We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy!”
Review of Pension Corona

Pension Corona
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Corona
Ranked #47 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely noisy!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The room and bathroom were both extremely clean. The room had air con, TV with cable (including a few English channels) and the internet connection worked well. We were also provided with towels, soap and shampoo.

However, the mattress on the bed was thin and very hard and the hotel was extremely noisy! We had just one small window which was located up high and opened into the hotel corridor. There was a lot of noise during the night as guests were arriving at all hours and every sound echoed. My worse complaint though would have to be the cleaners (even though they do a good job) because they were cleaning at all hours of the night! They were particularly busy and noisy between 2-3am! There seemed to be no regard that some guests might be trying to sleep.

After reading a couple of the other reviews, I would have to agree that I suspect this hotel is more likely a motel that rents rooms by the hour.

I'm glad we had only booked two nights here as the sleep quality was so poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

While the room was clean, the bullet proof window, porn on the channel selection, and late-arriving suitcase-less guests all indicated that the place might moonlight as a short stay motel. We were glad we were only staying a few hours between flights.

The room had no towels or toilet paper, so bring your own. Bottled water costs two dollars which we learned when the hotel refused to give us change for a taxi without a purchase. To go anywhere you will need to take a cab.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtaraAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Although the rooms are sufficiently large and the bath is exceptionally large and clean, the bed was extremely hard, and the noise from the street was excessive. The TV carries maybe 20 or so stations, but only 1 or 2 in English, if that matters. The AC cools quickly. Bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side as trucks idle loudly in front at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is good value. For only $37 / night, you get a clean room with A/C a great private shower and eve n a TV. Sure its not a perfect location, but its still only a $2-$3 cab ride to either Casco Veijo or the Financial District. The Internet is slow and would occasionally drop for several minutes at a time. For someone like me who needs reliable Internet for work, you are better off forking up a few more bucks to stay somewhere else. But if you just need wifi to check your email and other small browsing tasks, you should be fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved this hotel!.it has the best shower in all Panama.Is also spotless.People who say it is not safe they don't know what they are talking about.I live in new York City & hotel Corona is centrally located.We walked everywhere,went to the laundry & market with no problem.We left our luggage at the hotel
for a week while we visited Cuna Islands.
Reception answered whatever questions we had.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: get the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callasflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This clean, basic hotel is just what the traveler passing through Panama City is looking for. It is very clean and comfortable, with TV & free WiFi. It's located within a $2 taxi ride to the Albrook Bus Terminal-- a real plus.

Don't expect a glamorous, fancy place-- you get pretty much exactly what you pay for with no nasty surprises.

Room Tip: Your cab driver may try to convince you that this place is no good-- see it for yourself, it's j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Pension Corona is located in the middleclass neighbourhood and the staff told us its safe to walk around during the day. All other people like Taxidriver and locals said we should move on to the old town or the new part of Panama. We felt definitely not safe!!!!!!!

Not a single good restaurant near the hotel.

Staff is friendly.

The rooms have no windows and there is no place you can hang out in the hotel.

Good for max 1 night otherwise not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#77 of 114 in Panama City
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#74 of 114 in Panama City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
#46 of 78 in Panama City
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#13 of 78 in Panama City
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostal Casa Areka
Hostal Casa Areka
#9 of 78 in Panama City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Corona

Property: Pension Corona
Address: Calle 36 Este No 4, Calidonia, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Corona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Corona Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing