We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very start...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 80 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you'd like to stay in a quiet and beautiful part of a city,you have to choose "Balboa Heights"...we got a fantastic breakfast the days we stayed at Balboa Heights and lot's of informations in the beginning of our trip.Marijeke+Joris were very helpful+friendly hosts and we felt like to be in a family.They have also a really nice garden for sitting outside in the evening to see some animals and to talk about the day which we had enjoyed and we also liked, that Balboa Heights has only 2 guest rooms...thanks to Marijeke+Joris, as well as Martyn!!! Manuel+Tamara from Austria :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panameisje, Owner at The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you Tamara for your kind review! It was a pleasure hosting you in our B&B. Great that you enjoyed your holiday in Panama so much. Kind regards, Marijke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

My father and I stayed at Balboa Heights both at the beginning and end of our trip to Panama, and thoroughly enjoyed both the stay and our hosts. Upon our return at the end of our holiday, Marijke greeted us with a warm "welcome home!" - and that is exactly how it felt, like home (only warmer than Canada in January, haha). Joris and Marijke were helpful, knowledgeable, and thoughtful hosts who anticipated our needs and made sure that we were comfortable and happy. Their advice on taxi fares, restaurants, attractions, and navigating the country in general made our trip much more relaxing than it could have been had we had to do this research on our own. The location is wonderful, quiet and safe, but very near to the causeway, Miraflores locks, Casco Viejo, Allbrook mall, etc.

Highly, highly reccommended. Joris and Marijke have a wonderful place to stay, and it's such a lovely feeling to know that their warmth and caring expertise is right upstairs whenever you need them. Along with the faint sound of their sweet young daughter's laughter :) We couldn't have been more pleased, and don't feel that we could have gotten better value for our money. Thanks Joris and Marijke, for some truly wonderful memories of Panama!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I started our Panama adventure at Balboa Heights and it was a great place to do so. The location is in the quiet Balboa/Ancon area which is pleasant and well-located to PC's attractions (the Canal/Miraflores Locks, the Amador Causeway, and Casco Viejo). Marijke and Joris were also wonderful hosts. They are so nice and helpful--we felt well cared for! They have done a nice job setting up the rooms and their garden is very beautiful. The only thing to be aware of is that the inn is new on the scene, so tour operators and taxis won't necessarily know about it and get it confused with the Balboa Inn. Just be persistent and make sure you have directions to provide. The taxi drivers are very dependent on geographic markers...we found that telling taxi drivers that it's near the turn off for the Cable and Wireless Building, close to the mercado de artesanias in Balboa helped a bunch. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotskite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Balboa heights was the nicest place we stayed in on our panama holiday, my only regret is that we found it at the end of the holiday and could only stay one night. I was apprehensive about staying somewhere which is also the owners house, but I needn't have worried. Marijke and Joris were the perfect hosts, very friendly and easy going. On arrival after a long drive from Santa Catalina we were welcomed with cold beers - just what we needed!
They live with their gorgeous daughter in the upstairs of the house and the 2 B&B rooms are actually an extension on the side of the house so you don't hear them and Vice Versa. The rooms are very clean and modern and it was the only place we stayed which had a mosquito net so I had the only bite free night here! The bathroom rivals that of a 5 star boutique hotel and there were lovely touches like shampoo, earbuds etc for us to use. Breakfast was great with a big selection of food.
The best part was the gorgeous open social area which looks on to the garden. The garden backs on to a jungley hill and we watched a variety of animals and birds come in to nose around.
As there was nobody staying in our room the next night Marijke was very flexible on our check out time which was greatly appreciated as we were able to shower just before leaving for our flight.
For our first 2 nights we had chosen to stay in a hotel in the middle of the city but with taxi fares being so cheap it would have been a better idea to have stayed at Balboa Heights where we had a much nicer room for the same amount of money. The area is very safe and very conveniant for amador causeway, the canal, various national parks, the domestic airport and allbrook mall.
Thankyou Marijke and Joris - if we ever come back to Panama (which I hope we do!) we will definately be returning to Balboa Heights for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the front of the house but the other room looks on to the garden, so if you...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillbilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a couple of days to get accustomed to the heat and explore the city. Great choice, we strongly recommend it. A friendly Dutch couple in their thirties runs the place. The B&B is ideally situated for going to the Canal, Casca Viego, Metropilitano Park and is close to the domestic airport. The Ancon neighbourhood itself is green and spacious with villa’s green lawns and sidewalks. The atmosphere is both relaxed and secure as this is a “vigilante area” The B&B has a nice sunny front yard and a nicely shaded upward sloping back yard that crosses over into a hill with beautiful trees, plants and wild life such as agoutis, squirrels, monkey’s, toucans and other exoctic birds. We were also lucky enough to spot an armadillo nosing around just beyond the rear fence.

They have 2 stylish spacious rooms with double beds, chairs, closet, arconditioning (or just a fan like we prefer ) The rooms are connected by a large nice and cool corridor under the house wich has a sitting area and a large table to enjoy great breakfasts with delicious fresh fruits of the season and great coffee. The bathroom is shared, but very neat and spacious.

Room Tip: Make a reservation before you go, since the have only 2 rooms available at the moment.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed in this Bed & Breakfast with one of my children. It is a very beautiful accommodation at a great location. The Bed & Breakfast is situated centrally for a visit to the Miraflores locks and the Canal. The old city center, Casco Viejo, and the shopping malls are easily and quickly reachable by public transport or by taxi. The B&B has spacious rooms, warmly decorated with excellent beds. The bathroom, with a beautiful natural atmosphere, is big and has a walk-in shower. One of the rooms has big windows with a first class view on the tropical garden. Breakfast is being served on the, under roof, terrace. There is also a great lounge where you can relax and evaluate your beautiful vacation day.


The owners are very hospitable and will make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In short, a definite 'must stay' when you visit Panama City.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 353Jolanda353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast is an ideal place to start your Panama trip. Very close to the Miraflores locks and to the national airport (San Blas connection). The neighbourhood is nice, green and safe.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
886 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 115 in Panama City
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Oleander 857b | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast in Panama City is located in Balboa, there where the Administration Building of the Canal is situated. The house is a typical wooden tropical style home dated from '50, the period that the US governed the Canal. The backyard is the foot of the Balboa Heights, an untouched piece of jungle. Animals, such as deers, capybaras, monkeys, Toucans and many other bird species are frequent visitors of the garden. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. A large colonial style bathroom is there to share. In the mornings guests can count on a full lovely breakfast. By foot you can visit Causeway Amador to see the ships pass by through the Canal. By car you are only minutes away from the Miraflores Locks, beautiful Casco Viejo or the shopping center Albrook Mall. Want to travel further domestically by plane or bus, the domestic airport and the bus terminal are also very close by. In a few words, this Bed & Breakfast is your jungle escape in the City and very conveniently located to move further onwards after a few days of sightseeing in the City. Your hosts, a young couple from The Netherlands, will be very honoured to have you stay with them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing