We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very nice facilities! Everything Clean. Very Friendly Staff...
Recommend to stay with the family. Has 3 pools which include a kids pool, a kids play room. Has a private beach where there are few people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    707
    275
    112
    61
See reviews for
719
707
61
517
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On the positive side, a good location outside of Panama City offering an OK beach and access to town in 20min. A good collection of pools, very friendly staff, OK and well maintained rooms, nice sea view and a good bar and a restaurant open 24/7. Good alternative for families with kids who want a good pool and access to town. On the negatives, a poorly build structure means you can hear noise from the corridor and adjacent rooms. Food is just average and the general attitude of the hotel staff suggests there is poor leadership. Don't expect your minibar be replenished every day neither room cleaning service to come before 3pm. Not many options for runners. The roads sir rounding the hotel are narrow and busy. The beach is a bit too short if you want to rum more than 4-5miles. In general, an average to good four star experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Schutz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were part of a LARGE group with the all inclusive program. I found the view from the lobby and rooms to be outstanding. The rooms were exceptional, food was great. The only complaint re: food was that the breakfast didn't have cold skim milk and later in the a.m. was a bit picked over. The outside pool area and inside bar were great. The corona girl was the only grumpy person there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Westin with a farm group. The young people who plan your activities were amazing!!! They were so kind and fun to be with and made my vacation so much more enjoyable. Kudos to these gracious young lady and gentlemen. Cheo, Lorenzo, Amilcar, and Cielo. They made me feel like a star!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your time and also for your wonderful comments regarding your recent experience with us.

I personally congratulate my colleagues for their hard work and we hope to see very soon in Panama City.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

A little trouble with translation (they don't speak much English), but they went out of their way to make it an excellent stay! First class service!
Food was awesome...especially the menu restaurants.
Pools were great!
We did the all-inclusive plan, and drinks and service exceeded expectations!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are very happy to service in your next travel to Panama City.

All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice spot, probably the closest to panama with access to the sea. Some (few) of the staff made an effort but in general I didn't feel I was made feel welcome. Not sure what they are thinking of but try getting a drink at the end of the day close to the beach... staff were unusually enthusiastic in telling me they were already closing just at the ideal time to watch the sun set. Not that it would be tempting twice as they have a nice problem with the chitras (sandfly). Food is actually not bad in the main but try getting a drink at mealtimes and you'll have a nice long wait. Now the icing on the cake was the rooms. At first glance they look nice but mine had the air conditioning unit from hell, I reckon with the notice I got three hours sleep at most. You have been 'warned'.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Westin Playa Bonita Panama did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment.

Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis.

We look forward to welcoming you again and give you the attentions and services that you and your family expecting.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I personally had a great experience. Things are easier if you speak spanish but you should be fine if eaven if you don’t speak the language. Maybe the location is not perfect if what you want is to get to the city in 10 min but you should usually do 30 min. The hotel offers a lot of services and numerous places to eat. The beach is not perfect if what you want is a good swim and most part of the day the tide is low but it does offer a beautiful view. It is relaxing calm and entertaining. The breakfast is not excellent but it is acceptable and sometimes good. The dinner is good but for a special occasion I do recommend to dine in the city. I really liked the pools and I recommend the piña colada

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge Abdo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panama again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing