We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rita makes it worthwhile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rita makes it worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Tantelo is a wonderful respite in the heart of Old Panama city. This renovated building is shades of what is to come with the revival of old town. The rooms are artistically decorated and spotless and the breakfast is fabulous and comes with the room rate. A bit of weekend noise from the vibrant rooftop bar but it's worth a visit. Rita at the front desk is one of the best ambassadors that we came across in Panama and she truly made our stay special.

Room Tip: A lower floor will have less noise from the popular rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Jeannebpaul,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    144
    42
    21
    18
See reviews for
36
190
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent last Friday night (Feb 15th, 2013) at Tantalo Hotel. When we arrived in the afternoon everything looked fine. The room was modern and well decorated. We were tired from our journey that started that morning in Cartagena, Colombia and after dinner we decided to go to bed at 10:30pm. Well, we were trapped like in "The pit and the Pendulum" (The Classic horror tale by Edgar Allan Poe). Our room (number 12) was on the 3rd floor. The door was adjacent to the central patio overlooking the restaurant on the ground floor (THE PIT) where there was music playing at full volume (and a Tango dancing contest). We could hear the music as if it were right inside our room. After calling the manager and reminded him that we had ask for a QUIET ROOM when we did our booking, he told us that the Hotel was noisy on a Friday night and each room received a share of the noise. After bitterly complaining, he told us that the restaurant music would finish close to midnight. At about 11pm, the music at the roof bar, just one floor above us started (THE PENDULUM). This was even worse, since it was dance music with a bass beat: bum, bum, bum...It was absolutely impossible to try to sleep. After complaining, the Hotel staff told us that their Hotel was FAMOUS for their roof bar and that the music would continue until 3am! They finally agreed to move us to one free room opposite to the one we had (number 8), where the music from the roof bar was still present but not so loud. I personally was not able to sleep until the music finished at 3am and had to wake up at 6am because I had an early flight. So I ended up paying for a torture and a 3 hour sleep period almost 200 US$. If you want to party until 3am without sleeping and can afford to sleep late, you may enjoy TANTALO, otherwise this Hotel is a NIGHTMARE for anyone looking for a decent night sleep. The Casco Viejo is undergoing major renovations, as a result there are several closed streets and a lot of traffic, it is not a good place to stay in Panama City until the works are finished.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel, there are no quiet rooms, some are sightly better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JesusSCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A wonderful base for exploring Casco Viejo...trendy, hospitable and comfortable. The entire staff (and Larissa and Rita at the front desk especially!) are friendly, knowledgeable, gracious and anxious to assist in all aspects of your stay. Recommendations, reservations, bookings...all handled with ease and efficiency. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Florida de Piedras Blancas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We loved this spot - very trendy and hip, but comfortable and in the heart of Casco Viejo. Walking distance to everything you'd want to do in the old district. The food is great, the service is wonderful - a top-notch staff is the icing on the cake. A gem of a boutique hotel! The rooftop bar is the best spot to take in the sunset. We'll be back, definitely!

Room Tip: Casco Viejo is pretty noisy right now - lots of construction. We had the 'Love-Ouch' room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fincabellavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear fincabellavista,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had two nights at Tantalo and really liked it. It's a great place where a huge amount of attention has been paid to decor and comfort, as well as to finding excellent staff. The reception staff were first class and extremely welcoming and capable. The room was a delight - huge, slick and very comfortable. Delicious and very filling breakfast too. Perfect location for both the old town, as well as the new waterfront walkway towards the modern city centre. Just wish I could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertnomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, May 8, 2015
Dear Desertnomad68,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Overall we spent 4 nights in Panama City over a 2 week period, spread across 4 different hotels. We chose to spend a night at the Tantalo as we wanted a base to explore Casco Viejo.

Tantalo is another of the new breed of trendy hotels, with rooftop bars and a buzzing restaurant. Except Tantalo execute this style really well. The service at front of house was really good and the room was excellent. We had a big room, with interesting art on the wall, a good shower and a big, comfy bed. The only concern we had was the pumping music coming out of the apartment directly opposite us - thankfully it shut down just as we went to bed!

The rooftop bar is great, although if you want a table I'd advise booking in advance. Because of its location you get great views across to the Banking district, with old, run-down colonial buildings in the foreground - great for a photo or two. The food in the restaurant is great too - tapas style with a bit of an asian influence.

If you want a good place in Casco Viejo I'd highly recommend Tantalo - however, I would warn you that right now this part of town is an absolute building site and not particularly worth a visit. If you're looking for things to do in Panama City - definitely go visit the Parque Natural Metropolitano.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, May 8, 2015
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments and for sharing your experiences in Tantalo.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is beautiful place with the best staff available. They are mixed nationalities and do a great job in running the hotel together. All your needs are taken care of.
The art work is impressive. Clean and comfortable. Rooftop has amazing views and the best Mojitos, everything I ate was good. The location was also very good taxis are cheap. I REALLY enjoyed the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 10 are really cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#31 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#46 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#80 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Property: Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing