We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Nearby Hotels
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$393
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$157
$144
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
317
168
49
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
168
49
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barcasco viejopulled porktapas stylecool hotelcevicheboutique hotelold citybassbring earplugsgreat view of the cityfirst floorlight sleeperhotel guestsstayed one nightamerican trade hotelnoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 582 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

had a great stay and time! the hotel looks and feels great ( fab bed's)
liked the contrast of the rustic area with a modern feel hotel
the food was fantastic also and was served by a very friendly staff, maybe it's the country, but everybody was super nice and welcoming
the roof top bar tops the experiance with a great ambiance and music
look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear ramona w,

It was so great to have you staying with us in Tantalo, and an honor as well to be able to enjoy your great music mixes.

Thank you for your precious words, we are very grateful. And please come back soon, our Roof cries out for your sounds and mixes!!!

Happy travels, parties and mixes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Casco Viejo is by far the coolest part of Panama City, making Tantalo's location absolutely perfect. The roofdeck is the crown jewel of the hotel, with a fun but not overwhelming party atmosphere and amazing views of the city. Despite the fun roofdeck, the noise didn't carry into my room when I wanted to crash.

All in all, a fantastic find in Panama City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Fun-artistic-modern-chic hotel in the middle of old world charm, complete with deliciously creative cuisine and flirtatious cocktails. Friendly and warm staff. Very comfy bed that was appreciated after dancing all night on the roof! (sensational view up there!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your well descriptive review. We are extremely proud of our staff who go out of their way to ensure our guest's happiness. We are also excited that you enjoyed our hotel rooms, restaurant, as well as our beautiful roofbar so much.

Please come back soon.

Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place is incredible. You feel like you are on an artistic exploration. The rooms all have unique art and the one we stayed in was huge with a wet bar and an interior terrace that I was skeptical about, but turned out to be a really nice private place while still being "at the party". The crowd is the "gente guapa" for sure. Seems like they encourage artists to hang out and perform there a lot so it has this very authentic hip-ness about it that feels like you're a part of it. The rooftop bar has a great view of the city and the party runs late.
The restaurant in the lobby is also an absolute runaway hit in my book. We had both a dinner and a brunch there. The dinner was the most polished.
The only downside I would say is that the brunch service needed some tuning up and the coffee was not so great but to their credit, when I mentioned it the staff apologized and explained that the brunch service was a new thing, they were ironing out the kinks and that they knew about the coffee machine and it was being replaced. They comped me a dessert, so bravo.

Even is they hadn't done that, I would still give five stars. Honestly, that good.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in "04" are large and have interior terraces where you can overlook the happenings in the lobby at night. For a quieter room, the corners are the best bet, but be advised - this is a nightlife destination.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeBoBangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Dear BeBoBangus
Your entire review is very complimentary and quite frankly, we are overwhelmed by your praise! Thank you very much!

Our goal is that every guest can experience our hotel, restaurant and lounges the way you just explained. According to your comment you stayed in one of our Atrio and Greenwall view rooms, which indeed has a very unique charm.

You also mention the attentiveness of our staff and we are proud that you feel as though our staff go out of their way to ensure your happiness.

Regarding the brunch issue, as our staff mentioned to you, this is a new service time that we have initiated and we are hopeful that it will be up to the standard of the other meals very quickly. We appreciate your honesty and promise to work on it until our high standards are met. Also our coffee machine is brand new and we are improving our techniques, as well as taste testing some a variety of coffee beans to get the perfect aroma and taste.

Please let us know when you plan to come back, We hope it is sooner than later..

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place is incredible. It's in the middle of the Casco Viejo, the old city of Panama, which is somewhere between ruin and upscale artist community. It has a beautiful 3 story vertical garden in the lobby, and a fantastic restaurant for Tapas at night and crazy breakfasts. The roof deck is beautiful, with a young, hip, artsy scene at night and usually great deep house music from a DJ on weekends. And the view is insane - you can see clear across the bay to the new city, and all over the roofs of the old city. I loved our huge room - it had a massive mural on the wall of a tiger, and other art all around. All the rooms are themed with interesting art (some of which is sort of "R" rated, and there are other murals and art tucked all around the hotel.

This place makes Panama City worth visiting. The scene there is getting really interesting musically and artistically, and eco-tourism is booming. You are in walking distance of beautiful historic cathedrals, great boutique shopping, the best ceviche I have ever had, and a hopping underground nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear GuyS:

Thank you for your enlightened review, once again we are overwhelmed by all our guests and customers. For us it's really great that you had such a good Tantalo experience.

We can only hope that the need of coming back again, and of course consider our hotel as your home.

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews