We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
abbotsford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Trip to Panama”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here from Feb 22-March 5, 2014. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. I will list my pro's and con's of the hotel, staff, grounds, etc. I am a seasoned traveler and have experienced many hotels. The Westin, while beautiful, had issues that could easily have been fixed.

Pro's - rooms were lovely and big. Nice tub. Beautiful view of the ocean.
- food at both buffets were good most days. Some days better
than others.
- Both on site restaurants were pleasant.
- Staff in food area's were helpful and sincere. I quite liked most
people I encountered.
- I must mention Manuel at the Asiana. He was fabulous! Not only
a wonderful server but a team player as well. Our second dinner
there was a disaster! We waited for two hours before being served
and the meal was terrible! The place was half full at best so how
does it not lye with the chef? People were sending back their
meals throughout the evening. We mentioned this to Manuel and
he graciously insisted they were all at fault, being a team. That
simply wasn't the case here and we all new it. Our party agreed
to return a third time just because the first visit was good and
Manuel was fabulous. We are glad we did.
- 3 nice pools with cabana's galore.
- Great drinks.
- Grounds are clean and beautiful.
- Awesome dessert bar.

Con's - First night in we were put into a double room. Not what we
had booked. They did give us a new room after speaking to
the front desk.
- Our fridge was blowing hot air and it took 3 requests
and 3 days for anyone to change it.
- Both restaurants required reservation. If you were not there by
9am to reserve, forget it. They would not take it over the phone
either. Which is ridiculous. As mentioned in other reviews, the
tables were hardly full as if waiting for paying customers or
timeshare residents. There could be no other reason as I
witnessed this almost nightly. We purchased the all inclusive rate
versus hotel only.
- All inclusive was expensive! A whopping $525 per night.
- Beach is rocky, no swimming for us.
- Smoking only allowed on beach or in front of hotel. I think that's
great however on the beach there are no ashtrays or containers
to butt out. Being a courteous smoker I put mine in a trash bin
but many just throw on the ground or beach. If the front is the
only other smoking area, there should be some kind of seating
for those in need.
- Day two of housekeeping our fridge stopped being refilled.
- My biggest issues were with the front desk employees. They
were never smiling, except at check in. Being we were there 12
days my husband and I visited them 5 or 6 times (3 of them due
to fridge problem) and each time made us feel like we were
interrupting them. Not personable. Hardly approachable. Being
a business owner myself, I value front desk employees and
would suggest a complete revamp in this department.

As I said in the beginning, great place with some fixable problems!

Room Tip: Ocean view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    780
    286
    119
    65
See reviews for
855
784
68
552
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swan River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were there with Silpada in January, and enjoyed it very much! Lobby, pool area and rooms were excellent. Food in buffets was very good, but fairly expensive. Beach and ocean were not very good, but pools made up for it. If you're beach/ocean people, this may not be for you. Language barrier was not a problem, in fact we viewed it as a positive to learn the bare basics of Spanish. Ate at the Steak House and had to send back a meal, but with no problems at all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetspackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent visit. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their concerns with us so we can continue to improve our service.

Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, nj
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you come to the Westin- you must request Ari as your waiter...attentive, kind, helpful, great English but can also help you with your Spanish- try his recommendation- passion fruit mojito! Love Ari!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbaby1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our coworker Ari, your comment was already shared with him and we are sure that work to help keep always striving to provide the best service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville centre
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ari is the best wait staff I have ever had. He helped our group with drink services and dining outside of the hotel. He is kind and fun loving. He even stayed after his shift to assist us. he is amazing and We love ari! Give him a promotion!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butler5583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We appreciate feedback from your recent visit to the hotel and we are very happy that the service and attention provided by our partner Aristides have been the best.

Your comment has already been shared with him and the rest of our employees and we are very proud that the provided performance surpassed their expectations.

Welcome back soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a business trip in February. It seemed that most guest were part of a corporate group, which I must say we were very well taken care of. Our room was nice, we had an ocean view. It was nice to sit out on the balcony and watch the ships line up for the canal and enjoy the lovely ocean views. Food was good, we had a few buffets that were part of our events, and a couple meals on our own. We were unable to get into the steak house, but had the Mexican buffet that was served at Pacifica and it was really good. We also had lunch at the star fish grille a couple days, all food there was good, the buffet and the food off the regular menu.
Service was GREAT everywhere we went, front desk, all bars and restaurants and by the pool. Love the beer coolers by the pool, what a great idea. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your nice remark and for the rating you have given to our hotel, we appreciate it very much. We are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel and from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.

If your future travel plans bring you back to Panama City, we will be delighted to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently went to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. It was my first time in Panama, and I didn't know what to expect. As we drove from city to the hotel, feelings were a little unsure about a vacation resort, but by the time we got to the Westin, I was very excited. The appearance of the hotel, the cleanliness, the overall ambiance. Walked into a great big open lobby and huge glass windows seeing the outside and ocean! Great start!
They had live music every night, and a couple of different places to find a drink. Also, outside sitting where you could still here the music, but be able to converse in a comfortable setting. During the day there is the beach, a group of pools with activities. Pool volleyball, beach volleyball, kayaking, and certain days live music and fun water activities.
The Staff was most helpful. Very friendly, easy to get along with, and willing to help! Jose helped us find a crucial college basketball game and hooked it up on a huge TV (Go Syracuse!!) Brian and Lorenzo were always fun and helpful around the pool as well. Dalis was great as well. All of their service made it that much more fun and enjoyable!
If you choose to go, enjoy and have fun. Keep an open mind! No place is perfect, but I feel they did their best to really make us feel welcomed!!
Thank you
JFiacco

Room Tip: The higher the level (14,15,16+) the better the view. And an ocean side view. Waking up to blue ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Arrived to this big hotel late night with quick check in service. My room was nice and was phasing the water. Upon the sunrise I went walking on the nice beach and the hotel has a very nice pool area. We had a conference and the wireless network went down most of the time. The food was very bad and they served food that was supposed to be hot very cold which is danger for your body. If local health authorities would check the resturant status during our stay for lunch and dinner they would found lots of cold food items that should have been hot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.

We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
2,657 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
638 reviews
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing