We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite activity of our visit”
Review of Ancon Hill

Ancon Hill
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half-Day Panama City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A favorite activity of our visit”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We saw a lot of wildlife, including toucan and tamarins. It took a bit of trial and error to find the start of the trail, and signage isn't great, but once we located the trailhead and started hiking up the hill, we had a phenomenal time. The sights were gorgeous. The climb is steep, but the path is paved. The views from the top are marvelous. We took tons of photos and smiled ear-to-ear nearly the entire time. So glad we made this a part of our trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Picnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    337
    83
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice walking area in Panama City”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice view over Panama City, Balboa Harbour, Miraflores Lock, Panamerica bridge. There are a lot of birds in the area. I even was able to take very nice photograghs of Colobri birds. It took me an hour with a Fuji Camera but it was possible!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice walk with wildlife”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at La Estancia - Ancon Hill is a must see for a great view of the city with a free view of wildlife if you walk up the hill. Monkeys and Sloths are all around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JH12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A rainforest in the middle of a city”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a nice walk up the hill. I saw toucans, which was great. The caretaker at the top of the hill was also very helpful. The only issue was that cars kept coming up and down the road.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“what a vista!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this is a free place after the taxi drive up, which is worth it. the view is fantastic and the drive up pleasant..one of my favorite photo places...worth the visit or 20 walk up..if you are over 50 do pay a driver to take you up and wait for you before you go to your next stop (possibly on the way to the miraflores locks)...one can take photos in about 10 minutes and most drivers will wait..just be sure to go at a slow time of day

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancon Hill also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Ancon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing