We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking or”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location was great and it was only 2 blocks from a view of the most beautiful skyline I have seen anywhere. This part of the city is like old New Orleans. Only problems were not because of the hotel. The street in front of the hotel is tore up due to construction but worth the problem. It is only blocks from where you can pick up the "hop on-hp off" bus which I recommend hightly to see the city and the locks. If you go walk up Central ave north to explore where the locals shop and then a bit east to the fish market. I hope to return soon

Room Tip: I was in 2A and the view was not good but I wasnt there to look out a window. It has a mini fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 636 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great place to stay in the Casco Viejo area of Panama City. Close to great bars, restaurants and sights. Friendly staff, clean rooms, BEAUTIFUL common area and kitchen. We loved sitting on the balcony above the street and eating our breakfast in the morning sun. The only complaint we would have (and this isn't the owner's fault) is that the taxi driver recommended by the hotel to take us to Tocumen Airport tried to rip us off. He insisted on taking us earlier than we wanted to go (because, we suspect, he had another trip to make) and initially tried to charge $45 for 4 people, then dropped his price to $38 because his $45 quote was a "mistake" (right...). Instead, we went up the street and caught a cab for $20 for the 4 of us. But again, this should not reflect on the quality of the hotel or it's staff! A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 2B was clean and cool with a window overlooking the street, but did the bathroom was across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus and Cour... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This place deserves nothing else but praise. We came to this hotel after a horrible experience at Hospidajo Cusco Viejo and we couldn't have been happier.
The lady at the counter was amazing, she was so helpful with everything and had an answer to all of our questions. We are so bummed that our trip in Central America ends here and we only got to spend 1 day in Panama City! After being to this wonderful place, we wish we could have stayed longer!
Please please please, spend that little extra money and stay here! You certainly won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This inn is for everyone, as they have dorms or private rooms (both are large and so comfortable !). Everything is brand new, clean, with lot of light.
Above all, the owners, Reggie and his wife, are the perfects hosts ; welcoming, warm, they advise you on where and how to go, and treat you like real guests. I have been sick during one of my stay and they took great care of me. I felt like with family :)
I can only recommend a stay at their inn.
Thanks again for everything !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

after 6 days in the bush's of colombia and 2 days in middle of newhere we finally got by accedent to magnolita! we were planing of going to a diffrenet hostel somehow we found this hostel and stayed there!
\first of all the rooms were grea! really good aircondition and good shower!
the bed were really conmfurtable so you could have a good night sleep...
the kitchen is really big.. and you can preper really good meals, you have everything you need for the perfect meal :)

now the most important, our story:)
my friend who travelled with me got cut from the apar part of the bed.. and actully got a really serioes cut..
so we werent really sure what to do, and than came for our help the Sherrie the manager.
she staright away took us to her private doctor, and realy took care of us.
the first thing when we got back to the hostel sherrie took care of the "dangerous" part and covered it up so no one could get injerud again.

the thing is, of course it wasnt sepouse to happen..but it did,, and sherrie really fast fixed everything and was so helpful afterwards!
few days later we even came back again specially to the hostel becuase we enjoyed it so much!
thank you very much for everything!

Room Tip: most of the hostel rooms are the same, so it doesnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ophir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent two nights at the Magnolia Inn in Panama City while visiting my daughter Miranda, who is a Peace Corps volunteer in Panama. Miranda has stayed at the hostel but for our visit we stayed in one of the Penthouse rooms on 3rd floor rooms. Very clean rooms and great views of the city. The staff were awesome and very helpful in helping us get to our different destinations. The room was very well decorated and comfortable and price was reasonable. Look forward to visiting Panama and staying there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

High quality hostel...
While spending time waiting in Panama City for a Brazilian visa, and mending some various health ailments (3rd world eye disease from Panama...ach), my boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at the Magnolia Inn. Upon arrival, I immediately needed to find an eye doctor. Thus, the owners and staff quickly made some calls, and got me an appointment at Punta Pacifica hospital that afternoon. Everyday following, the owners asked me how I was doing. Feeling pretty poorly, it felt nice to have a 'mom and dad' watching out for me. In addition, this friendly hostel was clean (with new bathrooms and showers), had sturdy/large bunk beds, and offered a quiet place to escape from the busy city. If you are looking for high quality, budget accommodations with a family feel, then definitely try Magnolias. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANAMA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#12 of 115 in Panama City
506 reviews
0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#16 of 115 in Panama City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#37 of 115 in Panama City
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#63 of 115 in Panama City
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#3 of 112 in Panama City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $33 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing