We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy complete luxury for hostel prices!”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Magnolia Inn was by far one of my favourite hostels of my 9mth trip. Reggie and Cherie know exactly what backpackers need (large lockers, lights and power points on every bed), the kitchen is fully stocked and immaculate, and the shared areas are beautifully furnished. Great location in Casco, close to cafes, bars etc but still nice and quiet for sleeping at night. I had an excellent stay and still miss Magnolia - no hostel in Colombia has come close yet!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Liesbeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

The last days of our amazing trip to Panama & Costa Rica we stayed in the Magnolia Inn in Casco Viejo. The place is beautifull; we stayed 3 nights in the private rooms on the top floor and they were just great. Spacey, comfortable, luxurious and fully equipped. The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly. By mistake our booking for the last night did not come through and the staff in close cooperation with our travel agency provided on short notice an alternative. They arranged taxi and provided us with all sorts of advise ranging from which restaurant to go to safe areas to visit. And during a long power failure they even shared their cooled drinking water. The place is literally in the center of Casco Viejo and everything is on walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff is so friendly (especially Maria!) and dorms, showers, bathroom, common areas and kitchen are always clean.

Plugs and lamps at every bed. Love the white towels!!

The location is perfect in casco viejo and close to supermarket, cheap food, restaurants, nightclubs but you can still get a good night sleep cause magnolia inn is quiet!

Once again, clean and friendly staff are the most important things in a hostel and magnolia inn got both!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_ooofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here first for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday and 1 night at the end. we stayed in the private rooms and they were wonderful really clean and better then a lot of 4 star hotels we have stayed else where
the owners are great really friendly and helpful
we also had karloz airport pick up which was a great move as our flight was late at night and with jeg lag it was so easy to have someone waiting for you
we also went on one of karloz day tour to see the canal and other attractions this was great and he was really informative
the kitchen is a great bonus also the free tea and coffee and if you were travelling solo it would be a great place to meet other travellers
we would recommend this place its in a great position and when we left they were adding some more private rooms downstairs
the old town has lots of construction going on and when that's finished this town will be even busier go now and enjoy
if ever we come to panama city again this would be first on our list great great place with lots of the old features
the old town is the place to stay without a doubt

Room Tip: the private rooms are great and the penthouse room has good views we found the rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights. The first night was in one of their private rooms. Beautiful and comfortable. The next 3 nights we stayed in the dorms. Very clean, quite and cozy. Nice private bathrooms and showers, always had fresh towels and linens. The owners and staff were very helpful. Location is beautiful. We had a rental car and we had no problem parking right in front of the Magnolia Inn so that we knew our vehicle would be safe. Very affordable and would recommend it to anyone. Hopefully we will get the chance to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madcapdewdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in September 2013 in the hostel part of Magnolia Inn. It is not a party hostel, which is great. The dorms are very clean and reasonably spacious, have lockers for your backpacks, lamps and power points on each bed to power up your phone, and you can get a clean towel each day. The toilets and bathrooms are very clean too, way better than any other hostel I stayed at in Panama or Costa Rica.

Karloz is the local guy who helps out at Magnolia Inn, and he collected me at the airport when I arrived from Chile. He also took me back to the airport. He is very reliable and obliging. You can just email the hostel and ask them to get Karloz to meet you at the airport. I went to San Blas (arranged through Lunas Castle) for a few nights and left some of my gear in storage at Magnolia. When I returned I had to head to the airport, but for a few dollars they let me shower and gave me a towel as well, which I most appreciated.

This hostel is in the very centre of Casco Viejo, it is safe and secure. The owners are helpful Americans who will give you all the info you need. There is free perk coffee all day, and if you don't want to go out and hang around the streets all day, you can sit in the comfortable lounge or nice, bright spacious kitchen (always spotless!), watch a bit of TV, or sit on the balcony and relax, and watch people passing below. I highly recommend Magnolia (it is one block away from Lunas Castle but it is so much better than Lunas and for the same place - but not a party place).

Angela H.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelakay003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Magnolia Inn when they first opened. Reggie and Cherie were the best host and hostess we could have ever asked for. They gave us lots of suggestions on where to go and places to eat.
I would stay here again when in PC.

Room Tip: The room at the top has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#17 of 115 in Panama City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $26 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing