We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #38 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent kitchen”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have been staying elsewhere in the neighborhood, and stopped in for breakfast and specially like the lunch special. Continental spin on local ingredients, I especially liked the chicken in a sauce of cashew and coconut. Dinner is small plates tapas, perhaps more suitable for couples who can share, but all reasonably priced of highest quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidKerlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your good comments, good energy. We hope you will return, hopefully soon!

Tantalo Hotel | Kitchen | Roofbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    148
    43
    22
    18
See reviews for
38
196
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I hosted a large event @ Tantalo a few weeks ago on their rooftop with 50+ guests. Everything from the planning beforehand through the follow up service after was extremely impressive. The food from Chef Pierre was exquisite and delicious, all of my guests continue to rave about the creative mix of flavors and combinations. Aside from the sweeping skyline views, which many of my guests proclaimed to be the 'best in Panama", what really impressed the crowd was the entire vibe of the Hotel. From the unique decor and art of the ground floor Tapas restaurant and lobby, up through the rooftop bar, the scene was happening. A unique mix of locals, expats, and international travelers combined. The bar service itself is attentive and comparable to what one may encounter in a major international city. I highly recommend Hotel Tantalo for your next meal, drinks, or visit next time you are in Panama City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Google Translation
Mi estimado(a) KMCPanama:

Muchas gracias por tus detallados comentarios. Es nuestro objetivo dejar que nuestros invitados y visitantes vean nuestro Hotel como una experiencia extremadamente sensorial.
Es por ellos que aspectos como la música, la iluminación y decoración, los olores de nuestra cocina son cuidados y tomados muy en cuenta.

Esperamos tenerla pronto para que pruebe nuestro desayunos, brunch y sigas disfrutando de la experiencia Tántalo...

Tus servidores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Tatatlo. I have stayed in Panama City before for work and this was by far the best hotel experience I have had. The rooms are beautifully appointed and have every comfort you need -- from great bed to a huge flat screen to an awesome rain shower head. The hotel definitely has a cool party scene at night, but since I was there for work I didn't get to enjoy the incredible roof top bar. (the view is to die for) That said, the walls must be thick cause I got a restful night sleep each night and wasn't bothered by any noise or party-ing going on. I had a number of meals at the hotel and was always pleasantly suprised by the quality and variety of options. Free wi-fi is always a major benefit too!! Will definitely return on future trips!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellicott1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Ellicott:

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write so gratifying words about our hotel.

We are delighted that your stay and experience has been so good, it is our mission to exceed the experience of our guests.

There are many surprises on the way. We will be waiting for you at our hotel and hopefully bring you more of the magic of casco Viejo de Panama. For reservations you can access to our website

Sincerely yours.

Tantalo Hotel/ Kitchen & Roofbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you are going to Panama, you want to stay in Casco Viejo and you want to stay at the Tantalo Hotel. Beautiful large rooms with very stylish decor. The whole vibe of this hotel is young and energizing. Great restaurant, an AMAZING rooftop bar, and friendly staff that will go above and beyond to help you.

Easy recommendation to write. Check it out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Nate:

We may be the best trendy or boutique hotel in the area, but we would not be nothing without our great staff they are making the Tántalo experience possible.

Please make yourself home, when are you coming back? We will be waiting.

Best regards!

Tántalo H/ K/ Rb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were a large group of twenty people, had dinner in the restaurant which was super good, we loved that is an tapas menu, so you get to share with everyone and theres not the uncomfortable "waiting for everyone to choose moment", the Chef even came to our table and we were able to say our comments.

We had fabulous wine recommended by Adam which was a super good Host, we finished our night in the rooftop bar which I wouldn't find words to describe because is a place that need to be experienced, with views of the old city, mountain and the skyscrapers is just a terrific place to hang out and have a few drinks with good music and nice ambience.

Definitely a place in Casco Antiguo that you need to see if you go and stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genesisv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Hi Genesis
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are excited that you and your friends enjoyed our restaurant as well as our beautiful Roofbar. Please coma back soon, a passion fruit mojito will be waiting for you.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tantalo Hotel had everything I seek while traveling - excellent service, sheek decor, central location & key included amenities (free wi fi throughout entire property, delish food, iPod docs in the rooms, SUPER comfy beds, etc.).
This was my 2nd trip to Panama & my first stay in the Old City.  The area is super charming.  To be able to explore the area by foot & then go back to a hip home is pretty awesome.  The  roof top lounge is the place to be in the city!  Sunset cocktails w/a spectacular view of the city - heaven;)  (Loved the Lemon Grass Mojito - so refreshing & delicious!).  The place is pretty happening at night but the good news is that I didn't have to walk far or worry about any noise following me to sleep that night (rooms are perfectly insulated.  Thank you for making my little Panama holiday amazing - I look fwd. to my next stay at Tantalo!  

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vthokies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your good comments. We are thinking to get your comments to our staff to motivate them and letting them see that they can make things happen, letting you to live the experience of Tantalo.

Tantalo Hotel | Kitchen | Roofbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My Partner and I had lunch at Tantalos yesterday and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, the decor and ambience fresh, modern and comfortable and the service we received from our waiter Francisco was outstanding . He attended to our every need and was helpful, informative and professional - he also spoke English which is definitely a plus. He gave us a post lunch tour of the rooftop bar which had fantastic views over Panama City.
I whole heartedly recommend Tantalos!
Thanks guys,
Stacie and Peter - London, England.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Estimados Stacie & Peter,

So great that you had such a good experience. Just to let you know we sent a memo to all our staff with compliments to Francisco. Thank you very much.

Hope to see you again soon!

Tantalo Hotel | Kitchen | Roofbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 113 in Panama City
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 113 in Panama City
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#33 of 113 in Panama City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#37 of 113 in Panama City
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 113 in Panama City
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Property: Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing