We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, friendly and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and used it as a base of operations for exploring Panama City. We choose it based upon the location, and that proved to be useful. It was great to just walk out the door and be able to explore Casco Viejo by foot and get to lots of restaurants and stores without needing to take a cab. The decor of this hotel is very hip and stylish (although probably not to many (older peoples') taste). The manager on duty was very friendly and helpful. It should be noted (as it has by others) that this is a very popular night spot, both at th restaurant and the rooftop bar - so if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is not it. We also had a problem with the air conditioning - it stopped working in the middle of the night the first night and they were not able to fix it until the next day. However, they were very apologetic and gave us a discount on our first night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldmanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Dear Goldmanm,

Thank you very much for all your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. Wonderful and spacious rooms, great restaurant and amazing rooftop bar. The food is really good, the hotel is in the old part of town and is a great starting point for walks around the old city. In the evening you have to go to the rooftop bar and have a cocktail while the pelicans and vultures fly over your head....

Room Tip: This is a hotel and rooftop bar for 'party' people and not so much for people with kids or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Dear Delauny,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful, the food is excellent, the staff are fantastic. The problem is if you are unfortunate enough to get stuck on the 3rd floor you will not get any sleep. The roof top bar, although very cool and lots of fun -isnt so cool if you choose to get some rest. I will not stay here again just because of that - when I travel, sleep is important to me because I like to get in as much as I can during the day. I suggest you stay somewhere else and go party on the roof top, get the best of both worlds.
It is truly a shame because the corner suites are very beautiful, the beds are comfortable but at night the constant thumping of the music can make you crazy.
We also had a problem with our reservations - and although the staff tried to accommodate us, bookings would not allow them to put us on the second floor as requested. A problem when there are only 12 rooms to begin with - we drew the short stick this time.
In spite of all of this, I do look back at our stay fondly - maybe the hotel should supply earplugs for unsuspecting guests on the 3rd floor! By the 2nd night I would have welcomed them

Room Tip: A different hotel if you want to sleep. 2nd floor if you want to party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tantalo is in a great location in Casco Viejo and superbly decorated. Staff were extremely friendly and very chatty. The rooftop bar was very busy on Saturday night, so if you stay on a weekend and are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. We did discover that our large bed was actually two single beds pushed together when my partner slipped into a small crevice between the beds in the middle of the night! However, definitely recommended as an interesting, fun, place to stay in a lively neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was my first trip to Panama City and more specifically, Casco Viejo, the aged colonial section of Panama City. Tantalo is a great opportunity to experience PC for a person looking for the conveniences of a 4 or 5 star establishment with a more eccentric aesthetic flair. This hotel feels like it could easily be found on a SoHo street. The interior design of the hotel is very cool with a focus on arts. Each of the rooms is designed by a local artist with each creating their own theme. I stayed in room 4, exhibiting the work of a local photographer whose name is escaping me. Great vibe, very clean rooms. You can tell a lot of thought and effort went into creating the aesthetic of the room. The little updated colonial style balcony overlooking Casco's narrow streets is extra charming.
Tantalo also has a great restaurant inside serving a variety of foods for both the adventurous and those looking for something more familiar. The prices are very reasonable also for food so creative and tasty. Everything I ate there was great over the course of the 3 days I was there. The only miss was the french toast, which just wasn't quite right. If you're looking to eat outside Tantalo, there's so many great options within a couple blocks too.
The rooftop bar is real cool too. From what I was told, its the only one in Casco. It gives you a great view of the city skyline and some of the city's most beautiful people. Its hip without being too hip, so you won't feel out of place here. I found the service throughout the hotel to be excellent. Everyone is very helpful and speaks some English so if your Spanish isn't very good, enough English is spoken to bridge any gap. I also noticed all the employees seem very happy to work here. It seems like a good environment. If you're looking to check out Panama City and the upcoming neighborhood of Caso Viejo, Tantalo is definitely the spot. I had a great time here and look forward to coming back.

PS Good luck getting out of bed in the morning! The bed is way too comfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssEeeOneThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Dear EssEeeOneThree,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was excited to stay at this location and my expectatations were definitely met with one exception - Bar Service.

The hotel rooms were as illustrated on the website. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are large. However the washroom was rather small and barely had space to move around. The room included free WIFI and free local calls. At night the noise from the bar and restaurant can be heard so be forewarned. It was ok for me since I am not a light sleeper.

The breakfast was great at the hotel. You eat at the restaurant and are given options to choose from. Our server Alexandra was great.

The dining is excellent and is usually packed. We ate here several times but we expected more on their drinks. We tried several cocktails but they were lacking and did not match the dining experience. Prices are rather moderate. The servers were great.

Entrance to the rooftop bar was a plus, however this needs improvement. There is a large staff here but they still dont get the job done. The bartenders need to go back to bartending and charm school. Our drinks were nothing special. You are better off asking for a beer. If you're not one of the "beautiful people" dont expect to get great service. We had to make serveral attempts to get the attention of the bartenders and waiters to get served. On weekends the tables are usually "reserved" so dont expect to sit down unless you know the host Ismael.

The desk people were pleasant and help us make arrangements for dinner. If your planning to hit the great restaurants in the area use this staff to help make reservations as soon as you get in. We tried booking one day in advance for the restaurants nearby and found out that they were already booked.

I would defintely stay at this place again. I traveled to three other cities/countries on this trip and kept comparing the accomodations to Tantalo.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday night before flying out first thing in the morning. We had a corner suite, which was very spacious and uniquely decorated. The hotel has an energetic feel. We had dinner at the restaurant and all of the tapas we selected were delicious. The rooftop bar was pretty crowded, but a nice scene. It would have been nice to be able to sit down, but the only seats available were for bottle service, which seemed a bit unecessary for just two of us. Our flight left very early the next morning and the hotel was nice enough to put together a little bag with a bagel and fruit which I thought was a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again, especially on a Friday or Saturday night. Bring earplugs if you plan on going to bed early though, as the music continues until 3 a.m. or so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minnie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

We are glad that you enjoy Tantalo Hotel on your recent visit to Panama City. We will take your comment to improve our service in our Roofbar.

We look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#41 of 116 in Panama City
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#23 of 116 in Panama City
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#63 of 116 in Panama City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#14 of 116 in Panama City
511 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gatto Blanco
Hotel Gatto Blanco
#92 of 116 in Panama City
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $103 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing