We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of paradise mixed with chaos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise mixed with chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. There is a big feel to it from the second you enter the huge lobby to when you go outside and see the complex of 4 or 5 pools which give out onto a large stretch of Pacific coast beach. It's quality large resort hotel.

The rooms were spacious, well equipped including international TV stations and WIFI, very comfortable beds and multiple pillow choices.

That said while I was there at least one of the lifts was broken every day, the corridors were quite unkempt, bits of my room were falling apart, the hotel computer system broke down, hotel staff found it hard to work out who was on on all-inclusive and who was just a regular guest, the concierge was a little off-hand or bemused when asked for help contacting the Lost Baggage people at Panama airport - generally I felt there was a lack of leadership or management in the hotel - but this could be the Panamanian way. Of the 600 delegates attending 2 conferences at the hotel, 150 at least were missing bags.

In summary I liked the hotel, I liked the 'not-in-your-face' attitude, I would use it again if travelling to Panama.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay at our hotel, it is great to see that you enjoyed your room here at the resort.

We are sorry to hear that you found some issues with our building, Internet wireless and concierge desk but please be sure that we are shared already your comments with our management team and I can assure you that all of the staff at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama are working hard to correct these issues and ensure that the quality of our services meet the standards that all of our guests expect.

Please give us the opportunity to service again and be part of the changes that we are going to improve for all our guest.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    706
    275
    111
    61
See reviews for
718
705
61
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this Westin because of the hotel's beach amenities. There are two gorgeous pools, bars, and a very well maintained beach. We really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.

However, the food at this Westin is terrible. The restaurants primarily serve american fare and it seems like the chefs are uncomfortable with this cuisine. The textures were off, the flavors were off. It was all just bad.

Normally, I don't care about the food at the hotel, but this Westin is 20 minutes outside of town and there is literally nothing nearby. You are forced to either eat at the hotel or shell out $25 for a cab ride to town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustinwithsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and to comment on your holiday visit to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. Although I am very pleased that our accommodation options met your expectations I was dissapointed to hear of your less than standard food & beverage experience. I would agree that your service experience is not what we endeavour to deliver and our other commentaries would tend to support this assertion. You most certainly have my apology for our failure to match our service standards with your visit.

Thank you once again for commenting on your visit and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to service again in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

When you arrive at this hotel, it's absolutely stunning. The lobby was gorgeous and the check in process was smooth and quick (accompanied by welcome drinks).
The rooms were gorgeous and use an energy saving key-holder system that is more popular in Europe. It was a neat touch.
The food at the buffets was about average for an all-inclusive resort. Some days were better than others but the fresh cooked food (at the hot station) was very good. The food at the a-la-carte restaurants was great! The steak house has excellent french onion soup and surf & turf (among other things). I didn't eat at the Asian resto but apparently it was great too. Finally, the room from room service was also quite good. It wasn't as good as the restaurants but better than the buffets.
Where this hotel lost me was with their service...or lack there of. The service at the bars, restaurants and from the room service attendants was shaky at best. Don't get me wrong, there were some great people there who valued the service they provided but they were in the minority. And the evening staff at the lobby bar is poor!
Finally, they do NOTHING to get people involved in day-time activities. They have times for volleyball and other such events but I never saw anyone come around looking for participants. They do a cheesy dance everyday for 15 minutes. The same dance to the same music...LAME at best!
If you're looking for a spot to have a conference, this hotel is good. If you're looking for an all-inclusive vacation (and have been to the likes of Mexico, Cuba or DR), I'd keep looking. This is not the resort for you.
Visited late Jan to early Feb for a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us and it is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our lobby area.

We will use your feedback to help us find new ways to enhance our guest’s experience and I have shared your comments with our management team so I can assure you that all of the staff at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama are working hard to correct these issues and ensure that the quality of our services meet the standards that all of our guests expect.

We hope you give us a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

OUR STAY AT THE WESTIN PLYA BONITA IN PNAMA CITY, PANAMA WAS LOVELY, PERFECT WEATHER, GREAT HOTEL BUT IN THE STARWOODS POOL AREA I FOUND THE GEM OF THE WHOLE TRIP. A 19 YEAR OLD SERVER Named Aristedes made everyday more special, with his attitude on life, pleasant way and interest in others was exceptional. He also tried very hard with each different language to learn and remember words that would make his guests more comfortable. I hope the Westin knows what they have in this young man, his exemplary work ethic and kindness make him the type of employee we all wish we could hire. Thank you Aristedes and the Westin. linda jabs

ps this young man deserves any accolades or compenations available.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your wonderful stay. It is great to see that you felt at home during your retreat and our special service for Starwood Guest was are you looking for.

Also we are really happy to learn that you found in Aristides a excellent customer service and very friendly person.

Please give us the opportunity to service in a near future and welcome back.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been to many all-inclusive resorts so my review is based on comparing this resort to my other experiences. The pro's to this resort is you do not have much walking to do or waiting on shuttles to get from place to place. The food is the same taste of other all-inclusive resorts. Housekeeping was good. Beds very comfortable. Pools were clean and lots of shade huts. The cons my husband had to get up every day at 7 am to get a chair by pool and that was barely enough time to get a chair. When we are on vacation we don't want to set the alarm but had to. The employees do not know English but only a few words . There are only four restaurants and two only go by reservations. When you call to get a reservation you get a choice between 5pm or 9 pm but when you walk by at 7 pm tables are empty. They do not have good management. There is no pool activity and music is panama music. If you like no activity then this would be ok but I like to people watch. It has one small gift shop. Beach is rocky but fun to walk when tide goes in. Would I go back-no. Service is important to me and many options when I spend a lot of money on vacation. They need to send their employees to the Moon Palaces for training :)

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or you will get to look out at a field of broken buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy29Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas. We will certainly look into the things you mentioned so we can continue to provide our guests with exceptional service.

Please give us the opportunity to service in a near future and be part of the changes that we are going to improve in the different areas that you mention.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to this hotel with 5 other families and we had an amazing time. The hotel is new and the property is beautiful. As a spg platinum member, they really took care of me and my family as well as our friends. They were very accommodating when it came to helping us with our dietary restrictions. Roberto was amazing and helped us out with all of our dining needs. There is a club level room and that was really nice for breakfast and drinks at night. Suggestions, use Gamboa tours for all touring and airport needs. If you are looking for a beach experience, this location is not for you. The pools are amazing but the hotel is on the pacific side of the island and the water is dark and not Caribbean like. Our family did not care but some might. Overall we had an amazing time. One last point, learn Spanish before you go as only a few people at the hotel and in the country actually speak English.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and post this nice review.

We hope to welcome you near future for another great experience at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahira
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing hotel with very friendly staff. The location is unique, a beautiful, pristine resort with every amenity nestled in the coastline jungle of Panama with a fantastic ocean view of the Pacific. In the far distance are volcanic, uninhabited islands, and huge tankers in line for entrance to the canal. Lots of daytime excursion options and free flowing food and drink on property!! Loved it!

Room Tip: There is no bad room. Lower floor was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsgtpna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for making the Westin Playa Bonita the best experience hotel in Panama area. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of what the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing