We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small things make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. It is a great property with rooms having excellent views.
Pros:
1. Great rooms with really nice views
2. Wifi across the hotel is really good.
3. Breakfast choice is excellent.
4. Staff is very friendly
Cons
1. The Star Fish grill resto is very very slow in service and gets the orders mixed up. It took us two hours to get sandwhiches.
2. Very very slow check-in and check-out. Lots of people complaining about being over charged or incorrectly charged
3. Staff struggle with English and most speak Spanish only

Overall, I think think the experience has been positive. I would stay here again despite the issues.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmadan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments.

On behalf of the Westin Playa Bonita Panama, please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconveniences occurred during your stay. I will share your feedback with our staff team so we can ensure we continue to provide our guests with the important details.

Please give us the opportunity to service in a near future and once again sorry for all the inconveniences.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 3,297 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

As we walked into the enormous atrium to check-in, we looked through the inviting floor to ceiling windows to see the lovely Pacific Ocean smiling at us just beyond a muddy, rock-filled, and pitiful excuse for a shore line. My first impression: "They've got to be kidding!" I can be prone to sarcasm in casual conversation, but never in a review. The beachfront is literally mostly mud, rocks, and whatever else has washed ashore.

As a marketing and customer experience manager, I'm appalled that the corporate office of Westin allowed this resort to open with the beach in its current state. To be fair, if you walk down to the pool areas, the ground is raised so the awful beach isn't in your direct view while bathing by the pool. Nonetheless, as soon as you stand up from your pool chair, you will see a reminder of how unappealing the beachfront is. The resort has created a man-made beach that is decent, but it doesn't begin to mitigate the truly depressing view.

We dined mostly at the main buffet-style restaurant. The food is decent for lunch, but we could barely stomach dinners. Once the sun departs, hundreds of little gnat-like insects come out of their sleep to fly around. You're in Panama, so this isn't a big deal. But, when you are inside the interior dining hall, and they have covered all of the fruit and desserts and are literally swimming in the salad dressings and sauces, it's hard to have an appetite. We had to cover our glasses of wine with napkins so that swarms of them didn't make a nest.

Overall, the lack of beach, insect infestation, and the location of the hotel (in the middle of nowhere 20 - 30 minutes outside of the city) categorize this resort as a place I would prefer not to revisit, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OmarJovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We really appreciated your value comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Your comments are always well heard in order to strive every day to give the best of us and provide a service of excellence.

Hope offers us the opportunity to host you again during future visits to Panama City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first time at the Westin resort as a family of 4. So far the best kids club here is Panama and we've been to several resorts on the pacific side. The service was also much better than other resorts. We had an all-inclusive plan and it was worth it! Great breakfast, a great variety to choose from. Lunch and Dinner was good too, especially the BBQ theme, execellent meat cuts. Our room was on the 15th floor and oceanview!! This was spectacular, even our small kids enjoyed the view. We knew the beach is not great, but execellent to make a walk with the kids and look for some shells. The kiddies pool was even better than I thought for the little ones, they really loved it. Overall a great stay and we are certain we'll be back, because we now live in Panama.

Room Tip: Higher floors and oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy to much our kids club.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent three days here and food and service were great; you will however be a good halfhour away from town and its entertainments. Also be advised that although the grounds and pools are quite pretty there is no real beach; at low tide its just muck and rocks

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aasenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.

We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.

Welcome back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved this resort and had such a wonderful time! The buffet breakfast is worth booking with your room package. There were lots of restaurant options and we enjoyed all of them. The spa was wonderful, so do take advantage of it! The gym was great and no other guests seem to use it. The beach isn't great for swimming, but it was nice to walk on it (with sandals because the sand is full of shells and it is not fine, soft sand). Our rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable and spacious, and the beds were great. The service is laid back, a bit inconsistent, but friendly.

Room Tip: We had ocean view rooms with balconies that we loved -- well worth the slight additional cost! I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel; we will continue working hard to provide all the guest the best service and above all make you feel always at home.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Westing Playa Bonita is a nice location for locals to spend the holiday. It is located off the beaten path and very safe location near Vera Cruz.

Transportation: We rented a car and drove from PTY Airpot to Playa Bonita. Driving directions were very easy follow. TIP: Print off line before arriving in PTY. There was one turn that we could not find that made the trip hard (lost for 3 hours). Bridge of Americas (Julio 4 de Castros) It was named something else. We stopped at the Intercontinenal on Balbos and a guy guided us to the bridge. After we found the bridge, our trip and driving experience was EASY!

Hotel:
Room was VERY clean and nice. Our room overlooked a bus junk yard and a mountain, but it was still nice. Room service was slow to clean rooms, but I then realized it was a holiday weekend (Panama's Labor Day).

Food at hotel: HORRIBLE! It was not worth a penny. Ate out after the second night.

Beach: Very rocky, not really a beach to walk on nor play in sand.

Pool: Plenty of pools and areas of kids. Music and servers were attentive and nice.

Gym: Used gym each morning and it was great.

Tours: Since we had a car, we drove to the Panama Canal. This tour was amazing and I learned so much. It was worth the $8 for the entire tour.

Currency: Use USD. I did not exchange money. USD was accepted everywhere.

Language: Spanish is the primary language and English is not spoken at all. It was hard, but we managed.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the water. View is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel sits on a wonderful piece of land and right on the beach with a great vie on the Pacific and the many ships queuing up before passing the Panama Canal.
Just to watch the seabirds diving into the water to catch their daily rations of fish is fascinating!

The service is improving, yet not quite there, let's be patient and give them time!

Everything else, fine, working, no complaints!
Great locatioon for large company event, too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 116 in Panama City
1,375 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
711 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 116 in Panama City
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $172 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing