We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful and informative tour.”

Isthmus Travel Panama
Ranked #80 of 161 Tours in Panama City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Panama Your Way. We understand that no two visitors have the same interests and motives for visiting Panama. Whether you are here for business or leisure, our aim is to provide you with high quality, flexible, responsive and personalized service to make your journey a success. (Tours, guide services, transportation, concierge service, and much more).
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A delightful and informative tour.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Found Isthmus Travel on line and contacted them by email. They were immediately responsive and organized a personal full day tour of la ciudad viejo, Casco Antinguo, the Miraflores locks, and the three islas, where we had lunch. Our guide, Nelson, was both very personable and highly knowledgeable. He had excellent English, although we chose to do most of the tour in Spanish. A great way to see Panama City in a day. Isthmus Travel also arranged a partial transit of the Canal for me (with an airport drop off), although they do not conduct the tour, after my friend headed back to the U.S. Ferrying through through the Canal, from Gamboa on Lake Gatun to the Pacific, will be along remembered experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I recommend Isthmus Travel Panama highly”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

From our first day to our last we enjoyed the arrangements that we made through Isthmus Travel. Our initial arrangements were made via email and included pick up from the airport, a rain forest tour, city tours, a trip to the village of a Panamanian indigenous tribe and dinner show of traditional Panamanian dancing.

I was very pleased by the care we received from Nicholas, our tour guide, who was able to conduct many tours and escort us on others. The tours were informative, entertaining and interesting but more importantly, scheduled at our convenience. I could not ask for more from a tour company.

The people of Isthmus Travel are professional, courteous, comprehensive, pleasant, adaptable, even when we changed some plans. The vehicle that they supplied was comfortable and well maintained.

My traveling companion and I ask for and expect the best. Isthmus Travel met and exceeded all our expectations. I recommend them highly and wish that they were available in more locations.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisEbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The way travel should be--absolutely great!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Isthmus Travel is a great travel company. It is a small but extremely flexible company, offering a wide range of trips and services. All our encounters were exceptionally satisfying, but one stood out: we took a day trip to Portobello organized by Isthmus Travel. The trip had all the elements worked out perfectly: a very informed guide, comfortable transportation, leisurely paced itinerary. This trip was a highlight of our vacation--in addition to seeing wonderful vistas of the ocean, our personal guide made the trip completely flexible to our liking. This is the way to travel! We look forward to more travels in Panama with Isthmus Travel.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnandjurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place made better by a great tour company”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just came back from 6 nights in Panama. Weather, resorts, Panama city were all terrific. We stayed at the Intercontinental Playa Bonita and the Royalton. We used Julie Dafur Isthmus Travel to pick us up at the airport, give us a city tour, and get us back and forth. They were professional, dependable, and easy to work with. I would gladly recommend them.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ELMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isthmus Travel Panama also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Isthmus Travel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing