We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service in Panama City”
Review of San Domenico

San Domenico
Ranked #663 of 1,034 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service in Panama City”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Follow the urgings of other reviewers, this is a great experience. We have followed the chef's suggestions each time we've been; each recommendation well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caldut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The ONLY italian restaurant you should visit in Panama.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I travel to Panama frequently... there are many Italian Restaurants... however, San Domenico is a superior experience!
The place is tended by the chef/owner Paulo who is an artist in the kitchen.. as the previous reviewer said, it is not easy to find.. but i urge you to try and go!

They make their own pasta, and it is amazing! you can get a duo or trio of pastas.. like a tasting, and the chef will indulge you in all your special requests! its like being invited to eat at the home of a pasta master.

He even makes his own Tiramisu, which is heavenly...
a MUST go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Unique Italian Food Experience in Panama”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

On my last visit to Panama City, I was able to share with some friend few visits to variety of restaurants in Panama City and I found once again how good you can eat in Panama. Now, one night we went to small Italian owner restaurant at Calle Ester Neira de Calvo “Ristorante San Domenico” a truly wonderful experience of homemade pasta with those great flavors from the Italian cuisine…just PRICELESS.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“This place is great - Warning! If you don't know where you are going, you will not find this place.”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a house in a semingly residential area with nothing on the outside that would let you know you are at the right place. That being said, you must do everything that you can to find this hidden treasure to enjoy some of the best Italian food that you have tasted. Trust me, you will love this place and thank me for the recommendation. The chief is a magician whose pasta's and sauces are among the best that I've ever had. He will make you anything... I would recommend that you try his offering of three or four different pastas to sample a number of his treats. The tuna or calamari carpaccio are both magnificent... in fact order a mix of both. Yum! I asked him to make me clams in garlic and olive oil pasta and he returned with a treat that had me wishing for more. The seafood in red sauce will have you asking for more bread to get every last morsel of sauce off of the plate. I haven't even gotten into the desserts, which are very good.. but, if I haven't convinced you to journey to this restaurant, you probably would like the desserts. This is a food lovers restaurant, where the chef loves to make you happy. The only suggestion that I have is for him to have a better wine list and bar... but the bar is more than adequate to compliment the food. You are missing a real treat if you don't try this place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank philly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Domenico also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing