We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!!!”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in every room type available from the amazingly comfortable dorms to the private rooms on the second floor. Reg and Cherie and their staff are wonderful hosts and truly make you and everyone else feel comfortable and welcome. We felt like family and were treated great.
The shared bathrooms and showers are the best you will find at any hotel or hostel. We had been traveling for six months and desperately needed somewhere clean, quiet and relaxing with a bed like a cloud. On top of that the community kitchen is spectacular, with real cookware, knives and glasses too!! The location can't be beat, with so much going on in Casco and this place is in the heart of it. It is worth a trip to Panama just to stay here. The other guests were friendly, happy and we all had alot of fun. Highly recommend staying here. Great value. Great prices. Clean. Comfortable and Inviting!!!

Room Tip: The second floor private rooms are just amazing. The dorms are also a great value and extremely cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    153
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
175
145
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed twice in Magnolia during our trip. First was a private room on the second floor and the next time Cherie gave us a Penthouse suite on our return from Bocas. The rooms are clean, well appointed and rival some of the better hotels in the States. Location in Casca Viejo is excellent and the attractions of the old city are just a short walk from the hotel.
We found Cherie to be a marvelous host. She is friendly, welcoming and knows the city. We wanted a tour to an Embara Village and she made the contact for us - which resulted in a great experience. Cherie also recommended restaurants to us. We followed her advice and had great dining experiences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46310Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My daughter had recommended this hotel, because she had stayed in the hostel and found the facility and the personnel to be exceptional. So did my friend and I. We stayed for almost a week and had no complaints. The hotel is beautiful, modern, very reasonable and is in the heart of Casco Viejo which seems to be the "happening" part of Panama City. The family who run it are from the USA so they know how to make your stay very comfortable. The beds, bathrooms, cleanliness, etc. are excellent quality even by the highest standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The location is great and the facility itself is very nice. The owners are American expats who are seriously lacking social skills. The husband is quiet, but his wife is completely strung out, so be sure to pack plenty of Valium or other tranquilizer/sedative of your choice. They have ridiculous family arguments in front of the guests, which is very uncomfortable to be around.

If you get a chance, listen to the wife try to speak Spanish. She thinks that if she just speaks English with a Latin accent in a loud voice, then the Panamanians will understand her. They don't understand her at all, and she doesn't get it. It's hilarious.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keefers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed at Magnolia Inn twice during my time here in Panama, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to live en Casco Viejo during their stay in Panama City. Magnolia Inn is both an hostel and a hotel with private rooms. The penthouse rooms on top floor, have a beautiful view over both the new and the old city. The combination of hostel and hotel gives the place a different atmosphere than most of the hotels I have stayed at. The big common area makes it easier to mingle with other travelers, if you’re in mood, and Magnolia do have wonderful common areas. There are big comfortable sofas, a big dining area and a kitchen, all with an ornamented ceiling, tiled floor and three big doors leading out to a balcony surrounding the rooms, where you can hang out and watch street life. Both dorms and privates have aircon, which I find necessary due to the heat here in Panama City.

Cherie, who owns Magnolia, is a positive and energetic woman with a lot of character. She voluntarily gives you a thorough briefing of where to go and where to eat etc, in Casco Viejo. She patiently answers all her guests’ questions and tells them what happens at night in Casco Viejo. She upgraded my room, although I did not ask, and because of that I had the pleasure of sleeping like a princess in one of the penthouse rooms, both times. A lovely, quiet room on.

In the beautiful ballroom on the second floor, you can either exercise yoga, meditate, take dancing lessons or Reiki healing sessions.

Ryan, Cherie’s nephew gives these Reiki healing sessions. I have had four, and I will certainly come back for more! What he manages to do with his hands even without touching me is incredible, but to wonderful and complex, to describe in few words. You can of course take sessions with this wonderful man without living at Magnolia. Call Magnolia and ask for him!

It has been a pleasurable experience staying at Magnolia Inn, and I will definitely stay again, on any further visit to Panama City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this place! It is very nice, and in a great location in Casco Viejo. I stayed in the dorms, but they also have private rooms available. The dorm rooms had air conditioning, comfortable beds, big lockers, and lights and power at every bed. The room was also very quiet with no noise from the outside. The bathrooms always had hot water and I never had to wait for a shower. The common area was also great with free wifi, a big TV, comfortable couches and big kitchen. The dorms cost a few dollars more than than the party hostel around the corner, but in my opinion it is definitely worth it.

However, the best thing about Magnolia Inn is the staff. Everyone was so nice, and the owners went out of their way to help me track down my luggage which had been lost by the airline when I arrived. They also gave me some great tips about places to go in Panama City and how to get around.

The only thing I didn't like was that they didn't offer breakfast, however as I mentioned they have nice kitchen so it is easy to make your own.

A note on the location. Although it is a GREAT location (just one block from the central square of Casco Viejo, walking distance to lots of restaurants, bars, and other attractions, the fish market, and the bus to the airport), the taxis have a very hard time finding it. Even with a map, you will probably have to tell the driver where to go. If you arrange a ride through Magnolia's driver, the process is a lot easier!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksd8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The people running it are great, the kitchen is nice, free wifi that usually reaches into the dorms so you can surf in your bed, power plugs next to your bunk, a/c in the dorms. Nice atmosphere, helpful staff, I liked the style of the hostel, it looks very nice.
Great location right in Casco Viejo. Nice loung and kitchen areas, easy to meet people but not as crowded and noisy as Lunas Castle - wich is just around the corner in case you want to hang out at the backpackers bar there. Magnolias is in a quiet little street, but the party is never far away!
Nothing to complain about!
Always go back there when going to Panama City...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#36 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
2.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Property: Magnolia Inn
Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing