We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waffles for breakfast!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Inn Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lemon Inn Panama
Ranked #11 of 85 Panama City B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Waffles for breakfast!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved the lemon inn and actually ended up coming back to stay a second time. Francisco and his team are great. The breakfast is delicious, in particular the waffles which you can make yourself! Wifi was the best we have had on our 6 month trip around latin america. It is a bit tricky to find it but if you head for the Multi Plaza Shopping mall you are just 5 minutes away from it. This place is not a hostel so dont expect any partying! It is very quiet and a great place to wind down and take some time out. They have a kitchen to cook in but we felt there was no need as eating out in panama is so cheap. We headed for the food court at the Multi Plaza just around the corner most times. Try the watermelon juices from "Smoothies" and the meat grill from "Lenos and Carbon". The new york steak is very good and cheap! You can also EASILY get to the canal with public buses (red devils) and not waste $30 ona round trip with a taxi. The bus costs just .95 cent all the way out!

Avoid room 2 - the noise from the aircon ducts right outside the window is very loud. We had room 4 at the start and then room 2 when we came back. No noise in room 4 but had to use earplugs in 2. The ensuite bathroom is also a bit quirky as it is totally see through! Very odd. And the aircon blasts at night with no setting in the rooms so they do get cold. However, we just covered our vent up with a towel and it was much better.

Overall, a great place to stay in panama.

Graham

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
45
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klamath River, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place was very quiet, the rooms and the whole place, was clean, the breakfast and coffee were very good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this small Inn. We had a driver pick us up, arranged by the Inn, and felt it was well worth the cost. We walked or bussed everywhere from there, once we dropped off our packs. Something is up with their ac...in order to keep the downstairs cool, they really have to crank it up. Our room upstairs was freezing cold at night, but they gave us an extra blanket and we were fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucenLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Lemon Inn for two nights. Great staff, nice beds and sheets and only 10 bucks more per person than most Hostels in town. Fast Internet and safe neighborhood. Clean and modern. Breakfast is good with tasty brewed coffee. Best of luck to the owners!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Lemon Inn is a nice place to stay, however, there are some points that are worth mentioning...

The good:

The front desk staff is exceptionally friendly and hospitable.
The decor is funky and cool. It makes for a nice place to relax.
At night, the neighbor is quiet and it's within walking distance of some great shopping and restaurants.

The bad:

It's nearly impossible to find on your own. Find a cab driver that knows where they're going.
There was no hot water at all during our stay, so if you don't mind a cold shower, it's no big deal.
There is a large building going up next door and the noise is rather significant. Again, it wouldn't be a big deal if you are an early riser.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Lemon Inn offers a nice option for staying in a central location at a reasonable price. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. I was impressed with the nice tile in the bathrooms and the modern bowl type sink. The beds are firm and each room has a flat screen TV. The free Wifi works great. The hotel is located in a neighborhood that is a bit run down and noisy. It is a short walk to the luxurious metro mall with many upscale shops and restaurants though. My room cost $71 for a king size bed with a private bath. This seems like a good deal compared to the many chain hotels in the central area. One downside is that none of the cab drivers at the airport know this hotel - be sure to have the address available when taking a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The good: Very clean, recently remodeled, trendy furnishings, smiley and helpful staff, good location for shopping (easy walking distance to both multi-central and multi-plaza malls).

The bad: The primary reason for my average experience is outside of the hotel's control, but it's still a problem. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood and for the three nights we were there a small, yappy dog barked the entire night! I'm not exaggerating. This was accompanied by a larger dog at intermittent points. The noise was clearly heard in our room and made it difficult to get a good nights sleep. In addition, there is a new building going up next door to the hotel and the work starts before 7 am which made it difficult to sleep past that point.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

To all first-time Panama City visitors: There is NO need to feel overwhelmed with trying to think of things to do or see in the city! Panama City is very small and all of the major sites are within 5-10 minutes cab ride away from this hotel. However, the Canal is about 15 minutes away. You will spend an average of $6-7 per cab ride. This hotel services many tour guides (who drive their own cars) whom you pay anywhere from $80-120/day to see all of the major sites in Panama City. I think the price is very reasonable and this beats the $29/39/day hop-on-hop-off option. I mean, who wants to wait around and look at bus schedules all day? So location wise for this hotel, you need not to worry.

They serve complimentary breakfast everyday from 7:30-9:30am. Fresh squeezed OJ, toast, homemade waffles, fresh fruit, ham/cheese slices, scrambled eggs, cereal, you name it! It is served in the lovely dining room which is decorated in a very contemporary, pretty style.

A little background info on the hotel: It is run by 2 brothers. One is married and the other is not. It was the married couple's idea to start the business. It was their previous home. I think they have about 6-8 rooms, but don't quote me on it. I stayed there by myself for 2 nights and it was $71/per night (double bed) only because the $50/night single rooms were all taken. The price is really reasonable for Panama City, as hotel prices usually run much higher.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel. The only thing I would mention that was inconvenient was the fact that there were absolutely NO restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. So you have to order-in delivery if you plan on having a quiet dinner at the hotel instead of going out. However, there is a mall (Multiplaza Mall, the largest mall in Panama City) situated just 10-15 minutes walking distance from hotel which I have not gone to but heard there is a food court:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fhk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.6 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#62 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Inn Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Inn Panama

Property: Lemon Inn Panama
Address: calle Bachiller #39-40 | Urbanizacion Nvo Paitilla, Panama City 0834-1689, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Inn Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very heart of Panama City, the perfect place to discover this cosmopolitan town, you will find: Lemon Inn. A cozzy bed and breakfast that allows you to enjoy the unique rythim of the panamanian downtown and rest comfortably in a quiet, safe and residential enviroment at the same time.Located at the exclusive Nuevo Paitilla neighborhood, between Calle 50 and Via Israel, a privileged zone that will let you have access to the top touristic, comercial and financial points of interest.Either walking or by car, from Lemon Inn, you can visit attractive destinies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Lemon Inn Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Inn Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing