We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, real, beautiful and welcoming”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I came to the Magnolia because of the Jazz Festival in Panama. I have seen many hotels in Panama - and many hostels that aren't too exciting. This place is beautiful, everyone who works there is super friendly (it's owned by an American couple), and they help you figure out your trip. In the heart of Casco Viejo, which is a gorgeous area. The hostel beds have plugs for each bunk and reading lamps. Really cool ballroom. We could walk safely to and from the jazz Fest. All around - enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 628 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

I came to Panama City for the Canal, I stayed for the night life, but I came Back for the Magnolia Inn. They offered a relaxed and comfortable place to kick back between the attractions. I was in Panama City during the recent/continuing protests against the government. This is a difficult time to be a traveler in panama, but Reggie and Charie would never turn down a stranded individual or group. Despite their "FULL" status, they would find ways to make room for the desperate people that would come to them every day. Kind people, Clean, Comfortable beds, and the best showers in Central America. I'll miss you Magnolia

Room Tip: Get there before lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was my first visit to Panama and had uncertain expectations. The owners (Reggie and Charie) and the facility were terrific and the location was perfect. I felt welcome and comfortable immediately. I stayed in one of the penthouse rooms and enjoyed every aspect, especially the bed. Having stayed in innumerable business hotels over the last 35 years, it was real change and a nice experience to be in an interesting mix of people from all over. It's fun to be around happy people. I plan to return to Panama and while in Panama City will look no further that the Magnolia Inn for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnookQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I found La Magnolia on Google maps as it opened so recently TripAdvisor did not even have it in the system. We stayed on the second floor of the revitalized mansion on our way in to Panama and enjoyed it so much we also stayed there on our way out. The room was very nice as was the attached bathroom. La Magnolia also offers nice dorm style hostel rooms as well as three penthouse rooms. The location is immediately behind the cathedral which is centrally located to all of Casco.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We found this quite by accident. The sign is not up and it is hard to find on your own. It is new, has both upscale hostel facilities and really nice private rooms. It has a fully equipped kitchen, good mattresses everywhere, a lovely huge communal room, a/c in the private rooms. And best of all, really nice and helpful owners from the States. It is a remodeled older building with marble steps and floors and the upper rooms have great views of the old and new cities. A very needed addition to an interesting area of Panama City, within easy walking distance of all the old city and it's excellent restaurants and sites. Lots of really hot water in really good showers!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed two nights at Magnolia Inn on either end of a recent trip to Panama. Stayed the first night in one of the 2nd floor rooms with two friends. Beautiful new room with great beds, A/C, lovely bath. On the return trip I stayed one of the dorm style rooms. Again, very nice, with A/C, new beds, individual power outlets and lights for each bed. Great pricing for top rate accommodations.
Magnolia Inn is a little hidden away and provides great access to all that Casco Viejo has to offer. Everyone there was very helpful: transportation, late arrival, dining recommendations, etc...
I feel very fortunate to have found out about Magnolia Inn just prior to my visit. I am certain that as word gets out it will become difficult to book in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Loren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We decided to go to Panama at the last minute (basically because COPA had just inaugurated a non-stop from Chicago) and had trouble finding someplace to stay in Casco since the Jazz Fest was on. We were referred to La Magnolia, which had just opened, and were so glad we were!
Reggie responded within hours (maybe minutes) to our email request (something very much appreciated, and not always the case in Central America). We stayed 5 nights in one of the three "penthouse" rooms on the 3rd floor with astounding views; of the city skyline out one side, the Causeway and ships waiting to transit the Canal on the other. Cherie and Reggie (transplants from Florida) were wonderful hosts, recommending Panama Travel Group (we'll be giving them a thumbs-up tripadvisor review also), restaurants in the Casco, the Machetazo supermercado as well as their go-to Colombian tour-guide/driver Karloz (you'll remember him because of the K and the Z).
Their guests (whether staying in the hostel rooms or the private rooms with bath) hung around talking to them and each other and enjoying the congenial atmosphere of the Inn. Cherie and Reggie even put out complimentary hors d-oeuvres and beer in the evening. We loved the Casco with its combination of beautifully restored properties as well as the colonial buildings that right now are atmospheric ruins. We felt safe walking around the Casco at night and paid attention to what Cherie and Reggie said about other neighborhoods and the diablo rojos. They knew what they were talking about, having lived for 6 years in the Casco.
As a contrast, after touring Panama we spent our last night in a highrise hotel, the Riu. We had a room on a high floor with tremendous views of the bay and it was a totally different experience than La Magnolia. Karloz had driven us around to a number of highrise hotels, we checked out the rooms and views at all of them and the Riu was by far the best ($209 for a bay-view room, $30 more for Executive status, which gets you free wine, fruit and appetizers in the Executive Lounge). We saw the Meridien, Miramar and the new Trump hotel and, for the money, the Riu was by far the best choice.

Room Tip: Any of the three "penthouse" rooms has a private bath as well as great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#4 of 115 in Panama City
490 reviews
0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 115 in Panama City
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#38 of 115 in Panama City
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $33 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing