We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Nearby Hotels
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$162
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
$186
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$60
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
317
168
49
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
168
49
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barcasco viejopulled porktapas stylecool hotelcevicheboutique hotelold citybassbring earplugsgreat view of the cityfirst floorlight sleeperhotel guestsstayed one nightamerican trade hotelnoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 582 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Without a doubt the best view of Panama city that you are going to get from Casco Viejo... my reaction was a literal "wow" when I first arrived and got an eyeful just as the sun was setting... and I live here!

The team behind this place has clearly paid a lot of attention to details... the lighting in Tantalo Kitchen, the first floor restaurant, hangs from the ceiling like a spiderweb, creating the type of effect you would kill to replicate at home. While its a quick elevator ride to the bar a quick detour to the retro tile floor stairs is well worth the effort.

My friend and myself ordered a series of tapas ranging from sumptuous mac n cheese (with shrimp bits!) to sirloin blue cheese sliders. We could not get enough of the fresh take on Panamanian comfort food like the tortillas and pulled pork concoction which we had to order twice! And then again... which we kind of regretted because we barely had room for the spiced jumbo shrimp which must have been marinating since the stone age, they were steeped in flavor. We had a chocolate chip ice cream cookie for dessert like spoiled children... and it was fabulous.

Will definitely be back... can't wait to stay at one of the rooms!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vix_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear VixCr:

Thank you for your review, is very pleasent for us that in so short time so many many people has felt and lived the Tantalo experience in so many, many ways.

Please make this hotel your home, for every time that you come to Panama, and if you live in Panama, then make this place your escaped...

Best regards!

Tantalo Hotel Kitchen & Roofbar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Tantalo is an innovative boutique hotel in the heart of Casco Viejo in Panama with modern and comfortable rooms. The cuisine offers and variety of international creative dishes to share. The amazing rooftop terrace in the 4th floor is unique and one and only with incredible city views where you can enjoy Panama´s skyline and wonderful casco views. Go and explore the Tantalo experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielou1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Marielou1977:

We apreciate really much your review. We can see that the Roofbar on the rooftop really fits in you.

We would like to know what kind of events you would like us to organize on our Roofbar, Please feel free to make any suggestion (Wine Tasting, Humor show, Jazz Concert, etc)

Best regards

Tantalo Hotel Kitchen & RoofBar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is alive and filled with great atmosphere. Simple and chic from decor to food, until you hit the 4th floor roof top, where it takes you out of the hussle bussle of the city, and awes you with the views of what panama city is. Due to Casco Anitguo being a UNESCO world heritage site, there are many restrictions on restoration, allowing a 4th floor roof top to have a perfect view that contrasts the old city buildings with the bay lit up by the city skyscrapers that tower high on the horizon. Great place to enjoy drinks and tapas. The food is well priced, and meant for sharing. Each tapa has its own flare, whether it be Panamian, Peruvian, international, you will find something from the 20 or some different options they offer..dessert as well :) Waiters speak english and offered great service. (i saw someone else mentioned the service as well, this is because in panama it is hard to find good service, so at Tantalo, this was refreshing!) ask for Rafael to take care of you ;)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Meagan Mamado:

Thank you very much for your illustrated review. Is our goal to bring you the best boutique hotel experience. Please feel free to send any suggestion that allows you blend even more with our concept.

Thank you once again and come back soon!

Tantalo Hotel Kitchen & Roofbar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

If you are planning to visit Panama you must experience Tantalo! Tantalo is a boutique hotel located in the old part of Panama City ( Casco Viejo). Every room is inspired by a different artist and beds are that comfy it makes you quite difficult to wake up. The restaurant is incredible, nice atmosphere, excellent food ( ceviche, beet carpaccio and the eggplants are a must) and a very good service. Also there's a rooftop bar with good prices / quality and amazing views ( unique place to admire the fusion between skylines and colonial architecture ).Hottest place in Panama! Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seriouslywao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear SerioslyWao,

As you said very well, Tantalo is brand new experience in town. We hope to have you back as soon as possible. Many surprises are on the way! You can not miss it!

Thank you very much for your kind hotel review. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A Panamanian friend told me about this new hotel that had just opened....I checked it out online and it seemed very cool (I was especially drawn to the description of the the roof top). I love boutique hotels and this one did not disappoint at all. The service was above average from the other hotels I have visited in Panama and the food at the restaurant was amazing (the mac n' cheese is a must!). They did a really nice job with the rooms - the mattress is crazy comfortable, the room has nice flat screens, cool showers. There was a really cool band playing on the rooftop the night i was there -- nice vibe and delicious drinks. All around positive experience -- I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TantaloHotel, Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you very much for being the first guest to leave a comment on our Tripadvisor page. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and had an overall great experience while with us.

We look forward to having you again in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more memorable, please feel free to write us at sleep@tantalohotel.com for any special requests.

Sincerely

Tantalo Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews