We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Panama City Casco Viejo Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #42 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved it. The rooms are amazing – artsy and funky but not too crazy - great for a romantic couples trip. We’ve stayed two different nights.

The balcony (from most rooms) lets you take in the amazingness that is Casco Viejo.

I have been to Casco Viejo either for the day or night seven times and Tantalo is the place to stay.

Staff is incredible – very attentive. We stayed here on our way to our destination wedding in Panama and right before our honeymoon in San Blas. When they heard we were getting married they gave us a free breakfast in Tantalo restaurant– one of the best I’ve ever had.

Example - we asked to pay to leave our bags with the hotel for five days while we were in San Blas and they were like no don’t worry about it we’ll just keep it for you for no charge. We were like – you guys are a god send… and they were.

Rooftop bar is also really nice with a great view of the city.

Great rooms, many great balcony views, great staff, great, restaurant, great rooftop bar, great everything – and just the right price so you aren’t thinking this is all too expensive while you’re enjoying yourself.

The hotel also has the advantage of being in Casco one of my favorite places in the world – if it’s not a part of your itinerary – change it now.

Only downside is that on weekend nights there is really loud music blasting into some of the rooms from the neighborhood – so ask about this if you’ll be there on a weekend – we slept through it but then again we were beat when we arrived on a Saturday. Less loud in certain rooms on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesamost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear Cesamost,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you and your couple soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 520 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. The food is amazing, and the rooftop bar is very cool. It is definitely a young, hip scene. The beds were so comfortable, great rainforest shower head, and delicious drinks at the bar. It's in a great part of Old Panama in Casco Viejo so we were able to do a self-guided walking tour. The wifi worked very well too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are designed differently and all have a balcony. Can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyW_760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear KellyW_760

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Loved all of the art in this hotel. Great nightlife in the area but you don't need to leave the hotel for a great bar! Beds are super comfortable and great little balconies overlooking the city. The staff was amazing and super helpful!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 06 on the 2nd floor and it was fine. I couldn't hear anything from the lobby r...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenaj821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear Lenaj821

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Tantalo for 3 nights as part of a larger group and thoroughly enjoyed every moment there. The sheer effort and level of detail they've put into the design and decoration of this amazing space really shines through. This place has soul.

The staff are so friendly and helpful (especially when compared to what I've found elsewhere in Panamá) and frequently went out of their way to ensure we had the best possible experience whether it be flagging down and negotiating the fare with a reliable taxi to ensure we would not get ripped off or to help us navigate the many eating options in Casco Viejo.

The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. Our balcony had an amazing view out onto the surrounding neighbourhood giving us a peek into the original and authentic side of Casco making it all the more special.

The rooftop bar was absolutely packed on the weekends so be prepared to bust out your dancing shoes and get swept up in the vibe of music and energy created by all the locals looking for their mojitos after sundown.

I cannot wait to come back for a longer stay and look forward to seeing how the team continually develop and evolved this concept over the next few years.

Tantalo is THE place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodcul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear Rodcul,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Ate brunch here with my family one day, & it was fantastic, all around. Hubs & I returned 3x more during the week at night for the rooftop bar. Amazing views, great service, & fair prices... The bar can get crowded on the weekend or when there is a private party in attendance, but it's still a nice place to hang out & enjoy. We fell in love w/ Casco Viejo on this trip & will prob try to stay at Tantalo on our next stay in the city... Very friendly & helpful staff, I really can't think of one negative thing to say. Give them a try, you'll be pleased!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear Cdh713

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The review is for the restaurant only, as unfortunately stayed at a different hotel down the street from Tantalo. Next time we're in Panama City, we will definitely stay here, because if the food is any indication the hotel will not disappoint. We ate at this restaurant twice in 24 hours (we were only in Panama City for two nights), and every dish we tried was to die for. Tapas style food and great atmosphere. Ceviche trio is a must. Go!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Dear Imitravel,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fantastic, authentic, delicious food. Quite a scene on Friday and Saturday nights. I highly recommend for anyone looking for delicious food downstairs followed by a great party up on the roof. Great music.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2015

Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for your comments and your recommendations.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#52 of 115 in Panama City
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#34 of 115 in Panama City
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#27 of 115 in Panama City
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $105 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing