Thank you for your comments, we work hard to provide the best service in town. We look forward to welcome you again, so we can change the perception you have of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this new property last week, not knowing it had just opened. It truly lives up to the Waldorf Astoria standards. The service was impeccable, as was the food and drink selection. The location is ideal, too. I had a wonderful room and no issues at all. Hats off to Lille and Ona at the front desk and Eduardo at the bar for making me experience so memorable. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sted,
Thank you for your comments, it is wonderful to know we were able to give you the True Waldorf Service, and above all, that you remembered some of our staff members for their excellent service. We woud love to welcome you again soon, so please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am an event planner who had a buy out at the Waldorf Astoria actually 3 days after its opening.

We expected the worst we got the best!!!
GREAT Service and attitude of all their staff.

Don't miss the Condo Suites to be used as Meeting Rooms. All our clients were delighted, great views!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Calucha,
It is of great joy to our team members and specially our Banquet staff to read your comments. We're delighted that you had a positive and rewarding experience attending your business meeting at one of our Suite Residences. We are always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service is exceptional at every level the hotel is exquisite in design and furnishings the rooms are large and well appointed and the restaurants are excellent ! You never need to leave the hotel and if you do the hotel car will assist you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear: Michael B
Thank you for writing so positively about our new property. Every single detail has been designed with exquisite taste to provide our guests with a variety of enjoyable options. We hope you can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#7 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#3 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump Ocean Club International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#6 of 115 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing