We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,681)
Filter reviews
3,681 results
Traveler rating
2,219
937
318
128
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,219
937
318
128
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstierra y fuegolow tideplaya bonitastarfish grillpacifica restaurantkids cluball inclusive packagebeautiful resortocean viewa la carte restaurantsall inclusive plangamboa tourspools are greatpool areaships waitingswim up barbuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 3,681 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2017

This beautiful resort is about a 30 minute drive from Panama City. Excellent service and facilities. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. Calm beach and beautiful scenery. Family friendly but also perfect for couples looking for a romantic getaway. There's usually live music at the hotel bar but not much else going on in terms of nightlife. However, Panama City is still close enough were you could go there if you wish for a little more action. I've visited this resort several times for the weekend when I'm just looking to relax and to have some peace and quiet away from the city.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concierge W, Westin Executive Specialist at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Michelle L


Thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us at The Westin Playa Bonita. We love being able to provide our guests with memorable experiences.

Thank you for highlighted the excellent attention of our staff.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Alejandra Briceño

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Ivan was extremely helpful since a lot of the staff didn't speak English. Even when we used Uber instead of the hotel's van or cab service, he spoke to the driver (since most spoke Spanish) and called the guard shack to let them in. Also went out of his way to make our trip awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concierge W, Westin Experience Specialist at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear Mr. Matthew E,

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us at The Westin Playa Bonita. We love being able to provide our guests with memorable experiences.

Thank you for highlighted the excellent attention of Ivan Szumickys.

We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Marilia Camarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Place was nice. Room, an ocean view suite was beautiful. Service was just ok except for our pool waiter, ismael de sedas, who couldn’t do enough for us. He was excellent. This seems to be primarily an all inclusive resort and although they advertise 5 a la carte restaurants, never more than one was open. Get prepared for mostly buffet style which we did not love.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concierge W, Westin Experience Specialist at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear Mr. Scott L,

We are more than happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, views and especially you had a great time in our property. We thank you for your highest score and thank you for highlighting the excellent hospitality of our Staff and special to Ismael de Sedas.

We hope to have you back soon in Panama.

Kind regards,

Marilia Camarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Ricardo, Jesus, Richard & Stefany were AMAZING!!!! This hotel has the absolute best & most friendly bar staff, we enjoyed drinking at this bar every night & looked forward to seeing them. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deirdrewhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concierge W, Westin Experience Specialist at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear deirdrewhitt,

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us at The Westin Playa Bonita. We love being able to provide our guests with memorable experiences.

Thank you for highlighted the excellent attention of Ricardo, Jesus, Richard & Stefany

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Marilia Camarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

We had a great 5 day Thanksgiving trip to Panama and stayed at the Westin Playa Bonita. The reviews I read in advance of the trip were very helpful so I thought I'd provide some additional points of clarification. We liked the property very much. Yes it is in need of sprucing up in places (fresh paint would help) but we loved our ocean front rooms and the staff was great. The beach is indeed not a swimming beach. It's a very interesting beach though, especially when the tide is out and you can walk across the rock formations. Some commented that it is ugly; we didn't think that at all. Just different. The hotel is a ways from the airport (45 minutes) and on the other side of the bridge of the Americas so traffic can be an issue. We used Uber multiple times and it was much cheaper than a taxi. The hotel prices didn't seem all that out of line for a resort hotel. Drinks were about $8. We had access to the concierge lounge which was great for breakfast and waters/soda throughout the day. Our thanksgiving dinner was great and I think around $50 per person for an excellent buffet. We had massages at the Spa and with a $20 off coupon our bellhop provided they were around $60 for 50 minutes--and very good. We did a partial transit of the canal which I heartily recommend. We also did a city tour but wasn't as impressed. We ended up at the Hilton casino and had fun there. We went to the Ruth Chris at the Hilton for a great steak dinner. They had a reasonable prix fixe menu for around $70 (salad/steak/dessert). We were surprised that English is not necessarily widely spoken or understood; something we take for granted at say Mexican resorts. Not an issue really and gave us a chance to try to work on our meager Spanish. BTW, Panama and especially the canal is a great spot for bird watching. Bring binoculars and a birding book!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smccall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concierge W, Westin Executive Specialist at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear smccall123

A very warm greeting from The Westin Playa Bonita.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comment. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities, views and especially our staff´s service. We always try to offer a great service to all our guests. We hope to have you back soon in Panama.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Briceño

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews