We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views of Panama City Skyline”
Review of Ancon Hill

Ancon Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half-Day Panama City Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Mi Pueblito and Ancon Hill Tour in Panamá City
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Panama City's Top Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Summerland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Views of Panama City Skyline”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's worth going up Ancon Hill for the views at the top. I was with a guide and we drove, although we passed lots of people walking. If you walk, take water with you. The walk is a long one, up hill, and there is nowhere to get water if you forget. If you walk you will likely see many birds, butterflies and agouti. The views are worth the trip. The whole of Panama is laid out and you can see the locks and new and original canals. Also interesting is seeing the bunker the Americans built into the hill when they had the Canal zone. Unfortunately it is not open to the public, but you can see it from the outside including the camouflage that is still there.
Ancon Hill is gated, so check the opening times before you go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    338
    84
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gated off before closing time”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We took a cab up to check out the sites but found it was closed (gated off) at 3:15 even though it is suppose to stay open till 4:00. Don't bother wasting your time

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best experience in Panama City”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had sort of a difficult experience trying to get to Cerro Ancon, but I am so glad we persevered. Our taxi driver didn't really seem to understand where to drop us off to start the walk up the hill so he just sort of let us out in a residential neighborhood at the bottom and we had to wander around for a bit trying to find our way up. Finally, we found a sort of discovery center where an office worker was able to point us in the right direction and from that point on, it was perfect. It is a long, steep walk up a giant hill and it is hot and humid, but it is so worth it. We saw all kinds of wild life along the way, from capybara to tamarins to toucan. It was really great, and when you get to the top, it's just amazing. In one direction you can see the canal, in another, the old city, and then the other direction, all of downtown. It was so worth all of the confusion and hard work to get there. The most surprising thing was really how few people were there. We passed one other couple walking on the way and another woman showed up in a taxi with a guide. That's it. But maybe it was a slow day. If you're physically able, I really recommend the walk. Like I said, it's steep, but it's paved and not too difficult. I managed in skirt and sandals. I think you would probably miss all of the wild life in a car, but you could still enjoy the views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noodlenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Panama City from the Top”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The highest point to view Panama City, we were able to see how the city was laid out. The hill with the large flag can also be seen from many places in the city. Best done in a car.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LaNonnaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I road to the top of this hill as part of a package deal with a taxi driver. The foliage is beautiful on the way to the top. The view is amazing of the city and the canal. It is well worth the time to experience this.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KSE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancon Hill also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Ancon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing